Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


108 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice solid easel
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:41 Mins
I purchase this for my partners Christmas present and she was very happy with it.

Coming in a large box the easel arrives in it's compact form. It folds down into a form which is better suited for storage or transportation, although don't expect it to be tiny, it is the size of a suitcase when collapsed. Still, far better than...
Published 24 months ago by Reviewify.co.uk

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I think it is a good buy for the cheap end of the market and ...
FIddly and wobbly if not secured properly. I think it is a good buy for the cheap end of the market and if you are travelling, but it is worth spending more if you plan on working in the studio.
Published 1 month ago by Mrs. S. J. Brooks


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

108 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice solid easel, 26 Dec 2012
By 
Reviewify.co.uk "Mark" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Windrush Studio Easel (Misc.)
Length:: 1:41 Mins

I purchase this for my partners Christmas present and she was very happy with it.

Coming in a large box the easel arrives in it's compact form. It folds down into a form which is better suited for storage or transportation, although don't expect it to be tiny, it is the size of a suitcase when collapsed. Still, far better than lugging it around when fully set up!

Nicely constructed, you unpack it via a series of screws, it's just a matter of un-tightening and then re-tightening them when in position. The actual convas holding section can be adjusted for all sorts of canvas sizes.

Under the canvas section is a pull out draw for your paint materials. There are a number of trays, with a metal lining rather than just wood, so this section could be used to mix paints if you wanted to.

I'm really impressed with this, worth paying the extra for over some of the cheaper easels available, especially if you think this might get stored away or transported to different locations at some point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Windrush Box Studio Easel With Handle, 6 Dec 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Windrush Studio Easel (Misc.)
First of all it has arrived very quickly.
It a very good wood quality easel, very easy to put together (no tools required). What pleased me the most was a small area for brushes and paints. Equaly you can drag it out and place a smal jar of whater on it. For instance, when you use aquarelles Overall: very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Windrush Studio Easel (Misc.)
This travelling easel is excellent value. Looked at cheaper versions and have no regrets about buying this one and such great value too. The quality of the wood, the metal liners and the securing bolts and screws is worth the extra cost. I can hardly wait to go out and use it. The company who supplied it were very quick to dispatch and I received the item within a couple of days. Read the instructions of how to assemble it unlike me who spent far too long trying to do it without referring to the leaflet. Reminded me of the man trying to put up a deckchair on the beach! I am glad my children have left home because they would have been shocked with my language. Having given up I found the instructions and within minutes it was looking remarkably like the picture in the instruction. It is very quick to put it together once you know how and there is even a carrying device to include your canvas. Working in the snow doesn't appeal so a warm spell would be good. Winsor & Newton Windrush Studio Easel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good for outdoor use, too, 2 July 2014
By 
Thomas Pots "T Pots" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Windrush Studio Easel (Misc.)
I used one of these as an art student in Italy. It is described as a studio easel, but I've seen plenty of people using them outdoors. They are sturdy, and will keep your drawing board, canvas or other painting surface fixed in place, even in quite windy conditions. The palette is a nice addition, though I don't use it because I prefer a round palette. if you are painting in oils and you need to pack up for a while, just put cling film on the palette and the paints will stay nice and wet for later. You can then use the palette as a lid for the equipment box/drawer.

There are a couple of downsides with this easel for outdoor use. The top part does not rotate. If you are painting for a few hours, you may need to move the canvas to prevent its position going from shade to light, causing you to move and probably adjust all the legs. The easel is also heavy - too heavy to carry long distances.

Overall then, not a bad easel. It's solid and built to last, it looks good and has many practical features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Easel, 2 Nov 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Windrush Studio Easel (Misc.)
This easel is in my opinion perfect for the enthusiastic painter young or old. It is a little heavy, but then it's built very well, and is very functional. You can practically carry a small studio around with you, and what is more, you can set this up indoors, and it becomes your own studio in a corner. The drawer is a great size, the drawer is also lined with aluminium so that it is durable and easy to clean. The scope for canvas sizes is wide, and it is both adaptable to your position, and steady when set. In terms of value for money, it's outstanding. Well well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most versatile and useful bit of kit I've bought in years!, 2 Jan 2012
By 
SoozArt "Suzanne Lennon" (Stoke on Trent, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Windrush Studio Easel (Misc.)
I bought this from Ken Bromley and the service was second to none. The easel itself is awesome!
It is versatile and holds every shape and size of canvas I could ever want, and is sturdy when being used. It easily folds up for storage and is portable too!
Value for money is excellent! This piece of kit is £250 - £300 in many shops...and would still be on my wish list, but at £80 it can't be faulted.
If you are looking for a sturdy, well made and practical easel...this is definitely the one for you! And Ken Bromley's service is first rate.
Hope this helps...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Quality, 28 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Windrush Studio Easel (Misc.)
I ordered this Winsor & Newton easel for my husband's birthday after much research on different makes/models. This has proved to be a good choice as the quality, weight, ease of use are all excellent. My husband is very pleased with his birthday gift and we would highly recommend this model. The price is also very competitive from this seller and delivery was an amazing two days - ordered Tuesday, delivered Thursday, hard to beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good quality., 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Windrush Studio Easel (Misc.)
The metal lined compartments are really good, it's very easy and realtively quick to put together. It's very easy to adjust when in use, packs down small and feels (and looks) of a very high quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing build quality and great value., 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Windrush Studio Easel (Misc.)
As i finally decided to purchase this model based on other reviews i thought it was only fair i chipped in with my two pennath` worth.
As a time served cabinetmaker i could not make this for £69.99 at all and the build quality is great, dovetailed joints where it matters and finger joints elsewhere making it very robust.

Others said it was heavy i prefer to say its incredibly stable and i have no plans to carry it up Mount Snowdon anyway.

Two little nit picks that do not detract from my well deserved 5* rating but this is just my opinion. The carry strap doesn't look entirely comfortable being nylon tape with no padding and the superb palette had sharp corners on the thumb hole consistent with how it was manufactured so a quick rub with an abrasive paper sorted that out.

This is a brilliant easel and better than the more expensive models i looked at, very well made, very practical and i cant wait to splatter it in paint to make it my own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well made artist easel, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Windrush Studio Easel (Misc.)
very pleased with product, only one thing to mention for others is it is quite heavy so bear this in mind if using for en plein air painting, delivery was within a few days so very good service from The Range company
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Winsor & Newton Windrush Studio Easel
£66.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews