Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Legendary Show... or it should be
As many people have said this show was cursed in this country by an abismal timeslot. It well diserved a Primetime slot, with a reapeat in where it was uncerimoniously dumped. This show is huge in America, but here no one's heard of it. This show consistantly has made me laugh out loud, so much so that my housemates come in to ask me what's so funny.

The...
Published on 7 Jun 2008 by Ms. E. A. Pearson

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Amazing show, terrible DVD!!!
I love this show, it is one of the best I have ever seen and I continue to tune in to the new episodes every week. I also have seasons 2 and 3 on DVD, and I plan to get 4 in the near future. However there is a reason I skipped season 1, which is that the DVDs were cropped to a 4:3 (fullscreen, 1.33:1) ratio, even though they were broadcast in 16:9 (widescreen,...
Published on 18 Dec 2009 by A. K. Chinery


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Legendary Show... or it should be, 7 Jun 2008
By 
Ms. E. A. Pearson "Ezzy" (Londonish) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How I Met Your Mother - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
As many people have said this show was cursed in this country by an abismal timeslot. It well diserved a Primetime slot, with a reapeat in where it was uncerimoniously dumped. This show is huge in America, but here no one's heard of it. This show consistantly has made me laugh out loud, so much so that my housemates come in to ask me what's so funny.

The comparison to Friend's is obvious, but if you go deeper than a vauge hand wavey premis, you can see the shows are quite different. This show was made 10 years later than Friends. This means slightly more risque storylines, not so much as to be crass but only to make them truely laugh out loud funny. The way the story is told is also completely different, telling them out of order in flashbacks and fast forwards which only drives them more and leaves you craving for the next bit to piece together the puzzle. The grand arc of the show is driven by the question 'who is the mother' with tantalising hints being dropped all the time (I've seen seasons 2 and 3 as well.) and the more they give you the more you want to know. But at it's very core are a set of great characters who you love and laugh at with equal measure.

I think I've made it clear that I LOVE THIS SHOW. Great plots and characters told in magnificent style. Well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome and LEGENDARY, 14 July 2011
This review is from: How I Met Your Mother - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm usually not a fan of sitcoms, those short tv-series that you have to follow regularly in order to get the storyline but I have to say, this series is really addictive!!!!! Okay, they do make fun of Canadians here and there but if you want something funny, catchy and entertaining, this is the show you should watch. But be careful, ..., like I said, it's addictive, watched the entire first season without a break, bought the second season a day later and again watched in on one single day, and am now waiting for the delivery of the next seasons.
Never watched it on TV as I hate commercials in such short shows but on DVD it's worth its price! Awesome idea and no, it's not just a cheap copy of the show 'Friends'. Assumed so myself, but I was never really into 'Friends' as it seemed a tad too childish for my taste but this show is just awesome and if you start watching the first season, you will understand the choice of my reviews title ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend... Wait for it..., 15 Oct 2010
By 
A. Greenwood (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How I Met Your Mother - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
...Dary!!
I caught an episode of 'How I met Your Mother' on E4 a few months ago and couldn't stop laughing so I decided to buy series 1 and start from the beginning. I've now watched up to series 4 and have pre-ordered season 5. It's easily the best comedy of recent years. Quite immature and juvenile in places but that's what makes it so hilarious.
If you love scrubs and friends, I would definitely recommend How I Met Your Mother. Me and my boyfriend are still quoting season 1 months after watching it!
Marshall and Barney provide most of the comedy genious but every character plays a great part and no-one fades into the background.
It's not often comedy makes me laugh out loud but this one guarantees at least 5 LOL's in each episode!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny in a more sophisticated way than Friends, 14 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How I Met Your Mother - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't like this show at first, mainly because everything that gets compared with the classics has to suffer - and so I made them suffer buy hating them for pretending to be the next Friends. Only in my head of course, not that they would have cared (or realised) ;) And for as long as I looked at the show from that point of view - I thought it was merely alright, good for when there's nothing else on the telly.
But after the first few episodes I started to notice the sublime humour, the wit and sophistication of the seemingly basic dialogues, and sometimes wonderfully random and almost surreal comments and reactions. Marshall is my absolute favourite in that respect, with his way of filling an awkward silence by saying "so... fish are weird eh?". Reminds me ever so slightly of Monthy Python, purely because of the randomness and the twisted, abstract humour. If you're not attuned to this type of humour you might not see anything special about How I Met Your Mother. But if you are, you're in for a real treat! I find the jokes and banter absolutely spot on, not too simple, not too complex, and every now and then I hear a line that's so brilliant it's almost... delicious - if you're sensitive to the beauty of spoken word and language in general, you'll know what I mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good indeed, 26 Dec 2008
By 
K. Elliott (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How I Met Your Mother - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Although it does follow some standard sit-com plots and cliches, HIMYM is a very impressive show, being extremely funny and clever as well. The characters are among the most likable and true on television (with exceptions for great comedic moments obviously) and the premise, while silly sounding on the face of it, has proved to be engaging. I would say it is better than Friends ever was, and I am a big fan of that show as well.

Season 1 is not the best of the show in my opinion but it is still superior to most comedies of the moment and stands up well among old favourites too. The laugh track is irritating but these things happen and can be overlooked. And it has to be said, Barney is awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUIT UP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 25 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: How I Met Your Mother - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
i honestly don't watch much tv, scrubs & prison break is about it (is that lost progamme stiiiill going??)and i had never heard of this prgramme up until about 4 months ago.i saw a couple of episodes on paramount (they turned out to be from season 2)so i bought the dvd and have gone through it twice already.this show simple rocks!!!the shining light by far is neil patrick harris (ol' doogie howser himself) he steals every scene but all the actors bring great performances and i think the fact that there are no major stars really helps.please buy this and laugh out loud,if only for the scene in the cab after the visit to nightclub....what???? A COMEDY WITH REAL HEART
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 12 May 2007
This review is from: How I Met Your Mother - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
A brilliant comedy that deserved a much better TV slot than it got. Hope someone has the sense to take up series 2. If you missed it on TV you won't be disappointed with the DVD - it is very funny. As said before, if you like friends you'll like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why is this show not on prime time?, 26 April 2007
By 
Mr. R. Smith "Russ" (Hampton, TW12) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How I Met Your Mother - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Like the previous reviewer, I was lucky enough to watch every episode when it was shown in the UK. But BBC2 at 6.30 on an Sunday evening? No wonder hardly anyone has heard of this show. And there are so many worse shows that get more airtime????

Without wanting to make the obvious comparisons with Friends, if you loved that you will love this. Great performances all round and sharp, witty, and genuinely funny scripts, all played with great warmth.

Do not miss out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Amazing show, terrible DVD!!!, 18 Dec 2009
By 
A. K. Chinery (Bath/Woking, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How I Met Your Mother - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I love this show, it is one of the best I have ever seen and I continue to tune in to the new episodes every week. I also have seasons 2 and 3 on DVD, and I plan to get 4 in the near future. However there is a reason I skipped season 1, which is that the DVDs were cropped to a 4:3 (fullscreen, 1.33:1) ratio, even though they were broadcast in 16:9 (widescreen, 1.77:1).

This is just unacceptable in modern day technology. If someone owns a fullscreen TV they can simply choose to watch the show cropped if they wish, or have the option of watching it with black bars at the top and bottom. Instead they are forced to take the first option (which many would say is not preferable), and worse still, means that people with widescreen TVs either have to have a horrible stretched out picture, or annoying black bars on the left and right of the screen. My recommendation is watch this season somehow else, 4 on demand or something equivalent, then start your DVD collection at season 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic show, 27 Aug 2010
This review is from: How I Met Your Mother - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Like many other reviewers, I missed this show the first time around - I had no idea it even existed until it started being shown on a Thursday evening on E4. After grabbing some old shows and some new, I decided it was time to buy the DVD and watch it from the beginning. It was well worth it - the story lines are clever and witty (probably much as Friends was when it first came out, it's just that that freshness has long left Friends). I also love the fact that it's aimed at my generation for once - I understand the references and feel I share the experiences. Barney truly makes the show, but all the characters and storylines are fantastic (I'm not the hugest fan of Robyn, but you can't have everything). If you've not watched it, give it a go. It's a good laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaec2da50)

This product

How I Met Your Mother - Season 1 [DVD]
How I Met Your Mother - Season 1 [DVD] by Pamela Fryman (DVD - 2007)
10.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews