Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sabbath's second golden period, 29 Aug 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Dio Years (Audio CD)
Everyone knows about Sabbaths' heyday with Ozzy,there was a second coming with Dio,this is a glorious compilation of that era,tracks 1-9 are absolute perfection,and with the 3 best tracks IMHO,from the rather lacklustre Dehumaniser,this is as good as it gets,although you shake your head when you realise that the compiler has left off 'Sign Of The Southern Cross' possibly the best track this version of sabbath recorded and that an inferior live version of 'Children Of The Sea' has been used rather than the studio version(almost worth docking a star for !!).However the icing in the cake is the three new tracks absolutely fantastic quality,a superb portent of what was to come with The Devil You Know album.

The remastered sound quality to my ears is superb,a really excellent release despite a couple of quibbles re tracks missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Sabbath, best Dio, 23 Nov 2007
This review is from: The Dio Years (Audio CD)
I have not bought this album yet - but I intend to just for the new bonus tracks that don't appear on the other 3 (studio) albums from the Dio era. However, as I know most of the tracks I can only recommend it as a worthy purchase. I have just seen the last night of the H&H tour in Bournemouth and it was one of the best concerts I have ever seen (and that goes as far as Rammstein shows!).
Dio is still the best singer 30-40 years on from Elf (he's 65, for goodness sake!) and a totally good fella. Ozzy has received a lot of 'sympathetic' exposure in recent years as a burnt out rocker but apart from a few obvious classics I have to say that in terms of musical proficiency, Sab's best songs were done with Dio. For that matter (yes, I know - Holy Diver, Rainbow Rising etc etc!), some of Dio's best work was done with BS.
'Geezer and the 3 wops' (Ozzy's description, not mine) was one of the best bands ever to produce some fantastic heavy rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Sabbath!!!, 6 April 2007
By 
John Mcconnel "oldgothrocker" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dio Years (Audio CD)
At long last the Dio era of Sabbath gets its long overdue recognition. Prior to Dio's arrival Sabbath were on a down hill slope, personally I've always regarded the first 4 Sabbath albums with Ozzy, as the only ones worth getting, the following lps were a bit of a let down. Let's not beat around the bush here, when Dio arrived, he breathed new life into Sabbath. This compilation is definitive proof of that, yeh it was fashionable to critcise Dio's interpretation of Ozzy songs, personally I've always loved Dio's version of war pigs on the live evil album.

There will always be a divide with Sabbath fans as to who is the greater of the 2 vocalists, personally I've always loved Dio, the energy and power of his voice and lyrical imagination fired Sabbath to new musical heights and had Iommi's guitar sounding extremely evil and heavy (check out Dehumanizer and you'll see what I mean), the 3 bonus songs are worth the price of this cd alone, can't wait to see them on the H & H 07 tour, long may they reign!!!

Hopefully this compilation will put a stop to the crticism that plagued the Dio years for so long and shed light on what was a truly underated era of Black Sabbath music!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 8 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dio Years (Audio CD)
The first time i heared black sabbath was probably in about 1983. i remember someone lending me a Black Sabbath single,Heaven and Hell was on one side and Die young was on the other side,i remember being completely blown away,that's when i got my first electric guitar.When you listen to those heavy riffs and the emotion that Tony iomi puts into his music,especially on the track Heaven and Hell.
Although Ozzy was excellent in sabbath. Their late vocalist Ronnie James Dio, was an amazing singer,fantastically loud and awesome one of the best .I love every track on this album.Black Sabbath will always be a great band .This really defines the brilliance of the Dio years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was so shocked when i heard this!!!, 7 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: The Dio Years (Audio CD)
I borrowed this of one of my friends and it blew me away everything about this album is amzing Dio's vocals Iommis guitar playing, the drumming, the very clear bass & the lyrics. The Best song has to be Neon Knights thats just mindblowing the solo is fantastic. it has a few different songs from dio's albums when he was with and a good selection though the thing i would change is instead of After all(the dead) they should of put Master Of Insanity that would of been cool. This highly recommended to anyone this is mindblowing. Real Music. BLACK SABBATH ROCK BUY THIS ALBUM!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nostalgic trip (with a nod to the future ?), 7 May 2007
By 
Mr. Robert Jones "jonesr001" (Woodbridge, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dio Years (Audio CD)
If you're reading this, you already know something of Sabbath's reputation as the founding fathers of all things metal.

I always thought that Sabbath lost something when Ozzy left (yes, I'm old; 44). Dio took the band in a different direction and recorded "Dehumanizer" in 1992, one of metal's great overlooked albums. As for this collection, it is, as a previous reviewer has said, a good introduction to Dio's Sabbath. Quibbles would be the inclusion of the live version of "Children of the Sea", not the studio version and only two decent tracks from the aforementioned "Dehumanizer" ("After All {The Dead}") is poor, frankly. The new recordings are good, especially "Ear In The Wall".

Now for a celebration of the Tony Martin years ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 15 May 2007
By 
maz "maz" (Kent , England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dio Years (Audio CD)
Many Sabbath fans seem to be divided into two camps:- Ozzy era and Dio era. The Dio era fans seem to be far more narrow minded and won't accept Ozzy's contribution to this classic group. For me Black Sabbath's albums from their first release up to and including the magnificant Sabotage are pure class.

However,the two final Ozzy albums with Sabbath are very sub standard with drugs and Iommi's ego taking their toll. Iommi also tried to push them into a more mainstream sound making Sabbath sound like Queen. Ozzy was given the push and along came the little man with the big ego,Mr Ronnie James Dio

However the results, Heaven and Hell and Mob Rules were stunning. The sound was totally different and Sabbath came bombing into the 1980's It's hard to chose the best songs from them, but The Dio Years album has done a pretty good job. Neon Nights, Lady Evil, Die Young, Turn Up The Night etc. Fantastic!

We are given 3 songs from Dehumanizer and although they're not of the same standard as Heaven And Hell and Mob Rules, they're still very credible.

I'm glad that only one song has been chosen from Live Evil. The sound is tinny and muted and the audience may not as well have been there as they're so far down in the mix

The 3 news songs:- The Devil Cried, Shadow Of The Wind and Ear In The Wall aren't exactly earth shattering and won't go down as classics, but they're very listenable all the same.

I am looking forward to seeing them live under the name Heaven And Hell.

So I highly recommend this album. Ozzy fans, don't close your ears to the Dio era and Dio fans, don't close your ears to the Ozzy era. Both are fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Compo splendidly remastered, 13 Jun 2007
By 
Smitty Werbenjaegermanjensen (real name) (Thread rehab facility 37) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dio Years (Audio CD)
I have 95% of Sabbaths output with Ozzy and R J Dio, only missing Dehumaniser and Technical Ecstasy, and enjoy both camps equally. They both have their distinctive qualities and strengths.

This compo fills in a few gaps in the Dio side of things. For a start 3 new tracks which follow on from the Dehumaniser tracks as if they were recorded a couple of months later and not at least a decade. Ronnies voice is still as good as ever, amazing!

The upside of this collection is the sound quality of the remastering. Rhinos boffins really eek out every detail. I have the remastered cds that came out from Castle a couple of years ago and was not happy with the sound of the Dio era material. This redresses that problem completely.

The downside is the sound that Iommi has chosen to hammer out of his guitar on the later tracks. It has a strange overdriven sound that comes across as muffled and drowns out Geezer in places. A small quibble, but one worth mentioning.

I had a good laugh at the lyrics to Ear in the Wall this morning on the way to work, so that was a good start to the day.

Worth getting to hear the first 9 tracks as they ought to be heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where's Geezer Gone?, 20 Jun 2007
This review is from: The Dio Years (Audio CD)
Nice compilation but a word about sound quality.

This latest remaster has brought out the low frequencies much more but conversely this just means more kick drums which masks some of the bass guitar. Geezer was at his finest on 'Heaven Hell' and 'Mob Rules' - melodic, fluid, fast and rhythmic. What a shame to downplay that on this remaster.

The new tracks are growers - epecially 'The Devil Cried' - it would have been nice to have a whole new album but I'm just grateful this incarnation of Sabbath are back for a tour under a new name.

Ronnie James Dios voice sounds very slightly brittle on the new ones. It's a subtle thing but you notice after hearing the earlier tracks where the guy just had enourmous power. It's no suprise given Dios age and he can still blows most guys half his age away.

In conclusion if you love this line up - buy this album for the three new tracks. If this line up is new to you, then start with the remasted 'Heaven and Hell' which IMO is better sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dio Black, 6 Nov 2011
By 
Duncan McDonald "Dunk" (Dundee) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dio Years (Audio CD)
This collection of Dio's time with Black Sabbath is superb and servies to illustrate his vocal talents.

Half of the album comes from Heaven and Hell and Mob Rules. One track from Live Evil, three from Dehumaniser and three new tracks for the album which presumably serve as an intro to the then, forthcoming, Heaven And Hell band. The tracks are in order and you can sense the changes in musical style as you progress through the album.

Another great rock album that highlights Dio's talents as a rock god.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dio Years
The Dio Years by Black Sabbath (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews