Customer Reviews


238 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (95)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silverline rechargable torch
Good sturdy torch, with excellent beam. Full charge gives over 40mins of continouos
light. Excellent product for price
Published on 9 Nov 2010 by richard wilkinson

versus
34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars FOR YOUR INFORMATION
I think there must have been a bad batch of these torches. Mine has given up after only 3 weeks.
I must tell all of you who have purchased one of these that the Battery inside is a cheap nasty "Shundi SD640 6V 4AH"
I purchased mine rather cheap and when I received this item it did not work at all. I unscrewed the top to check the bulb was ok but I found there...
Published on 13 April 2012 by Graham


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silverline rechargable torch, 9 Nov 2010
This review is from: Silverline 999666 Rechargeable Torch 1 Million Candle Power 1 Million (Tools & Hardware)
Good sturdy torch, with excellent beam. Full charge gives over 40mins of continouos
light. Excellent product for price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars silverline torch, 3 Feb 2010
By 
Ms. F. Anns - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Silverline 999666 Rechargeable Torch 1 Million Candle Power 1 Million (Tools & Hardware)
Excellent product TIP charge battery at least once per month. If you think battery does not hold charge for long leave switched on until totally flat and charge it in the on position.
It like having a new battery again and holds charge for many months after!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silverline 999666 1 Million candle torch, 28 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 999666 Rechargeable Torch 1 Million Candle Power 1 Million (Tools & Hardware)
Before I bought this torch I had one that was three million candles and although the light was good, the charge didn't last more than twenty minutes. The charge lasts much longer on this one and the light is just as good, perfect for average household use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars FOR YOUR INFORMATION, 13 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 999666 Rechargeable Torch 1 Million Candle Power 1 Million (Tools & Hardware)
I think there must have been a bad batch of these torches. Mine has given up after only 3 weeks.
I must tell all of you who have purchased one of these that the Battery inside is a cheap nasty "Shundi SD640 6V 4AH"
I purchased mine rather cheap and when I received this item it did not work at all. I unscrewed the top to check the bulb was ok but I found there was a broken (unsoldered) red wire.
I then noticed there was a screw missing holding in the Battery (only 3 screws, should have been 4) so I decided to take this to pieces to check the battery.
I took out the battery and it was damp with acid as I could smell that sulphuric distinctive pong. I checked the battery for power and it was totally dead.
I decided to charge the battery and re-solder the broken red wire to the switch.
After leaving the battery on charge overnight I re-assembled the whole thing and to my amazement it worked. BUT! very short lived, only stayed on for 15 seconds and dimmed to nothing in another 15 seconds. "ALL IS NOT LOST" I searched on Amazon (good old Amazon) for a replacement Battery. I found 2 types. 1: a "NP4-6 Yuasa 4Ah 6v Lead acid battery for £9.99" and the other was a "PS640 Powersonic 6v 4.5Ah Rechargeable Lead-Acid Battery for £8.77, both of which are free postage. There are also various other makes on the market but in my opinion these 2 are the best and Yuasa of course is my choice.
If you decide to order one and replace the battery you will then have a darn good torch and will last a very long time on one charge.
It is relatively easy to fit too. All you have to do is to unscrew the little charging plug and the switch from inside. remove all 4 of the battery retaining screws and carefully take out the cheap nasty awful good for nothing "Shundi" unheard of Battery and reverse the procedure with the new Battery.

JOB DONE AND YOU WILL HAVE A GOOD LONG LASTING TORCH.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let there be light..., 29 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 999666 Rechargeable Torch 1 Million Candle Power 1 Million (Tools & Hardware)
The thing is a lot lighter than you might think and the small, folding prop handle underneath the body was cracked when it arrived. However, I'd call that a very minor defect and certainly nothing much to worry about, especially because I'm an expert in repairing things with bubblegum and sticky tape. It's really not worth making a fuss about. When it comes to lighting the place up this piece of kit performs wonderfully - it's hugely powerful. I like the fact that it comes complete with a charger that can be used in the car as well as one that works from the mains.

It was stone cold dead when it arrived but ready to go in no time at all after a charge.

All in all, this is a good and useful gadget. And being cheap as chips helps, too.

Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as i thought., 20 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 999666 Rechargeable Torch 1 Million Candle Power 1 Million (Tools & Hardware)
Depending on what you use this for, this is a great torch for the price. The distance of the beam is fantastic and it really is bright. However, if you need it to show a wide beam pattern for short distance for a long period of time, its useless (As I found). Still good to keep around the house or in the car for emergencies though so its not money wasted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dog walking aid, 6 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Silverline 999666 Rechargeable Torch 1 Million Candle Power 1 Million (Tools & Hardware)
i bought this product for my son for when he walks his dog at night it is light and in weight and it is very bright it doesn't need batteries as it is rechargable i would recommend this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mine seems OK , try these couple of tips!!, 3 Jan 2011
This review is from: Silverline 999666 Rechargeable Torch 1 Million Candle Power 1 Million (Tools & Hardware)
I have read all of the reviews of this product having just purchased one..I would offer some tips of benefit to all.
The first tip, to determine whether or not the torch is switched on or off, is that the on/off button works underneath a rubber cover and operates similar to the top of a biro clicking pen. If you press the button to the on position, the inside operating peg clicks down thus leaving a sort of empty space under the rubber cover of the button.. When you switch it off again, the loose area under the rubber becomes once again filled with the operating peg. By doing this carefully several times you will soon be able to feel whether or not the operating peg underneath the rubber is in the on (down) or off (up) position.
Tip Number two is mainly for new purchasers of the lamp. When you have fully charged the lamp and try to switch it on, you may find that it does not appear to work. This may well be because you have not disconnected the charging cable from the lamp before you try to switch it on. I hope these tips will be of some value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy, 15 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Silverline 999666 Rechargeable Torch 1 Million Candle Power 1 Million (Tools & Hardware)
I had a 2 million power torch before that cost twice as much as this one. The beam is not as powerfull but lasts longer between charges, it is just the job for letting the dog out at night. Great value and free postage, would recommend to any buyer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars kincora says, 12 Nov 2010
This review is from: Silverline 999666 Rechargeable Torch 1 Million Candle Power 1 Million (Tools & Hardware)
EXCELLENT LUMINS (BRIGHTNESS). LIKE MOST TOUCHES WE KEEP THIS AS AN EMERGENCY, SO DON'T KEEP IT IN THE GARAGE OR DOWNSTAIRS. KEEP IT WHERE MOST EMERGENCIES OCCUR IN THE DARKNESS OF NIGHT, UPSTAIRS !

REMEMBER TO DIARY IT TO BE RECHARGED EVERY TWO MONTHS. TURN TORCH ON AND LET IT COMPLETELY DISCHARGE, THEN CHARGE.

LONG MAY IT NEVER BE NEEDED !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews