Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
16
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 April 2007
Thank the stars for Shadows Fall. I have to say, that their previous album, The War Within, left a sour taste in my mouth - i'd pretty much given up on the band, but the new album totally redeems them in my eyes. It's right up there with the Art of Balance album. Blistering guitarwork, furious drumming and a stellar vocal delivery from Brian are all present on this album. I urge everyone who's into metal to check out this release, even if like me, you lost faith in this band after their last album. They're back on top again!! Bring on the tour!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2007
Let's be honest, the previous 2 Shadows Fall albums were patchy at the very best of times, getting no-where near the brilliance that was "The Art of Balance" and leaving me with severe reservations about purchasing "Threads of Life". However "Threads..." is a blinding return to their previous, bone crunching form, and is easily the bands best outting to date. A thrash-tastic medley of furocious riffage, pounding drums and killer solo work, rounded of nicely with a much improved perfomance from vocalist Brian fair.

Each song is a vital, technical thrash masterpiece (except "Another Hero Lost", which is a little restrained), shining examples of how Metal should be played, Shaming the likes of tame wannabe's Trivium. Blending whale size, hook laden riffs with a pounding groove they sound like a modern version of "Justice" era Metallica (only better) fused with Pantera at the height of their game if such a thing were possible!

The only guitar duo who even come close to matching the virtuoso skills of Jonathan Donais and Matt Bachand are the Haunted's Anders Bjorler and Patrik Jensen, which really is saying quite alot.

Put simply this album is a strong contender for the best Metal album since "Master of Puppets" (a bold claim i know!). So, do yourself a big favour. Buy it (like right this very second!), stick it in your stereo, turn the volume up to full and circle head-bang like you've never circle head-banged before!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
This WAS supposed to be THE SHADOWS FALL to break them bigtime with its big production, big choruses, big singing, and it should of, BUT it didn,t, the band stayed mainly a support act and thats why in 2012 they ceased being. This cd cost me next to nothing at ZOVERSTOCKS just like all there other albums i,ve got there so get it to hear what millions of metalheads missed out on BIGTIME!.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2007
If you are a fan of Shadows Fall you will love this album! If not then where have you been?? This album has amazing riffs, great vocals and heavy drumming all adding up to an immense Metal album! If you love things heavy and loud then you will love all parts of this album. This band have a dedicated following and with this album I think they can only get bigger! This is definitely one album that is well worth buying!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2007
I have bought every Shadows Fall album scince the beginning. (Somber Eyes to the Sky, Of One Blood, Dead World, Fear Will Drag You Down, The Art of Balance, The War Within, Fallout From The War) and now I have got (Threads of Life) this album is brutal in many ways with extreme guitaring insane drums and mad vocals. This album sees the band's metal-core sound progress as it is much heavier. The poast albums have been Really heavy and in some cases some soft core songs. It think this album is 1 of there best it is very hard to decide which is and which isn't the best or worst because they are all great.

Shadowsfall:- There music is suited for people who like Lamb of God ETC.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2007
I would have to agree with the reviewers who have posted below me...This album definately matches the high standard of fantastic metal that we have come to expect of Shadows Fall over the past few years. From the opening track through to the last the pace and intensity of this album does not drop with some fantastic guitar work, pinpoint drumming and a great, much improved vocal performance.

If you are a fan of this band's old material then you will LOVE this album, if you call yourself a fan of heavy metal then there is no excuse for looking past this album...Machine Head? Metallica? Fear Factory? The list goes on...make this your first mandatory purchase this year.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2007
Shadows Fall have just proved why they were always tipped for the top! After hearing their last album I was wary of purchasing this one so I looked about online and heard a few sample tracks and thought things were looking up. I was right, they have done themselves justice. The album is back up to the standard i've grown to expect of them. My three fave tracks as always are track 3. Storm Winds, track 6 Another Hero Lost and track 10 Just Another Nightmare. I strongly suggest that if you've liked their older stuff you go out and purchase it. I'd also recommend it to fans of KSE, Sanctity, Machine Head and Lamb of God
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Threads Of Life, Shadows Fall's 2007 major label debut contains the Grammy nominated `Redemption,' along with a fine collection of well written and fantastically produced material that while slicker and less metalcore than their earlier material contains all the passion and attitude that make the band so interesting.

The lead singer Brain Fair has a pretty impressive voice, equally talented in catchy melodic singing and aggressive shouting whether or not you are a fan of his singing voice there is a variety on offer with enough hardcore shouts, metal screams and death growls that you'll find something suited to your tastes.

Drummer Jason Bittner puts down a very memorable performance on this record, and while he has always been hyped you can really hear that hype justified on this album some very enjoyable fills and very impressive footwork make for a good drummer and the clean swagger of his performance separate him from the crowd, he can be as complicated as he likes then just by virtue of his playing style make something as simple as silence followed three strikes on the kick drum sound amazing.

As always, the album boasts excellent guitar work from Jonathan Donais and Matt Bachand who constantly provide interesting melodies and thrash influenced riffs that on this album more than ever, evoke that classic 1980s sound.
The shimmering acoustic passages that made The Art Of Balance such a joy to listen to are still there and there are a few ballads like `Another Hero Lost,' that slow things down a bit more, but when all the material is smooth, clear and superbly produced its difficult to find fault.

Album highlights include the very catchy `Failure of The Devout,' which features some particularly impressive drumming and plenty of new ideas among the tried and tested formula, the brutal and impressive `Dread Uprising,' and of course `Venomous,' which is the perfect example of the Shadows Fall style, the big riffs, the double kick drum work and a particularly great vocal performance.

This is a very strong Shadows Fall album indeed and highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2007
The previous Shadows Fall album lacked the "x-factor"(if you'll pardon the expression). This album however see's the mighty Shads back at the top of their game. The opening track of the album kicks the CD in breath-taking style. The riffs begin to flow straight from the start leading into an anthemic chorus with blissful vocals. Infact the vocals thrive throughout the album, setting them apart from many of their contemporaries. The guitars cut through the mix with a blaze of furious riffs and searing solo's. This is definately one of the bands finest albums and is a must have for any true metal fan.

Stand out tracks: Redemption, Storm Winds, Another Hero Lost and Final Call
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2007
With their first major label album, Threads of Life, Shadows Fall delivers their music vision with the excellence that listeners of the band have come to expect from the American metallers. Crushing thrash riffs, tasteful song writing, flashy yet to the point leads, and superb performances are all characteristics which can be used to describe Threads of Life, and fans of both thrash and the current wave of American metal should handily enjoy. Though not quite as strong as The Art of Balance, this new record is still a solid slab of metal and essential for all fans of Shadows Fall. Don't hesitate on
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)