Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


86 of 86 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars History, geography & entertainment. A splendid series
Great British Journeys is excellent viewing. Nicholas Crane is an enthusiastic and well informed presenter who is obviously at home exploring the history of the British landscape. The series is well researched and carefully explained, so each programme offers a carefully constructed insight into a certain place at a specific time. It's thoroughly enjoyable and sneakily...
Published on 27 Oct 2007 by Rowena Hoseason

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware: this is about nine writers and where THEY travelled so should be called "Great British Authors"
I bought this as it was cheap and it had that energetic chap off the brilliant Coast. I was expecting something similar.

Unfortunately I was disappointed mainly as the journeys followed nine writers (of whom I had only heard of Daniel Defoe) and where THEY travelled. It should clearly state this on the DVD cover. I don't particularly need to know where an...
Published 1 month ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great British Journeys, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great British Journeys : Complete BBC Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Nicholas Crane is a knowledgeable man, who is able to make history very interesting. He strides (cycles, rides) along, with his trade-mark umbrella sticking out of his rucksack, all the time telling us fascinating facts about people and places Why has there not been a Series 2?.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent DVD, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great British Journeys : Complete BBC Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Having read the book I was keen to purchase the accompanying DVD and have not been disappointed. A bargain at the price I bought it for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great British Journeys : Complete BBC Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
My brother in law loves this which I bought for him for his birthday. He is a great walker and this series highlights some of the best in the UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellant purchase well worth the money, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great British Journeys : Complete BBC Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
nicholas crane is allways very professional with his presentations and as an expat living in qld australia I enjoy watching anything about the uk and its countryside
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Nicholas Crane collection, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great British Journeys : Complete BBC Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
We like the Nicholas Crane DVD's , and nice to have , and watch when you need a good relaxing time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great British Journeys : Complete BBC Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I saw part of the series on tv and wanted to see it all. I had to get my dvd player adjusted for all regions but it was worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Informative, 29 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great British Journeys : Complete BBC Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
We have thoroughly enjoyed watching this set of programmes and learnt a lot about the travellers/writers, our own countryside as well as a bit of social history. The filming has been quite acceptable, you feel as if you are actually going on the journey alongside Nick; his enthusiasm has been infectious with the family looking forward to each new episode. Well worth the price and time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Shaky, 5 Feb 2012
By 
J. Price "eumides" (Canberra, ACT Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great British Journeys : Complete BBC Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is one series Iwould really have liked to have liked. I bought it aminly on the strength of Nick's presentation in the Coast series, and to see a some of the walks in the UK (since I'm in Australia, have never been to the UK and am a keen bushwalker).

But as other reviewers have noted:

1. There is lots of blurry/shaky footage of Nick in some sort of countryside. This I suppose is a currently "artistic" and "with it" style of camera work, but I really felt like sending BBC Scotland an email offering them my old camcorder second hand as it at least has a "steady shot" feature...

2. Yeah, the 'back and forth' pacing in a pub presentation in a few episodes. Just sit down with your beer and talk to the camera. If the space you have to walk around in is the size of a toilet cubical, then DON'T.

3. The music. Blinking heck, what were they smoking ??? No real bands because that requires rights clearance and royalty payments, so there is this 'generic' music that rips off anything from acid jazz to Fleetwood Mac impersonations to bad 80s grunge. Except if Nick is in a church somewhere in which case you get a recording of a section of the Mozart Requiem... Wierd, too lod and just not in character when looking at a rolling landscape.

Still, the journeys themsselves ARE interesting, well planned and showcase some very inspirational people from the past who wrote about their journeys (particularly Celia Fiennes).

Five stars for the material and for Nick, minus two stars for the presentation...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great British journeys, 2 April 2009
By 
Dianne Bolton "patchdi" (Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great British Journeys : Complete BBC Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyed the series, beautiful scenery but would have like more information on the places nick crane visited. Have seen great places that i would never get to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacks Depth, Irritating Music, 8 Jun 2009
By 
Paul D. Hartley (Philippines) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great British Journeys : Complete BBC Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
What a pity - the subject matter is excellent and a real eye opener.

But the execution is terrible. There are so many items introduced and left hanging without a complete explanation or example. We understand the people on the Scottish islands were desperately poor, but there are no examples or insights into their life other than the bland statement they were poor and life was extremely difficult.

In episode 4 (this is where the bicycle riding becomes very irritating) he talks about a mill in relation to strip farming, then goes up in a hot air ballon to seek it out, then dismisses it with (oh it was probably at that junction) - no explanation as to why we needed to locate the mill - or why a hot air ballon was necessary.

Then there is the dreadful music on some scenes - first noted in the mountains of Scotland. Having spent time camping and climbing those beautiful and often desolate mountains I can assert the last thing you imagine is loud electric guitar music - not heavy rock exactly but not at all appropriate for the setting.

The journeys and the people who made them were remarkable, so I would love to see this covered again, more like the Coasts series.

Such a pity, the subjects covered deserved a much better treatment than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Great British Journeys : Complete BBC Series 1 [DVD]
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews