Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome..., 30 Mar 2007
This review is from: Brianstorm (Audio CD)
...is just about the only word that sums up 'Brianstorm'. The Arctic Monkeys are officially back, and don't we love it?

I think there was a serious amount of pressure on the follow up track, after the ground breaking debut album "Whatever people say I am..."(I know they released 'Leave before the lights...' subsequently, but you get my dift), but the lads have succeeded with style. I for one am please to see the Monkeys revert back to the sort of raucous rock'n'roll that they do best at. 'Brianstorm' is the perfect return for the perfect band.

As usual the lyrics are flawless, packed with satirical brilliance and the sort of lines that make them the band they are. "We can't take our eyes off the t-shirts and ties combination, well see you later innovater!" - GENIUS. It seems so simple, but it works so well. Every detail, down to the title is simply awesome!!

I cannot wait for the album, but 'Brianstorm' will more than do for the time being.

YES!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars temptation greets you like your naughty friend, 13 July 2007
By 
BJ (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brianstorm (Audio CD)
This is worth it for "Temptation" alone. Why is it that other band's lyrics just pass me by, while the Arctics' words just grab me by the lapel and make me listen? When Dizzee Rascal pops up at the end of "Temptation" and lets rip over the oh-so-tight punk/funk rhythm, it just makes perfect sense... Absolutely brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious Return, 5 April 2007
By 
Mr. J. Milton "jambo234" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brianstorm (Audio CD)
"You are the un-forecasted storm"

Did anybody really predict this?

Did anybody really expect the Arctic Monkeys to return with a single to stand up proud along with the likes of those on their debut album?

Really?

After they gained the biggest reputation a band has ever gained after the release of one album, they were under more pressure than they would have expected prior to the release of "Whatever...".

Could they handle that kind of pressure? Could any band handle that kind of pressure?

They handled it suspiciously well.

To say that "Brianstorm" is just a return to form would be like saying that Steven Gerrard's just a decent footballer.

It probably is just a very good song, not excellent, definitely not perfection, but what makes this treat even sweeter is the fact that it's the Arctic Monkeys, showing the world that they are one very special band, ready for anything.

The most pleasing element is the music that is played by the four-piece, not the vocals. Going at what seems like 1000BPM, the guitar pushes its way into the front and dominates the proceedings.

As for the vocals provided by Alex Turner, they are more laid back than previous material, more relaxed, but certainly not bone idle. "Top marks for not trying" are words that are spoken by the musician, but they're an antonym to how much the Arctic Monkeys have tried to top what they've already produced, to come out with a song that will hush all the critics who wanted them to slip up in the slippery puddle of stardom.

But they haven't failed, quite the opposite.

Expect to see the word "Brianstorm" in your Oxford Dictionaries come next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brianstorm, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brianstorm [7" VINYL] (Vinyl)
Great single from FWN. Took a while to come but well worth the wait. B sides by Arctic Monkeys are always a pleasure and this was no different!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this!!!!!!!!!!!, 24 April 2007
This review is from: Brianstorm (Audio CD)
If you have the album buy this!!!!!!!!!!!

You must because one of the best songs yet, what if you were right the first time is on this.

Add to this the other two top songs and this is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's certainly a grower..., 7 April 2007
By 
N. Scarlett "Student" (Leeds, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brianstorm (Audio CD)
I must hold my hands up and confess, when I first heard this on the radio, I was disappointed, I thought the Monkey's had lost their touch, I was all but ready to sell my tickets to see them in Manchester in July. This wasn't up there with the classic first album, heck, it wasn't even up there with the recent single, Leave Before The Lights Come On.

I was wrong.

Upon a few listens, it's a great song. Typical Monkey's sound, and lyrics sharp as ever. It's not as instantly catchy and memorable as the likes of WHen The Sun Goes Down, but then, what is, it's a grower, and if the rest of the new album is this good we're all in for a treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Return!, 7 Mar 2007
By 
G. L. Williams "simplygregguk" (South West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brianstorm (Audio CD)
I heard this track a few days back and it rekindled my love for the monkeys! Their first album came out in January 2006 and it blew me away but a lot of time has passed since then. However, this single marks a stomping return for the band and it should be a favourite among many by the time it is released. The song has a brilliant structure and a really catchy guitar riff. Alex Turner's vocals are even better than before!

This is another great song by the Arctic Monkeys and the album won't be that bad either!

Buy this, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars there back, 21 Mar 2007
This review is from: Brianstorm (Audio CD)
yes the arctic monkeys are back and from what i herd oin this song there louder and faster than ever before

this is a brilliant son although im not sure it is up 2 the standard of the debut album but then again not alot is

in this song the vocals have been produced diffently in a way similar to the strokes album is this is

still a brillaint song so buy it u wont regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brianstorm [10" VINYL]
Brianstorm [10" VINYL] by Arctic Monkeys (Vinyl - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews