Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gods
Skid Row are, quite simply, one of the best bands to have ever been formed. It is a shame therefore that they are not still going, and were underrated in their time. Sebastian Bach is THE best vocalist that I have ever heard, and this reputation is not let down with the rest of the band. Affuso's subtle drumming, Hill and Snake's powerful and varied guitars strung...
Published on 3 Aug. 2004 by russell3344

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars FORTY SEASONS, NOT WHAT IT'S CRACKED UP TO BE!
I WILL agree with the "Forty Seasons" part of this title. It is a good representation of ten years of work by Skid Row. The "Best of Skid Row" part is debatable in my opinion. They include a lot but not all of their hits. Then they got creative, which I personally found to be a mistake. The definition of "Remix" appears to be...
Published on 17 July 2000 by Antoinette Avalon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gods, 3 Aug. 2004
This review is from: Best Of (Audio CD)
Skid Row are, quite simply, one of the best bands to have ever been formed. It is a shame therefore that they are not still going, and were underrated in their time. Sebastian Bach is THE best vocalist that I have ever heard, and this reputation is not let down with the rest of the band. Affuso's subtle drumming, Hill and Snake's powerful and varied guitars strung together with Bolan's prominent bass make them a band like no other. Their songs are fun, their lyrics simply sublime. No where else have I seen lyrics on a par with 'In A Darkened Room', 'Wasted Time' or 'Quicksand Jesus'.
This album, consequently, could never do them justice. It does however give them a good showing. Whilst a few prominent tracks are missing, such as 'In A Darkened Room', for those of you who have not bought their other albums (yet) it is a good start and for those of you who love music and talented people - buy it. This album shows their fun side, their heavy side and their poignant side. A good representation. The live track is fun, and the two bonus ones interesting. 'Fire In A Hole' is fantastic - Bach holding a note for over 15 seconds is a feat performed by few singers (and the fact he can do it with no stuido engineering if you listen to him live, is truely amazing). It also gives tracks from the criticised 'Subhuman Race', but what is represented here, save 'Frozen', are all excellent songs.
Any Skid Row is a must have, but to truly appreciate this band if you haven't heard their stuff before is to get this album. It will blow your mind and turn you into a fan instantly. May they always have a place in the Hall of Rock Gods...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars FORTY SEASONS, NOT WHAT IT'S CRACKED UP TO BE!, 17 July 2000
This review is from: Best Of (Audio CD)
I WILL agree with the "Forty Seasons" part of this title. It is a good representation of ten years of work by Skid Row. The "Best of Skid Row" part is debatable in my opinion. They include a lot but not all of their hits. Then they got creative, which I personally found to be a mistake. The definition of "Remix" appears to be "turn the bass way up". It doesn't do anything for the songs, except make them thump too much. The live cut doesn't cut it. They'd have been better off just putting in the original version. The previously unreleased material is good, but, they are songs that didn't make the original albums, so enough said there. The "Demo's" in place of the original version of songs are certainly not superior. Overall, if you're one of those fans that just has to have the entire collection then it's a good investment. If you like Skid Row but don't want to buy their other two albums, you just want an overview, then this is a good investment. For my money, I think I would rather buy "Skid Row", "Slave to the Grind", and Sebastian Bach's (Skid Row's singer) new solo album "Bring 'Em Bach Alive". I rate the album three stars based on the overall effect. The vocals are great. The presentation isn't as good as it could be. It is just a very average sort of effort from a band that was capable of much better. Don't despair though! Many of the bands at this end of the rock genre have 1999-2000 releases. Check out some of your favorites! "Don't wait for a better day. Or you won't get there at all."-Kane Roberts-(Used with his kind permission)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the skids are off !, 1 Aug. 2011
By 
Bw Wallis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Brilliant songs,great vocals,music that blasts todays garbage into oblivion where it belongs.Skid Row one the best but most underrated bands ever...listen and learn!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hair-Metal At It's Finest!!, 4 Aug. 2004
This review is from: Best Of (Audio CD)
OK. Where do you start?! Skid Row were the ultimate pioneers in hair metal and rebellious live shows in their prime (early 90's).
The album does clearly state that its a 'best of' rather than a greatest hits, but only if you are a true fan will you really notice the difference. The album does seem to miss out some of Skid Row's masterpieces such as "In A Darkened Room", "Sweet Little Sister", "Mudkicker" and "Subhuman Race", but to be honest it really doesn't matter. Today, it is very hard to find an album with no bad tracks on it. But this cd manages it with ease. Not only are the songs powerful by the contributions of 'Snake's' guitaring, Rob's drumming, Bolan's bass, Scotti's giutaring not to mention the fine voice of rock legend Sebastian Bach. (Yes that is his real name!) But also, the songs have real meaning if you listen to the songs carefully which is very hard to find from a metal band.
The album begins with songs from the self titled debut album such as "18 and life" and "youth gone wild" then progresses to the US number 1 album "Slave To The Grind" and into another album: the critically acclaimed "Subhuman Race" album. The production of the album is so solid as the album keeps your attention by turning from heavy, to meaningful, to power ballads to screeching guitars. It even comes with two previously unreleased tracks, which ironically are two of the best songs on the album which brings me to wonder why they never released them!
This album is my personal favourite of my vast collection of cds, and is a must have for any metal fan. My personal favourites are "forever", "fire in the hole", "into another", "monkey business" and "quicksand jesus". I am a die hard Skid Row fan and i would strongly reccomend anyone who has even the slightest interest in heavy/hair metal to get this cd. I can assure you that you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the Classics and some others worth listenin to!, 28 Jun. 2001
By 
Michael Anthony Tooth (Birmingham, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Best Of (Audio CD)
Granted not all of this is what you'd descricbe as the classics, but for those who got into Skid Row originally this is a must have album! If you didn't like what they did on Subhuman Race don't bother but it sure beats a best of album compiled by your mate on his CD rewriter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the threat, 24 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Skid Row's best song ever, real fireball of metal, "THE THREAT", is included on this. Must buy ... unless you prefer to buy the historical "Slave to the Grind" album, which is the all time must have and part of the desert island kitbag of any self-respecting metal fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Skid Row Greatest Hits CD, 28 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I'm heading for 50 years of age in a couple of years time and I'm doing a "middle age crisis thing" where I am buying greatest hits CDs (don't do downloads really, I like to have the CD - it's an age thing people!!!) of the bands I used to listen to 3 decades + ago LoL. i CAN JUST ABOUT REMEMBER WHEN IT WAS 18 AND LIFE TO GO!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain compilation, 29 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Of (Audio CD)
I bought this as a gift for my sister, and she was thrilled with it.
Not exactly my kind of rock music - a bit too girly for me - give me Sabbath any day over this, but judging by my sister's reaction, and considering the price and number of tracks on this CD, you can't go far wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad., 21 Nov. 2002
By 
Dr Nick "Dr Nick" (Sheffield, S Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Best Of (Audio CD)
Having never heard anything Skid Row recorded when they were together, I got this (cheap!) for the heck of it, and it's not bad.
SR aren't virtuosos, but they're all competent musicians, the guitarists can solo well, and the bass player is surprisingly prominent for this genre.I do like Seb Bach's voice, it has a fair bit of Vince Neil in it, but more range, and he can really scream if he wants.
Some good numbers, some average ones (fair representation of the '80's and early '90's scene really), I doubt if the established fan really needs to get this, but for us newbies, might find a thing or two to enjoy on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great cd, 1 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Of (Audio CD)
Excellent condition. It's a good way to appreciate skid row's career. Even the bonus tracks are excellent. highly recommended. Buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by Skid Row (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews