Customer Reviews


160 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent action thriller
This is quite an interesting film mixing the thriller genre with bits of science fiction. The film is quite good overall, though doesn't quite reach it's full potential it is still worthy of a watch.

The story starts off with ATF Special Agent Douglas Carlin (Denzel Washington) being sent to help investigate a terrorist bombing of a ferry carrying U.S. Navy...
Published 5 months ago by Mr Baz

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Poor
In the beginning of what appears at first glance to be a well constructed thriller, Tony Scott (Top Gun, True Romance) seems to very carefully lay a number of important building blocks in place. I was impressed with the first half hour of so of the movie, one I wished to see because, in spite of some turkeys, Tony Scott has turned in some great pieces too. Once the sci-fi...
Published on 26 Aug 2008 by tricky wheeler


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent action thriller, 2 July 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Deja Vu [DVD] (DVD)
This is quite an interesting film mixing the thriller genre with bits of science fiction. The film is quite good overall, though doesn't quite reach it's full potential it is still worthy of a watch.

The story starts off with ATF Special Agent Douglas Carlin (Denzel Washington) being sent to help investigate a terrorist bombing of a ferry carrying U.S. Navy sailors and their families, in which hundreds of people are killed in the explosion. Carlin teams up with FBI Agent Paul Pryzwarra (Val Kilmer) and both start to try to piece together the events using more traditional investigation methods.

They soon find that an apparently unrelated incident involving the murder of Claire Kuchever (played by Paula Patton ) has a lot more to do with the ferry bombing than another murder case that happened to be at the same time frame as the bombing.

This is where the science fiction bit slips in, and depending on how you like your films it's either a good move or makes the plot somewhat stretched. It comes to light that there is a secret super high tech surveillance program called "Snow White", which allows the investigating team to look back into the past. The storyline unfolds using a mix of present and past events, with a view to trying to stop the bombing happening in the first place via time travel. It's similar in some respects (but not all) to the arguably better "Source Code" which was made some years later in 2011.

Despite the conveniently dropped in science fiction twist, which may explain the mixed reaction from critics, Deja Vu is both well acted with good performances from the cast which features Jim Caviezel doing a respectable job of the bomber Carroll Oerstadt, direction is strong with Tony Scott providing some nice action sequences and effective camera work.

Having watched the film a few times since release I still quite enjoy it, though as is common with these time travel genre films once the first watch is over, some impact is lost in subsequent viewings. Some folks will feel the sci fi time travel aspect is a bit silly, and some might like the unusual twist this provides to the plot. I'm not sure the ending is as strong as it could be, but it remains a fairly interesting production, though it's a little long at just over 2 hours, I didn't get bored watching it.

Worth checking out if you are in the mood for something a bit different
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars could have been better, 24 Jun 2007
By 
M. O. HAYNES "couch magpie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deja Vu [DVD] (DVD)
First of all the good points -

1. Tony Scott's direction is brilliant - keeping the energy of the story rolling along at a good pace and cranking it up to edge of the seat stuff towards the end.

2. The acting is great - in particular that of Denzel Washington - I am begining to think that Denzel is one of the best actors in the world at present and the only thing he lacks is maybe a wide range of film genres under his belt. In every action film I have seen him in he has delivered a brilliant performance which really helps the viewer associate with the plight of the character. This film is no exception.

3. The story idea is cool - I am a sucker for time travel (big fan of 'Doctor Who' and 'Back to the Future'), this is more like a contemporary and gritty none kick-boxing version of 'Time Cop'.

Now the bad points and there is only one and I've already mentioned it -

1. the story idea is cool - so why waste an opportunity? The writers could have done so much more with this, it could have been so much more complex and riddle-like and seemed to lack imagination. I felt very disappointed that the story line was very linear and predicatable. I was also very bemused at the scene where he shines the laserpen onto the screen and the woman whose past they are viewing sees it - there's far fetched and there's far fetched and this stretched even my incredulity to the limits. So that's why only 4 stars.

If you liked 'Paycheck' or 'Twelve Monkeys', don't have a problem with time travel sci-fi and know how good Denzel is then I would recommend this to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars original and thoroughly enjoyable!, 16 May 2007
By 
Mr. N. Wildman "nickwildman2" (Beds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deja Vu [DVD] (DVD)
Most people have seen a variety of time-travel films, most of which cover the same type of plot: some form of accident occurs, the main character finds a way to travel back in time to prevent it. Bing bang bosh.

This film does have elements of this classic formula but it also introduces a whole new factor: trying to influence the past from the present. I won't say too much as I don't want to add any more spoilers to the ones that have already been posted but I will say that it has something more than most films of its kind.

This is definitely one to turn your brain off for because if you try to get your head round it, especially if you have a scientific background like me, you will go mad! When it comes down to it, the feasibility of the concepts introduced in the story aren't important because it's science fiction!! FICTION being the operative word.

I only didn't give this film 5 stars because in my opinion no film is perfect enough to deserve 5 stars but this one is close. Just sit back and enjoy one of the best time travel films since Back to the Future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another time travel cracker: Tony Scott's best movie ?, 4 Oct 2014
This review is from: Deja Vu [DVD] (DVD)
So far, there's a 100% record on this. Denzel Washington; I'm going to enjoy watching him (not always the movie, take "Unstoppable" for instance). Time travel, reasonably well-thought-out. This should be a movie I'll enjoy. Tony Scott as director, I'm less sure of for something complex, but I've enjoyed a good few of his movies.

And this is really very good; far and away as a package the best Tony Scott movie I've seen ("Top Gun" is filed under guilty pleasures, it's undeniably brilliant while being undeniably dreadful.)

The frequently simply breathtaking confidence and power that exudes from Denzel Washington produces another of his amazing, slightly more natural than natural characterisations.

The dependable Bruce Greenwood, a nicely understated Val Kilmer. Paula Patton and Adam Goldberg both very good, and Jim Caviezel, a personal favourite of mine, excellent but on screen too little for my taste.

Now, the story. Well, very similar in many aspects to the later and equally good "Source Code"; an attempt to use the time travel mechanism to prevent a terrorist bomb going off. Better than "Source Code" in that it takes a bit longer to introduce it all to the protagonist, and it's fair to say, I think, that the supporting cast are a tad better. However, in "Source Code", despite equally good performances by the leads in both movies, I probably engaged better with Jake Gyllenhaal's character. However, many of the elements of "Déjà vu" tie up really nicely towards the end. Unfortunately, the gung-ho element in the final scenes is much more Tony Scott than the rest of this movie, and frankly close to losing it a star, recovered by the excellent closing scene.
Can I choose between the two movies ? No. Actually, is this the better ? I would be easy to say so. It's a tad more uneven, but seriously both are damned good.

Very enjoyable. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Déjà vu" is a trip worth remembering, 23 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: Deja Vu [DVD] (DVD)
This movie was incredible and quite interesting. Despite the fact that many folks seem to embrace Ridley Scott's grandiose directorial style, they often refer to younger brother Tony's work as "amateurish." I on the other hand can't help but be wowed by Tony Scott's flashy, in your face, kinetic editing style. "Déjà vu" would have been "just another thriller" had it not been for Scott's trademark touches. That being said it's Scott's style coupled with some solid performances that are the only things holding together what otherwise probably would have been just another dumbed down Bruckheimer explosion fest helmed by Michael Bay. It's also heartwarming to know that the film was shot on location in New Orleans post-Katrina.

We may have time travel, time warp movies before but "Déjà Vu" is special in that the production made the city of New Orleans, its people and landscapes very much 'a character in the film. The performances from the leads were solid all around. Denzel is of course... well he's Denzel. When he rants and raves on the big screen he commands the attention of the other characters as well as the audience. Val Kilmer pulls his own weight, literally, putting on the pounds to amply play a supporting role. His performance is pretty straightforward, but the performance I was both impressed and disappointed was Jim Caviezel's. As much as I was wowed by his character I was so intrigued by him that it made me a bit disappointed hat he got such little screen time. True they did describe in brief what motivated him to do the things he did but it all felt so rushed as he only showed up as the film was hitting it's stride. Producer-turned-actress Paula Patton is beautifully exotic, which makes Denzel's decision to save her digestible. Adam Goldberg as stereotypical looking scientist provides welcome comic relief, aptly punctuating tense or mind-numbing scenes.

Nonetheless, "Déjà vu" is a good, neat thriller, even if it doesn't pack a punch or feel as twisted and comfortably numbing as "Domino," "Man On Fire," "True Romance," or even Scott's earlier works." Déjà vu" might explain the all-too- familiar characters or the never-ending cycle of love interests that just has to lay its turf in every adventure film. At the end credits, it's thoughtfully included that the film is dedicated to the strength and enduring spirit of the people of New Orleans. Action fans will have a good time with it, thriller fans will love it,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why is far-fetched a bad thing?!!, 4 Sep 2007
This review is from: Deja Vu [DVD] (DVD)
Ok, so the film might be far-fetched. But can people please stop criticising it for this reason? Believe it or not, most of the films you watch are in fact FICTION. If you want to watch a load of depressing trash based on true stories, then i recommend the news. If you want to watch some more "realistic" fiction, perhaps read the back of the box before you watch it. This is an enjoyable film and great escapism. It isn't supposed to be realistic. The sooner people realise that the better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars De Ja Vu Blu-ray, 26 Feb 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (South Staffs, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deja Vu [Blu-ray] [2006] (Blu-ray)
I'd seen this film some time ago and decided that it's one of those movies you will watch again and again. So I bought it!
It's a thriller with a type of time travel - viewed on screens so the techno geeks are 'looking' into the past.
Denzel, in a cop-type role is there to sort out a disaster crime and believes this technology will help him solve it.
Great action scenes and acting from all the cast. Jim Caviezel plays a great part in the movie too.
Definitely a must to buy, really good on Blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a watch!, 26 Jun 2007
By 
Clare (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deja Vu [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoy the storyline, it's a unique film. It will leave you wanting to watch it again to work things out. Couldve gone so much further with this film than they did. You could also note a few flaws in the plots, I am sure we all will have imagined other twists they couldve added but never the less Denzel is at his best again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars U CAN SAVE HER, 10 Sep 2014
This review is from: Deja Vu [Blu-ray] [2006] (Blu-ray)
After a ferry disaster, Denzel Washington, who is an A.T.F. Agent, travels back in time to save a young woman from being murdered.

Directed by Tony Scott, this is a different take on time travel. The film needs and deserves more than one viewing to understand the sometimes complicated plot on time travel, but is worth the repeated viewings. Denzel Washington is on top form as the A.T.F. Agent trying to prevent a murder, and disaster, at the same time.

Remember, most films are made for entertainment, not to be taken seriously, and if you bear this in mind, and watch it for the entertainment value that it is, you should enjoy it.

The film has been transferred in it's original aspect ratio of 2.35:1. The soundtrack is 5.1.
Picture Quality on this blu ray release is pin sharp, and colours are vibrant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable throwaway entertainment, 17 May 2007
This review is from: Deja Vu [DVD] (DVD)
OK, so this is in essence a time travel movie so there's no point in taking it too seriously. It's entertaining and a decent length (not too long) and it has moments of action and a few clever little twists. Denzel Washington is his usual solid self and Val Kilmer is pretty decent too. Tony Scott has toned down the flashy editing of his last movie Domino to make this much more watchable film. It's more in keeping with his previous efforts Enemy of the State and Spy Game, but crossed with the fun of Back To The Future. Overall this is a fairly enjoyable way to spend two hours. It just won't sit in your mind for long afterwards that's all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deja Vu [DVD]
Deja Vu [DVD] by Tony Scott (DVD - 2007)
£2.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews