Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Echoing C. H. Turnbull's Review, 6 April 2007
By 
Rog "Rog" (Staffordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Glory Road (Audio CD)
Sometimes you come to write about something, be it a CD or a book for example, and words fail you.

This is one of those occasions for me! An absolutely brillant album, buy it, listen to it, enjoy it! It's been a very long time since music like this was around. Gillan at their very best!

The second disc is humourous in places (music aside) and definitely for Gillan Fans Only, but to be honest, at this price, you would pay twice the price for disc one alone! Glory Road is THE Gillan album - if you don't buy any of the others, do yourself a favour and buy this one.

I've given five stars only because Amazon won't let me give it ten!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Gillan....at long last!, 21 Mar. 2007
This review is from: Glory Road (Audio CD)
I've been waiting a long, long tIme for this to become available on CD again having missed out on the CD issue first time around (which promptly disappeared soon after). This in my humble opinion is the Gillan to own - the Man's voice is in top form, brilliant guitar playing from Bernie Torme and not a dud song in sight! And it comes complete with the original For Gillan Fans Only album (plus 2 tracks). At this price an absolute steal! Treat yourself to some classic 80's Ian Gillan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unchain your brain and enjoy!, 21 Aug. 2010
By 
Mr. G. G. Geddes "bearded" (tarves aberdeenshire scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glory Road (Audio CD)
the best gillan album by miles.they sound like they were having a riot of a time while recording it.amazing guitar from mr torme a very under-estimated axeman.well worth purchasing.in my case, i think this may be the third format i`ve bought this album in.still sounds good after all these years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A momorable introduction to this superb album., 14 Jun. 2007
By 
Mr. P. J. R. LEWIS (Llandudno N Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Glory Road (Audio CD)
I can vividly remember playing the original vinyl version of this superb album and it encouraged me to buy many more of his excellent albums especially Clear Air Turbulance which has that rich Deep Purple influence melody to it.

Strangely enough this syle of music has a seventies feel to it but feels contemporary.

Until you listen to this highly accomplished album you willnot realise how good the songs and melodies are.Its a difficult album to describe but if you like Deep Purple with a folk ballad type heavy rock then you will understand how good the album is.

The track Glory Road is a superb one but prabably the song Gillan was remembered for was the commercial track New Orleans which was released as a single when vinyl was still King.

Of all Gillans albums this is his best and this is a double disc album with a lot more excellent songs.

I have not listened to any of my Gillan albums for many years but his voice is so distinctive you know instantly who it is and what a fine voice especially when he fronted Deep Purple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars gillans road to glory, 18 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glory Road (Audio CD)
had album years ago, loaned it out to so called friend-he never returned it, the dirtbag. Anyhow now got it cd, good album,"unchain your brain" high tempo opener. Classics like "nervous","running white faced city boy","on the rocks" never disappoint. 4star marking due to disc not mastered sharp enough could of been a bit cleaner clarity wise.Nevertheless a good album ,good extras (for gillan fans only cd & factual booklet) well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super, 14 Mar. 2013
By 
Patrick Mahieu (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glory Road (Audio CD)
It' was one of the first hard-rock records I bought when I was young.
I'm glad I could find at Amazon this record on CD.
All the tracks put me back when I was young and I could remember every song.
So far as I know, It was the first solo-album of Ian Gillan afther the end of Deep Purple.
The songs are amazing, nice composed and demand your attention from the first guitar-stroke to the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As good today as its always been, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glory Road (Audio CD)
Went to see Gillan on this tour at the "Hammy Odeon" back in the day. I still have the LP but nothing to play it on.
This is a great Album, great to hear it again.
get it and "Unchain your Brain"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Welcome return, 13 Jun. 2009
By 
Czech's Mate (Wellingborough UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Glory Road (Audio CD)
I first owned this album on vinyl when it was originally released and was worried that like many early 80's rock bands it would not have stood the test of time. Fortunately, it does and remains as good as it was when it was first released. Gillan's vocals are excellent and the excellent Bernie Torme on guitar still impresses, but what I had forgotten was the superb keyboard work of Colin Towns.

The Standout track has to be On the Rocks which really showcases the band at the top of their game.

With a bonus album (for gillan fans only) packaged with it, this is excellent value and well worth a listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Trip down memory lane, 11 Oct. 2011
By 
G. H. Kennedy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Glory Road (Audio CD)
Replaces the old vinyl copy in the attic - the studiop versions are slightly slower than the live maniac paced versions - good fun to hear this again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We never needed it so bad . Hooray for Gillan., 10 May 2014
This review is from: Glory Road (Audio CD)
Real heavy rock/metal for real men / chicks the band let rip and Gillan delivers ; never mind his previous bands this is the one that counts ; every note inspires metal heads to raise their fists and yell ; every track stands out in its own right ; its fresh ,its fast, its heavy and most of all its exciting something so lacking in rock till this came along ; it may be 1981 it really don't mean a thing as this peach of an album is a timeless milestone in complete heavy metal commitment. Maximus Metalicus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Glory Road
Glory Road by Ian Gillan (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews