Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best metal/prog album in a long time
Awesome, absolutely sonically spellbinding. For those familiar with Threshold its simply their best album. For those who have never heard of them, if you like metal or prog-metal it's a must buy.

An album full of totally catchy hooks and melodies underpinned by an awesome rythmn section, great keyboards (with contemporary sounds), and virtuoso guitar playing...
Published on 9 April 2007 by Sebastian Masso

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Really Metal
In my opinion this is basic rock. I don't really understand how its nothing like everyone said it was. If you were going to consider getting this I would only recommended it if you liked rock since their just another and slower then Dragonforce. And even they sound like a metal band. I'm not saying its bad just that its misleading go to Grooveshark and type the name of...
Published 15 months ago by Jordan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best metal/prog album in a long time, 9 April 2007
By 
Sebastian Masso (petersfield, hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Reckoning [Limited Edition] (Audio CD)
Awesome, absolutely sonically spellbinding. For those familiar with Threshold its simply their best album. For those who have never heard of them, if you like metal or prog-metal it's a must buy.

An album full of totally catchy hooks and melodies underpinned by an awesome rythmn section, great keyboards (with contemporary sounds), and virtuoso guitar playing. At times I hear Metallica, Dream Theater, Opeth, 80's power rock, Symphony X,Devin Townsend guitar base riffs, etc. Some of the prog fans out there think its not "proggy" enough and too "metal". Well it is simply lean and mean and not overblown. The brilliant production makes repeated listens an even more rewarding experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Prog Bands Around, 20 Mar 2007
By 
P. Geho "HaloGod1961" (Austin, TX. area) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Reckoning [Limited Edition] (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Threshold since the Clone CD. The have consistently provided not only an extremely high standard of musicianship, but of composition also. This CD is darker in sound, but well balanced and shows again that these guys are well deserving of their ratings in Europe's Metal Magazines where they have yearly ranked 9 out of 10 or excellent by the reviewers. I highly recommend them if you're into Dream Theater and would honestly compare this particular CD to Dream Theaters Image and Words CD. THAT's the level of quality these guys have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars United Kingdoms finest!, 25 April 2007
By 
Transcendence (Adelaide,South Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead Reckoning [Limited Edition] (Audio CD)
Threshold are one of the best bands coming out of the United Kingdom progressive metal scene at present and are a global force to be reckoned with. This is Threshold's first recording for the Nuclear Blast label, after they jumped ship from Inside Out following the conclusion of their contractual obligations.

Unquestionably, a sad day for Inside Out, as the label has lost one of their pivotal players, but the Nuclear Blast team must be dancing in the streets with their latest signing by this hugely popular band.

After listening to `Dead Reckoning' for the first time, it did not quite capture my attention compared to some of their previous releases. This certainly is not a bad thing, as experience predicts that after repetitive listens then unusually the magical essence of the music will be revealed.

This certainly was the case with `Dead Reckoning' as the Threshold hallmark sound is still stamped all over this release. It strongly resembles their previous work mainly from the `Subsurface' era; however at no stage does it get mind numbing or repetitive with Karl Groom and his cohorts having upped the ante by sharpening their song writing skills. Every song sounds fresh and invigorating and there is not a weak track that can be found on `Dead Reckoning'.

The keyboards of Richard West are still there, softening the heavy guitars of Karl Groom and Andrew `Mac' MacDonald's vocals are reserved, yet possessing very strong and emotive choruses. The stylistic and hypnotic drumming of Johanne James is inspirational along with Steve Anderson's bass work is right up in the mix, delivering right on target. Though musically, this new release seems to be heavier and darker than the previous efforts, the whole atmosphere is very inspiring and full of feeling and just typical of what Threshold are about.

On two of the tracks, `Slipstream' and `Elusive' the band has done something they have never attempted to do previously. They have utilized the services of Swedish musical genius Dan Swanö to incorporate a few death metal vocal lines into the chorus, and this has been done to startling effect. The band Kamelot did a similar thing on the `Black Halo' release by using black metal stalwart, Shagrath to incorporate some rough vocals to the track, `March of Mephisto' and this proved very popular for the band.

Some of the inspirational tracks are the brilliant `Pilot in the Sky of Dreams' with this being the centrepiece of the album and probably also the stand out track. On this track, there are recurring melodies, fantastic vocal harmonies, tasteful riffs, beautiful chorus that repeats throughout, something that many ten-minute epics seem to lack.

The opening track, `Slipstream' has a blinding riff with greatly driven verses adding a slightly more ethereal chorus to add a great dimension to the track. Then there is `Hollow' even brings back memories of Subsurface to an extent, both lyrically and musically.

There is a Muse cover version at the end of the album titled `Supermassive Black Hole' and as Threshold have done the original proud. Another solid release from one of the purveyors of this genre and I would encourage anyone that is a fan of the band to obtain a copy, as there are many musical soundscapes to explore on `Dead Reckoning'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't believe you haven't heard of Threshold yet !, 23 Mar 2007
This review is from: Dead Reckoning (Audio CD)
I won't bore you with a run down of each track or telling you that Threshold are the best thing since Dream Theater. They can stand on their own merits without comparisons.

If you already own a Threshold CD, then likely you have bought the rest (or are in the process of buying the rest) and this one will already be on order.

If you haven't heard of Threshold yet (fankly I can't believe it) and you're waiting for the next DT, Symphony X, Porcupine Tree, Redemption or even Allen/Lande CD to be released - don't wait - this CD has everything you've been waiting for and more.

Problem is, you're going to want to get the other 7 as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead Reckoning, 20 Mar 2007
This review is from: Dead Reckoning (Audio CD)
This album is very impressive. Threshold are coming back better than ever with this album, and I expect that it will be very popular. The album has a wide range of different styles, as all Threshold albums have done, and they've also experimented with new things such as diferrent vocals and guitar techniques. Also, the limited edition version has a cover of Supermassive Black Hole by muse, which is said to be a great cover - similar to the original, but heavier and more powerful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another of 2007's great albums, 27 Nov 2007
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dead Reckoning (Audio CD)
Like Symphony X, I have only recently "found" Threshold, and I'm ever so glad I have because whilst they largely plough the same ,broad, furrow as Dream Theater, Symphony X, Porcupine Tree and the like, they have their own unique take on the genre and invest it with excellent musicianship, great singing and most importantly not just prog "doodles", but real songs. I like the way modern prog/metal is looking, and especially the fact that there doesn't appear to be a rivalry between bands and fans, and that there is a mutual respect between all concerned. This means that you can be fan of any of the above bands and enjoy this one as well without having to worry about what "scene" you are part of. It's only Rock `n' roll!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't believe you haven't heard of Threshold ?, 23 Mar 2007
This review is from: Dead Reckoning [Limited Edition] (Audio CD)
I won't bore you with a run down of each track or telling you that Threshold are the best thing since Dream Theater. They can stand on their own merits without comparisons.

If you already own a Threshold CD, then likely you have bought the rest (or are in the process of buying the rest) and this one will already be on order.

If you haven't heard of Threshold yet (fankly I can't believe it) and you're waiting for the next DT, Symphony X, Porcupine Tree, Redemption or even Allen/Lande CD to be released - don't wait - this CD has everything you've been waiting for and more.

Problem is, you're going to want to get the other 7 as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ...different shades of dark light..., 7 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: Dead Reckoning [Limited Edition] (Audio CD)
And so here we are with album number eight from 'England's foremost Progressive Metal band'. So their record company say, but I'll be the judge of that, thank you very much.

First of all, it would appear that unlike some, they take the metal part of their chosen genre very seriously, for this may be the heaviest album they've yet produced, with some songs chock full of powerful riffing and some intense percussion from Johanne James. Which is a good thing, especially when they've held on to a melodic base, kept in check by the keyboards of Richard West and some excellent harmony vocals.

To be fair, the three years since their last album "Subsurface" hasn't seen many changes in the world of Threshold, the song remains pretty

much the same. But the years since their 1993 debut "Wounded Land" has

seen them develop into an exemplary prog metal outfit, so why would we want them to change?

However, there are a couple of tracks where they seem keen to spread their wings with the sharp staccato sounds of 'Elusive' and the throwback out and out pure prog of 'Pilot On The Sky Of Dreams', the highlights of a very good album, one that spends most of its time dealing in different shades of dark light.

And make no mistake, this is a very good album. However, it is one that veers sharply between the progressive and the metal. Hopefully, it won't be too schizophrenic for the punters out there. Personally, I prefer their prog to their metal, so it's the likes of 'Safe To Fly' that I keep returning too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rare thing for me, 16 May 2008
By 
Steven Baker "Reaper_FBB" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Reckoning [Limited Edition] (Audio CD)
For some reason, whenever I listen to an album for the first time, I can tell whether I will like it in future, even if on first listen it doesn't appeal. However, with this album, it was a total surprise. When I first listened to it, I loved the first track, but then the tracks seemed to lose focus and a couple of them seemed to be off-key. My distaste for the album was confirmed when I only gave it a rating of 2 on Amazon.

However, I persevered with it and gradually, the tracks grew on me to the extent that I wanted to listen to it more. Now I have upped my rating to 4 and I wouldn't be surpised if on further listens, I push it up again.

As usual for Threshold, the music is excellent and the vocals are good (I think I'm one of the few who preferred the original line up with Damian Wilson on vocals) and the stand-out tracks being "Slipstream", "Pilot in the Sky of Dreams" and "Fighting for Breath".

If you are the type of person who will persevere with a CD then I would heartily recommend that you give this one a spin. You, like me, might be surprised at how much you start to enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In The Same Vein?, 5 Oct 2007
By 
J. M. Green "john94682" (Sutton Coldfield) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Reckoning (Audio CD)
Following Threshold for a few years and having acquired all of their albums to date, I came to this one with a little trepidation - one: because Subsurface was such a hard act to follow and two: when sticky labels attached to the outer packaging blare out "a must for all Dream Theater fans" one is usually left more than a little disappointed with the content....because comparison with DT is so utterly wrong!!
However, the album, although very much in the same vein as everything that went before (so no surprises there then!) is filled with some very clever little tricks and nuances which makes this probably their best offering by a long mile.
Mac's vocal techniques have improved quite noticeably and the rest of the band are certainly well on top of their game too with Karl Groom laying in some very tasty solos on top of well layered and structured songs.
For me the stand out is Pilot In The Sky Of Dreams and for that alone, I would recommend anybody who has not heard of this band to lay out their hard earned
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Reckoning [Limited Edition]
Dead Reckoning [Limited Edition] by Threshold (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews