Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome!
This collection is perfect both for those of us who don't have a large hip hop collection and for those who'd like a 'greatest hits' style to sing along to in the car!
It has most tracks that you'd want such as 'Jump Around' or 'Push It' as well as the ones you'd forgotten all about such as 'Gangsta's Paradise' or Witness (1 Hope)'
I'd definately recommend it -...
Published on 17 April 2008 by H. wiltshire

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mainly East Coast, But Gooood.....
Reminisce is a collection of genre based albums for those who seriously like that particular genre. Being quite a fan of US hip hop over the years, I look a took at this, and couldn't stop my hand pointing the mouse to "add to basket", it looks so inviting. Who could say no to KRS-One's brilliant "MC's Act Like They Don't Know" and A Tribe Called Quest's ecellent "Jazz...
Published on 26 Aug 2003 by DL Productions UK


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Mainly East Coast, But Gooood....., 26 Aug 2003
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reminisce is a collection of genre based albums for those who seriously like that particular genre. Being quite a fan of US hip hop over the years, I look a took at this, and couldn't stop my hand pointing the mouse to "add to basket", it looks so inviting. Who could say no to KRS-One's brilliant "MC's Act Like They Don't Know" and A Tribe Called Quest's ecellent "Jazz (We've Got It)"?
CD 1 starts off with EMPD's hardcore "Headbanger", which is a classic - Eric Sermon's rhymes hit the mic like he was hitting a boxer in a ring, not stopping for a break.
Then when you think "how are they going to get out of this great start?", they throw in Mobb Deep's infamous "Shok Ones Part 2", which in itself is an excellent view on a young person living in Queens, Prodigy never slipping, represneting Queens how he knows best.
The rest of the CD is pretty much as good, Onyx being quite hardcore, Wu Tang with brassic beats and Nas with "Nas Is Like", which is an excellently produced DJ Premier piece, with it's old skool sound and Nas talking about what he's like. Other moments of joy include the excellent Fat Joe, The Beatnuts and of course, Eric B & Rankim.
CD 2 has a pretty explosive entrance, Redman and his smash "Time For Some Action", with it's hardcore beats and rhymes. The fun doesn't end there : Jay-Z and the infamous Notorious BIG, with his smooth style and his casual rhymes, Mobb Deep hitting back with Quiet Storm, which is an atmospheric look on what happens if you fall foul of gangsters. Other greats include LL Cool J - who comes back with one of his hardest tracks he's ever done; Xzibit's excellent "Paparazi", which is excellently moody with violins and soulful singing; and also UK's finest - Blak Twang.
I think this is one of the best hip hop CDs I have heard this year, compilation wise, it's not pop-like, no Eminem or Nelly for those purists too, and pleanty of attitude. This shows us the best of hip hop, and this is some good stuff. Beats are excellent, rhymes concise, and altogether a pleasure to the ear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome!, 17 April 2008
By 
H. wiltshire "Delivery Girl" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hip Hop Classics (Audio CD)
This collection is perfect both for those of us who don't have a large hip hop collection and for those who'd like a 'greatest hits' style to sing along to in the car!
It has most tracks that you'd want such as 'Jump Around' or 'Push It' as well as the ones you'd forgotten all about such as 'Gangsta's Paradise' or Witness (1 Hope)'
I'd definately recommend it - I've already got one copy and I'm now gonna buy one for a friend cos she keeps borrowing mine!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 90's - hip hop's golden age, 10 Aug 2010
By 
Dr. Blake "Blakey" (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album won't be for everyone but I thought it was great. Being a big fan of the golden age of hip hop (the 90's home boy) this did the business. Right from the outset you've got EPMD and Mobb Deep and Cypress Hill - big tunes. You've also got the under-rated Black Sheep on there! Gotta love those boys.

Both CD's have got some bangers on there. If you're a hip hop completist I would tell you to buy this. Amazon's got it pretty cheap at the moment so take advantage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This album is wicked., 17 July 2003
This is definitley one of the best hip hop albums i have ever heard. Although sum of the songs are a bit too old school 4 me, they are all great. From the great beats in songs like 'Nas is Like' To Xzibits messages bout the price of fame in 'Papparazi' Any true hip hop fan should buy yhis album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BEST HIPHOP ALBUM EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 12 May 2003
Ear me now gangstas if ya like hiphop den dis is da new hottest ting t buy. Its slammin aii,itl av ya bouncin on ya feet for hours aii. peace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ..............oh god, 5 April 2007
This review is from: Hip Hop Classics (Audio CD)
personally as a hip hop fan i am offended to the maximum at titles like these.. seriously this CD only appeals to the 1st layer of fans and thats it.. think about it, how many of these "classics" have you already seen on different albums? its pathetic, and the ones that dont feature the same songs have different songs from the same artist that arnt really classics anyway, just to have a littl versatility. Dont get me wrong they do have SOME classics ill agree, but the same ones appear on every album like this, why buy the exact same album with little change again and again? Im not going to prance around saying which artists i think you should listen to or say your favorite rapper is wack, becuase its not what its about everyone has their own tastes but all im saying is look deeper into hip hop than what theses wanky buisnesses try to churn out every couple of years... classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hip Hop Classics
Hip Hop Classics by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews