Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adventurous
Cocorosie have always been weird -- their first album was utterly bizarre, and so was their second.

But their creepy freakfolk sound is taken a step further in their third album, "The Adventures Of Ghosthorse And Stillborn." The sister duo's sound is more polished and complex in this one, but remains eerie, bizarre and enticing -- like a fantastical child's...
Published on 20 April 2007 by E. A Solinas

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Pop
'la maison de mon reve' has been called 'a children's scrapbook, a very apt compliment. Songs like 'Jesus Loves Me' are both beautiful and satirycal. As above said, the songs that are first appealing start to grate. Really accomplished music should only grow, one should start to appreciate and understand the beauty in every off-key, but in songs like 'Rainbowworriors'...
Published on 18 Jan 2009 by Ms. J. Eckersley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adventurous, 20 April 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Cocorosie have always been weird -- their first album was utterly bizarre, and so was their second.

But their creepy freakfolk sound is taken a step further in their third album, "The Adventures Of Ghosthorse And Stillborn." The sister duo's sound is more polished and complex in this one, but remains eerie, bizarre and enticing -- like a fantastical child's dream.

It opens with Bianca crooning "Of aaaaaalllll the white horses," over rattly maraca, keening guitar, chittering birds and a smooth keyboard melody. But by nature it's hip-hop oriented, with some childlike rapping:

"He's moved a little nearer/to the master of our laughter/to the master of our song... then we gathered in a circle/still drown the rainbow fire/burning amber's not united/we remember mystical beauty." It's gloriously catchy, but kept from being merely poppy by all those odd sounds and extra melodies.

Things get less openly catchy with the songs that follow -- skittering ambient rap, clattering pop tunes that are crammed with keyboard tones and scratchy samples, music-box ballads, wistful little meandering freakfolk tunes, and delicate guitar pop with a soaring keyboard edge.

The music in "The Adventures Of Ghosthorse And Stillborn" is almost TOO full at times, like a dusty room filled with old dolls and ornate toys. But it's never predictable -- there's always a weird new melody draped in oddball sounds for them. You never even have the chance to get bored.

The instrumentation is a bit more electronically oriented this time around, with waves of organ and keyboard over the smooth piano, rattly drums and ringing guitar. Sometimes these girls throw in some random samples (is that a duck?), bicycle bells, and some toy instruments -- it's a little cluttered, but it makes every song wildly unpredictable.

The songs are just as unpredictable -- sometimes silly, somtimes somber. They're filled with crystals, rollercoasters, werewolves, witches, wanting to go to Japan, and girls who talk to geese. All these are sung in Bianca's versatile voice, which can flip from opera to rap, and back to a high, rambling crack-pixie voice.

Cocorosie go into stranger, eerie territory with their polished third album, a checkered mix of freakfolk and crazy pop. Definitely a must-listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We are rainbow warriors, 9 April 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Cocorosie have always been weird -- their first album was utterly bizarre, and so was their second.

But their creepy freakfolk sound is taken a step further in their third album, "The Adventures Of Ghosthorse And Stillborn." The sister duo's sound is more polished and complex in this one, but remains eerie, bizarre and enticing -- like a fantastical child's dream.

It opens with Bianca crooning "Of aaaaaalllll the white horses," over rattly maraca, keening guitar, chittering birds and a smooth keyboard melody. But by nature it's hip-hop oriented, with some childlike rapping:

"He's moved a little nearer/to the master of our laughter/to the master of our song... then we gathered in a circle/still drown the rainbow fire/burning amber's not united/we remember mystical beauty." It's gloriously catchy, but kept from being merely poppy by all those odd sounds and extra melodies.

Things get less openly catchy with the songs that follow -- skittering ambient rap, clattering pop tunes that are crammed with keyboard tones and scratchy samples, music-box ballads, wistful little meandering freakfolk tunes, and delicate guitar pop with a soaring keyboard edge.

The music in "The Adventures Of Ghosthorse And Stillborn" is almost TOO full at times, like a dusty room filled with old dolls and ornate toys. But it's never predictable -- there's always a weird new melody draped in oddball sounds for them. You never even have the chance to get bored.

The instrumentation is a bit more electronically oriented this time around, with waves of organ and keyboard over the smooth piano, rattly drums and ringing guitar. Sometimes these girls throw in some random samples (is that a duck?), bicycle bells, and some toy instruments -- it's a little cluttered, but it makes every song wildly unpredictable.

The songs are just as unpredictable -- sometimes silly, somtimes somber. They're filled with crystals, rollercoasters, werewolves, witches, wanting to go to Japan, and girls who talk to geese. All these are sung in Bianca's versatile voice, which can flip from opera to rap, and back to a high, rambling crack-pixie voice.

Cocorosie go into stranger, eerie territory with their polished third album, a checkered mix of freakfolk and crazy pop. Definitely a must-listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Rainbowarriors Charge Through, 28 April 2007
CocoRosie is a duo I hadn't really heard of but after a friend lending their album "La Maison De Mon Reve" and loving the song "By Your Side" I impulsively bought their third studio album. "The Adventures Of Ghosthorse & Stillborn" is an eclectic,spooky,cute and damn right weird collection of songs which almost play out like a story which is enjoyable throughout although, it's not without some minor faults.

'Rainbowarriors' is a very cute song almost like it was supposed to be the theme music to a cartoon, the lyrics are just totally nuts and i love it, it almost plays out like a story of the Rainbowarriors, battling against evil (Saint Noni). Bianca & Sierra's voices are very unique and compliment the crazy beat thats sounds like a mixture of random sounds with a little hip-hop and i whole load of originality very cool song. 'Promise' follows the same strange suit starts off with indian sounding instruments with somewhat sonar-like beat the vocals are more spoken word much like the first track almost like shes rapping but its cool i like this one with the breathy singing in the background and the thumping drum make it almost sexy!

'Bloody Twins' is pretty short and reminded me of Bjork's album 'Vespertine' the song "Frosti" came to mind as they also use a musicbox like Bjork did which is beautiful with the harrowing,haunting vocals a la Joanna Newsom-esque

which goes into the ethereal 'Japan' which i agree with the other reviewer it does have a reggae undertone also fairground music came to mind.

'Sunshine' took a while for me to get into the start is odd, the thing i admire about Bianca & Sierra is the way they love to experiment with almost anything they can get their hands on, I'm not much of a fan of this one but i admire the originality of it.

'Black Poppies' is a sad song but I got to admit i did have trouble understanding the words and theyre a bit disturbing i didn't like the lyric "warm kittens close to the earth/underground bodies with no sound" poor kittens.

'Werewolf is one of my favourites I just love the way they sing it's like a cross between Billy Holiday/Bjork and Beth Gibbons, I starts with spoken word commentary which sounds very spooky (which seems to be an on going theme throughout the album,Halloween like)

'Animals' is a six minute giddy fest unlike the lullaby state of the creepy 'houses

'Raphael' is very enjoyable with the marching drum loop and subtle strings overlaying the paranoid-like vocals give it a mysterious feel to it.

The close 'Miracle' is precious sounds like someone playing guitar underwater it's pretty cool reminded me alot of Goldfrapp

the lyrics are somewhat abstract in Cocorosie fashion but i almost get the feeling like narrator is reminiscing on her first love when she was very young, during a more innocent time when little things like a kiss in the back seat meant so much i loved it a great way to end the album.

Top 5

1.Rainbowarriors

2.Werewolf

3.Japan

4.Miracle

5.Raphael

If you love abstract music a fan of Bjork,Joanna Newsom then i do recommend this if your a little apprehensive preview the album first it's definately not for everyone but for those who are into it it's a pretty good album, not as good as thier debut with the alluring song 'By Your Side'. Great album maybe a bit too ahead of it's time? who knows but I know i enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Their best, 3 Jan 2012
As a whole, I think this album is their best, with the bastard daughter of hip hop elements that I always loved so much in their earlier albums more prominent, yet still the freak-folk, lo-fi haziness dominant. Whoever called this pop is evidently not up to date with pop music, as this sounds nothing like anything else out there. It's fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Odd title and content but a solid effort, 23 Aug 2010
Lyrically, the content can be a bit odd and I would advise that before purchasing the album you listen to a few songs by the band (supposing you havn't yet). The duo have extremely different voices, one sounding like a 'rugrat' (as someone else described) and the other being a profesionally trained opera singer. Nevertheless, the two rap/sing well either in synch with one another or individually as they do across the expanse of the album. It took a few listens for me to really appreciate it and not all the songs seem too clever or well put together in my opinion. One such being 'Japan', with its easily put togetehr rhymes and slightly distasteful lyrics; '...then they rape you/but you like it so just say thank you'. Even for an album with 'Stillborn' in the title, i was suprised by the lack of dignity there... In any case, the song blasts a very nursery sounding chorus but mid-way through turns into quite a beautiful sounding opera song before turning back to drivel. This is not the case with the whole album though, and is really the only song that I wouldn't want to listen to. Whilst it might be possible to bring in comparisons to bjork and others, the two have really moulded a sound that is entirely their own. They deal with subjects such as love, fitting in and even abuse but it brings together a varied mix of sounds and nostalgia that makes it really a very good album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Pop, 18 Jan 2009
By 
Ms. J. Eckersley (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
'la maison de mon reve' has been called 'a children's scrapbook, a very apt compliment. Songs like 'Jesus Loves Me' are both beautiful and satirycal. As above said, the songs that are first appealing start to grate. Really accomplished music should only grow, one should start to appreciate and understand the beauty in every off-key, but in songs like 'Rainbowworriors' further listening only reveals its simple pop sound. In 'the girl and the geese' what in other albums would have been a sinister and humourous story is instead a pretentious little story simply attempting to be 'new-weird'. I listen to a lot of hip-hop but their use of it is evidence that they have classical not hip-hop influences.
Coco rosie are original, profoundly funny and beautiful. But this album is not that. Look elsewhere if you are serious about music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Smoky, Spooky, Surreal, 24 Nov 2008
More grown up, still holding on to that inexplicable childlike recklessness as mangled on the critically acclaimed debut. Anthony of the Johnsons fame contributed his delicate vocals to the previous set of tunes, while this is strictly set in a darker terrain, unexplainable and intricately detailed like a spider web, it is spooky and smoky and what is so surprising is the pulling of the strings in the emotional department. The tinkling, shivering tunes are magically fastened to a baby cot of creativity in the writing, surreal and incredible. What Tom Waits conjures up in his lyrics in its unusual earthy mood is the closest these girls come to achieving gold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Make Up Your Own Mind, 22 April 2007
By 
IWFIcon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
AKA the album where Cocorosie go "hip-hop". Kind of.

What I can tell you is that you'll certainly not hear another album like this during 2007.

Rainbowarriors and Promise are hiphop, albeit under a different name, Bloody Twins and Houses feature operatic voices, whilst Japan whisks us along on Dancehall reggae beat. And hell, we've not even got to the cacophony of kazoo's, the prevalence of irritating bicycle bells and a guest appearance by Anthony (without the Johnsons).

Whether all of this is any good is a difficult thing to say. There's no accounting for taste, as they say, and I can imagine people both raving about this one and absolutely hating it.

Me? Well, there were tracks I liked that soon became grating; there were tracks I dismissed on the first listen which actually grew greatly on me. There were tracks I couldn't get into at all. It's a mixed bag and really nothing else than listening to it yourself can give you any real impression of if it's "for" you or not.

And if that's sitting on the fence, so be it! :-D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bland Coco, 28 Jun 2007
By 
CocoRosie's first album was home made, experimental, left field and fun. Their second brought more polish, higher production values but still kept a playfulness and pleasantly gauche quality. This release now though I found horribly predictable and bland. Very disappointed with this release, stuff like "Rainbow Warriors" is just half-baked and, hard to avoid the word when discussing the album, bland. If you're coming to CocoRosie for the first time, you won't go wrong with either of their two earlier albums but steer clear of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaef45954)

This product

The Adventures of Ghosthorse.. [VINYL]
The Adventures of Ghosthorse.. [VINYL] by CocoRosie (Vinyl - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews