Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good, solid product for sleeping in bed with baby which is easy to fit, assemble and fold
This product provides a roughly 102cm (40 inch) long barrier down one side of your bed and extends to a heigh of just over 40cm (about 16 inches) above the bottom of your mattress (the measurements are lacking from the page).

Assembling the product from its original packaging is a little fiddly but not too hard with slightly poor instructions. As long as you do...
Published on 31 July 2009 by Peter Bennett

versus
27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Warning
My grandson is 21 months and he has been in a bed for three weeks with the bed guard. Everything was fine at first,
and then, during his daytime sleep, my son-in-law, who was looking at a monitor of the bedroom, noticed that his son had
managed to move the bed guard away from the bed, and slipped down inbetween the guard and the mattress, and was stuck...
Published on 6 Feb 2011 by Tricia Brewster


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good, solid product for sleeping in bed with baby which is easy to fit, assemble and fold, 31 July 2009
By 
Peter Bennett "Pete" (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BabyDan Sleep 'n' Safe Bedrail (Blue) (Baby Product)
This product provides a roughly 102cm (40 inch) long barrier down one side of your bed and extends to a heigh of just over 40cm (about 16 inches) above the bottom of your mattress (the measurements are lacking from the page).

Assembling the product from its original packaging is a little fiddly but not too hard with slightly poor instructions. As long as you do not fully dissemble it again however, you only need to do this once.

Fitting it to the bed is a matter of sliding a second part of the product (not shown in the picture) which extends at right angles to the main guard under your mattress for about the same 40cm length. This process is simple and quick.

Once in place, the end result is a solid barrier which will prevent a baby from rolling out of bed which has good padding around the edges and a "breath through" fine mesh in the middle.

The product does not extend down the entire side of the bed giving it less usefulness once your child is mobile enough to be moving up and down the bed but a very good investment for peace of mind with a young baby who is relatively static but will learn to roll from side-to-side at some point. At 3-4 months of age we became less comfortable using it with our son for this reason but before then it was excellent.

In principle, it will fold up smaller as specific on the product page but I have found the easiest thing to do is to fold it along its hinge into a flat 102cm by 40cm rectangle for transportation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought this after reading the reviewes, 20 May 2009
By 
Mrs. Lisa Jay "Mummy Jay" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this bed rail after reading the reviews for most of the bed rails on sale on Amazon. We have a cotbed with slats and it seemed that this was the only one that fitted and it does. Really easy to put together, folds up small enough to go in a suitcase, have used it on a number of hotel beds as well. My little boy has not fallen out of bed once but can still climb in and out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job for co-sleeping., 4 Sep 2010
This review is from: BabyDan Sleep 'n' Safe Bedrail (Blue) (Baby Product)
We are using this bed guard to allow us to co-sleep with a new-born in a king size bed with a slatted base, and it serves that function well. Also pretty portable allowing us to take it with us when we visit family etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BabyDan Sleep N Safe Bedrail, 8 Sep 2008
By 
My Son has a "Digger" bed from Next and most makes of Bed Guards do not fit to this bed due to it having raised wooden panels on the sides. The hinges on this Bed Guard do not protrude past the frame meaning it can sit flush against the bed frame, so it is more adaptable than most.

Only criticism is the intructions are poor for the part relating to a strap that it contains which goes under the bed frame. It looks like you need to screw in a metal plate tot he bed frame, as there is a hole in the plate - and I cannot see how it would be of any use if it were not screwed in. But the instructions in no part mentioned you needing a screwdriver etc

However I have not used this part as the Bed Guard is supported enough without this on the bed we have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased, 6 Jun 2009
This review is from: BabyDan Sleep 'n' Safe Bedrail (Blue) (Baby Product)
Although it took me a little while to figure out how to attach it to the bed once I did it seemed very secure and has worked very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baby Dan Bed Rail, 18 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
BabyDan Sleep 'n' Safe Bedrail (Black)This was bought for the grandchildrens cot bed when they come to visit. The rail was easy to put together and fit under the mattress. When not needed it can be packed away in to its carry bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Baby Dan Sleep 'N' Safe fold down bed guard, 2 July 2009
By 
This review is from: BabyDan Sleep 'n' Safe Bedrail (Blue) (Baby Product)
Nice looking thing and easy to fit to the bed. However I did have trouble clicking the middle section up and down (still do in fact) but this may be more to do with developing the 'technique' than a specific fault. Great see-through section so the child doesn't feel hemmed in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Warning, 6 Feb 2011
This review is from: BabyDan Sleep 'n' Safe Bedrail (Blue) (Baby Product)
My grandson is 21 months and he has been in a bed for three weeks with the bed guard. Everything was fine at first,
and then, during his daytime sleep, my son-in-law, who was looking at a monitor of the bedroom, noticed that his son had
managed to move the bed guard away from the bed, and slipped down inbetween the guard and the mattress, and was stuck with
his neck trapped between the mattress and the guard.

This guard was bought at John Lewis and they have now taken this guard off the shelves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guard, 15 Jun 2009
Fits perfectly on my son's cot bed, stays in place well, even with all his kicking and moving about. Having previously had the tomy bed guard in blue for my older son a few years back, i would say this one is head and shoulders above the Tomy product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Co-sleeping space maker! Great for travels to the out-laws!, 6 Feb 2013
This review is from: BabyDan Sleep 'n' Safe Bedrail (Blue) (Baby Product)
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

We use this on our king size slatted base bed, which has a raised edge that the mattress sits into. I believe this is the only bed guard on the market that will fit that set up; as the hinge is flush rather than protuding. I believe the wooden version will also fit but I chose the mesh one in case my daughter finds her face up against it one night - she hasn't yet but it wouldn't be comfy, also zero risk of skinny baby arms getting caught inbetween rails with the mesh one.

Gives us at least an extra foot of space in bed as no one is worried about anyone getting too close to the edge! Allows you to maintain the daddy-mummy-baby position without worrying the baby will wriggle/turn and fall out during the night. It's good and long but not so long you can't get up/out yourself. We have a very deep mattress and the guard is still plenty high enough. You cannot feel the sturdy under-bed part through your mattress.

Easy and logical to assemble, although as other reviews suggest it is easier to just fold in half at hinge for travel to Granny's (who has a 4'6" very high divan guest bed so we NEED it otherwise our baby has to go in travel cot and we have to listen to her complaining about it all night!). Comes with a handy travel bag.

It is heavy so would take up like 3kgs of luggage space if going abroad but we will still take it with.

Disclaimer: As this is designed for cot beds the strapping will not reach the other side of a king size matrress. If you have slats you can attach to those but we haven't bothered. I imagine if your mattress is not resessed as ours is there is the possibility of the guard moving an inch or so away from edge of mattress, but I think this would take some force - like a toddler launching themselves towards it. I do not believe it would be possible to move it further as it is heavy, the bit that goes under the mattress is plenty big enough and doubly secured by you lying on it!! Also it is marked as for 18months + only, which is to protect the manufacturer from co-sleepers...but it is perfect for that use and we've been happily using it the last 6 months with zero issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

BabyDan Sleep 'n' Safe Bedrail (Blue)
£30.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews