Customer Reviews


170 Reviews
5 star:
 (145)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The foxiest Maid Marian ever!
This was the first film I ever saw at the cinema, way back in 1973 when I was a small boy (when I did not know or care about aspect ratios). I used to live near Sherwood Forest so this film and the legend of Robin Hood were, and still are, very special for me.

It is great to see this film again on DVD in a re-mastered special edition. I found the picture and...
Published on 7 Oct 2007 by Jeremy W. Newbould

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Sherwood Book
Disney's first full-length animated feature to have been developed with no input from the studio's creator, 1973's Robin Hood was also their most widely disliked at the time. It's nowhere near as bad as its reputation, but it's easy to understand why it underwhelmed so many. A retelling of the Robin Hood legend with animals taking the leading roles, it offers a fox and a...
Published on 20 Dec 2010 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 317 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ? Forgotten Classic, 28 Jun 2004
This review is from: Robin Hood [Disney] [DVD] (DVD)
Thanks to my son's fascination with Robin Hood, I have seen this movie several times. It is probably one of the funniest versions of Robin Hood meant for children. There are some excellent phrases in the movie comparable to Monty Python's Holy Grail, but would have to be seen several times to pick up on them and to enjoy the movie. There is a mix of American and British accents in the movie, which while inconsistent still makes it all the more funnier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars robin hood, 16 July 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin Hood [Disney] [DVD] (DVD)
I first bought Robin Hood on video quite a few years ago for my children and the whole family enjoyed it. I have since bought quite a few Disney animated films but nothing quite compares to the subtle and really funny script of Robin Hood. It is a joy to watch from beginning to the end which is why I have now replaced my old video with the DVD. It is definately a film for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robin Hood (Disney), 2 Jan 2004
By 
This is perhaps my favourite film of all time, having it all, action, comedy, adventure and of course, romance. I reccommend it to anyone, and definitely something to show your kids!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 19 Mar 2006
By 
Emma Simpson (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robin Hood [Disney] [DVD] (DVD)
Robin Hood is the classic Disney legend that is loved by children and adults alike. Disney's rendition made the legend of 'Robin Hood and his merry men' into a beautiful tale of adventure, hardship, tyranny and love, and above all that good triumps over evil.
The characters are colourful, loveable and have all the unique quirks that mean adults love the little jokes as much as the kids like the more obvious funnies. Good soundtrack & one you can watch over and over again and never get bored.
The Dvd features a sing-a-long of the famous 'ooh de lally', which kids will definitely enjoy, but otherwise the bonus features aren't brilliant. Adults might like the original drawings of the characters but the kids aren't bothered, and other bonus features aren't really worth it.
I rated it as a 5 because it's such a fun, nostalgic and family film to be enjoyed by all the family, but if you're only buying it to update from video then I wouldn't really bother as it's only the film itself that's 5 star; the bonus features are more of a 3.
Do be assured though that kids will love this film and the humour and love story will keep you happy too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOU MUST SEE THIS!!, 21 Feb 2004
This review is from: Robin Hood [Disney] [DVD] (DVD)
This is the best animated film ever. It beats all disney films - it is an all time favourite. The film first came out in 1973 but the quility is amazing. The plot is good and the idea of having the characters as animals makes the Disney version seem really funny especially once you've seen people act this out. The tunes stick in your head and it is a great laugh.
YOU MUST SEE THIS!! It is amazing, brilliant, fantastic, fabulous, fabtastic - only the great words describe this must-see film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect animation movie, 6 Dec 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin Hood [Disney] [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is delicious. It may have been done way back in 1973, but I can guarantee that you will love this movie as much as you love the recent ones.

It's all about some of the characters. My personal favorite is Prince John and, of course, Sir Hiss.

Sir Hiss is Prince John's personal "assistant". He is a snake that keeps tickling Prince John's ears.

I cannot forget to mention a couple of characters that are brilliant, like the little bunny Skipper. You'll see what I mean when you watch the movie. You will want to grab that bunny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real story of Robin Hood, 29 Sep 2003
This is Mae's favorite (she is 21 months!). Robin hood is fantastic and heroic. Feel good film, with nice values, and great Olde English accents.
'A Pox upon the phoney king of England!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is so funny!, 14 Feb 2003
By 
Nats f (London, England) - See all my reviews
This has got to be one of the funniest Disney's! From the hilarious rhyme of "King John the first is sure to be known as King John the worst" and King John crying for his mummy and his comedian snake until the crocodile getting running over at the end calling out "attention everyone!"...this will have you crying with laughter!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Merry Menagerie!, 4 May 2014
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Robin Hood (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
Disney take on the Robin Hood legend in animation form with family friendly rewards aplenty.

Directed and produced by Wolfgang Reitherman (Sleeping Beauty/The Jungle Book), the voice work comes from Brian Bedford (Robin Hood), Phil Harris (Little John), Monica Evans (Maid Marian), Peter Ustinov (Prince John), Terry-Thomas (Sir Hiss), Andy Devine (Friar Tuck), Roger Miller (Allan-A-Dale), Pat Buttram (Sheriff of Nottingham) and Carole Shelley (Lady Cluck).

All the characters are drawn as animals, with Robin suitably given a fox make-over, plot revolves around the dastardly machinations of Prince John and the Sheriff of Nottingham. Who find themselves hindered considerably by Robin and his band of merry men. Meanwhile Robin and Marian are rekindling their romance on the sideline. It lacks the class of other Disney animation movies, with no songs of note to tap the feet to, but the action is strong (love the archery), Prince John and Sir Hiss are great comedy value, and ultimately it’s a delightful retelling of an often told wonderful legend. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robin Hood (Special Edition) DVD, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin Hood (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
Again, a super DVD to ALMOST complete our collection - saving them for our grand children so they can look back in future years and enjoy them too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 317 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robin Hood (Special Edition) [DVD]
Robin Hood (Special Edition) [DVD] by Wolfgang Reitherman (DVD - 2007)
6.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews