Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They don't make 'em like that anymore, 23 May 2001
This review is from: Can-Can [VHS] [1960] (VHS Tape)
Well, what more could you ask from a musical? The incomparable Sinatra, the divine Miss Shirley Maclean and the swoonsome Monsieur Louis Jordan in the Naughty Nineties of Gay Paris. The story is slight,(centered around the illegal Can Can) but the fabulous Cole Porter score lifts it to the magical: especially my favourites Let's Do It! and the melancholy It's Alright With Me.The stars are always engaging and it has a genuine wit and brio. Hurrah for the movie musical! A real treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sets a high standard but be sure you can play an NTSC format, 26 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: Can-Can [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I am sure most people looking for this film will know what to expect.
A masterful example of film making free of the slick electronic techniques that infect modern film making but in that comment is the films strength and achilles heel. It plays as a filmed stage production despite very athletic dance sequences.That suits me it will not suit everybody. The reason for this review is to compliment the producers of this fine DVD.The transfer quality cleaned up in 2007 is stunningly good the colours bright and clear.The aspect ratio has been corrected to 2:20 which plays fabulously well on modern LCD and Plasma screens. The extra's tell you all you need to know about the production process. I could only wish that all reissues were so carefully done but hey I have this now to enjoy and consider myself fortunate to be born at a time when Frank Sinatra lay down a body of recordings which to this day are the bench mark (together with Ella Fitzgerald) of the great American songbook. At the time of the filming of Can Can he was in his prime. Get your hands on the American NTSC copy and accept no substitutes. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can-Can [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Pretty good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent delivery service, 24 May 2014
By 
Ms J (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can-Can [VHS] [1960] (VHS Tape)
I had this musical on video many years ago but it won't play on my new Video/DVD recorder. I was so happy when you had it in stock. For such an old musical the sound and picture quality is great. I'm a very happy customer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Can Can, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A dvd purchased from France .A good print and presented in the correct aspect ratio 2.20:1(16:9) & 5.0 sound.
a 1960 Musical in Todd-AO and Technicolor .
Not in the same class as Gigi , but good tunes and an entertaining musical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can-Can (2 Dvd) (DVD)
Excellent product for my a Dad.exact
Y as described with fast postal service and good liaising with the stellar noted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant stuff, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can-Can (2 Dvd) (DVD)
The dancing and singing in this film is terrific. The feature that is on the 2nd DVD about the making of the film is very good too. Loved all the songs. I would recommend this film to all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Film Can Can with Frank Sinatra Shirley Mc Clane., 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can-Can [VHS] [1960] (VHS Tape)
This is a lovely fun film, the music is wonderful and the actors are great too. A good film for people like myself who loves to sing along and enjoys a film with no bad language, no violence and just a good family film. The quality of the film is good for content and clear and good standard.It goes along with my collection of older but enjoyable musicals such as the Sound of Music, Mary Poppins, Guys and Dolls, and South Pacific. I call them my ironing films,because I can iron and sing along happily while I work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A favourite film., 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can-Can [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I loved this film although it was not a great success, and it was not available on dvd until recently. Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cancan, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can-Can (2 Dvd) (DVD)
Dance and music absolutely great VERY enjoyable also the making of cancan.my grandchildren are looking forward to viewing it,loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Can-Can [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
8.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews