Customer Reviews


209 Reviews
5 star:
 (166)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A deserved treatment for this beautiful film (Blu-Ray + DVD)
As the 'Golden Age' of the Disney studio almost came to a close, 'Dumbo' is the film that is most commonly remembered as being an integral release. It saved the business after the financial losses of Pinocchio and Fantasia before it, but did so astonishingly with such economy and simplicity.

This is the most striking aspect about Dumbo - its sheer emotional...
Published on 19 Mar 2010 by Picard

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless
Yet again it would not work, now have 2 Dumbos from you that will not play, so decided I could not be bothered to return yet again, so hold 2 deficient DVDs, will buy from a shop when I find one
Published 8 months ago by Sandy harper


‹ Previous | 1 2 321 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dumbo, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dumbo(standard Edition)DVD (DVD)
who doesn't like dumbo i have lost count of the times we have watched this old classic and it still makes someone cry. lovely film thankyou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pulchritudinous pachyderms!, 11 April 2013
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dumbo(standard Edition)DVD (DVD)
One of the shortest, the cheapest and simplest of Disney's animated films, Dumbo also happens to be one of the best. Stung by the fall-out from Fantasia, Disney returned to the story telling qualities that had made Pinocchio so successful. The simple story finds a baby elephant born with over sized ears who is separated from his mother when she's locked away for trying to protect him. Ostracised by his own kind and a figure of fun to the human public, Dumbo skulks away with his only friend, Timothy Q. Mouse. At the pinnacle of their adventure together, Dumbo discovers he has a talent, a talent that will change his life forever.

And that's all there is to it. Only it's a picture that pulls on a myriad of emotions, it's funny, sad, exciting, and a great message movie as well. Delightful for the kids and ever watchable for adults of all ages, it's totally reliant on the animals for characterisations, where amazingly Dumbo is the one animal on show who doesn't speak! But it matters not, such is Disney when on top form, the animation is so great that just from Dumbo's expressions we know how he is feeling. Some wonderful tunes in here as well, including the quite beautiful "Baby Mine", while a surreal hallucination sequence (Pink Elephants On Parade) that plays out as Dumbo and Timothy accidentally drink liquor, is remarkable. There has been some balking at the black characterisations via some jaunty and funky crows, but they are immensely funny and for 1941 they be crafted with love and there's not a hint of being aware to racial stereotypes.

Disney "A" League is Dumbo. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best Disney?, 24 Jun 2012
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dumbo (Special Edition) [1941] [DVD] (DVD)
Disney never did better than this 1941 production, lasting barely over an hour, which shows the travails of the poor rejected elephant in a remarkable adventure that saves its piece de resistance until the very end, when Dumbo does fly, and spectacularly! It's a reworking of The Ugly Duckling, really, but Dumbo does at least have one friend, and in the end becomes further removed from normality, although we don't see what happens after that! I think Disney was at his best with animal characters, and even no humans at all, making this, The Jungle Book and Bambi his best films, I think. The animals fully come to life and have great voices - the female elephants here are priceless - whereas his human characters are bland and stereotyped, with Ken and Barbie heroes and plenty of demonised older women characters, who are too frightening for children in any case. In Dumbo there is none of this, but it is full of humour and pathos and the final coup could only work in a drawn medium, so it is about the most perfect cartoon ending, as well as a superbly gravity-defying one. I wish they would release the one about the operatic whale - it also looks very good on youtube!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 26 Mar 2012
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Dumbo is one of the finest Disney animations and still to this day stands tall and proud amongst modern efforts. It is a beautiful blend of story, character and traditional animation that will delight children and adults alike. Its a gentle story of a baby elephant who is considered a freak because of his enormous ears. True to form the message is looks are not everything, for this baby elephant can fly.

Always charming, consistantly funny and at a mere 63 minutes long far from outstays its welcome, this really is a treasure to behold.

Worth a watch whatever your age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 31 Jan 2012
This review is from: Dumbo(standard Edition)DVD (DVD)
a classical tale that i enjoy
try to get the grandchildren to share my enthusiasm
some parts frightening-mad mother elephant
happy ending is a long time in coming
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 31 July 2011
This review is from: Dumbo(standard Edition)DVD (DVD)
I already had this on DVD but wanted a copy for my granddaughters, this must be one of the best films ever made and the enhanced picture quality on this edition is excellent, recommended for children of all ages (I'm 66!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 5 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dumbo [DVD] (DVD)
Highly recommended! My 2,5 yr old just loves it and watches it regularly. It has taught him a few new baby animals and he always asks for a cuddle when Dumbo is being cuddled by his mum. Truely a magical film which has not lost one bit of it's charm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Childhood memory, 20 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dumbo(standard Edition)DVD (DVD)
Bought this for our grand-daughter in Melbourne(4yrs old) - she loves it.I think an adult should be with small children when watching it as some parts may be disturbing or sad to little ones.
But we had to get it because in Australia - no AMAZON !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dumbo, 10 May 2011
This review is from: Dumbo(standard Edition)DVD (DVD)
Cerys is nearly two and loved this film
It was a suitable length that kept her interested for almost the whole film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Christmas, 24 Jan 2011
By 
Greenfingers (Gloucestershire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dumbo(standard Edition)DVD (DVD)
Bought for my granddaughter to watch over Christmas. She was enthralled and it held her attention well...she is 2! The rest of the family rather enjoyed watching it as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 321 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dumbo (Special Edition) [1941] [DVD]
Dumbo (Special Edition) [1941] [DVD] by Wilfred Jackson (DVD - 2007)
£13.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews