Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beach Boys or what?!
This album is really beautiful. Sounds like Pet Sounds/Smile but not in a corny, derivative way. It has a similar warm spiritual sound, only with loads of weird samples and loops. Great to listen to out walking on a sunny day, and the cover art is excellent too.
Published on 22 Feb 2007 by B. Kirchner

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really getting it
Has some moments, but after trying a lot to see if there's more beneath the surface I'm not sure there is. I do like the way it shifts between tracks though, so there's no sense of any 'songs' on the album. Which is interesting enough in a way. 3 (more 2.5) but giving it the benefit of the doubt.
Published on 6 Feb 2008 by Mr Boxplayer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sung from a flying fortress high in the sky, 11 April 2007
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Person Pitch (Audio CD)
Any band who list -as Panda Bear do on the insert sleeve -influences such as Scott Walker, Ennio Morricone, The Beach Boys, Vashti Bunyan ,ELO, The Chills are as far as I'm concerned a band that needs to be heard. ....though I think they are pushing it a bit by counting Phil Collins in their as well .

Panda Bear is actually Noah Lennox, a member of The Animal Collective ensemble .While their avant-folk is based around some sort of pastoral affinity Panda Bear are far more in tune with more spiritual concerns , or at least that's how it sounds. The whole thing seems to be have been sung from some point high in the atmosphere where the vocals and to some extent the instrumentation has been rendered hazy and reverb heavy , as if the music's been filtered through the ozone layer and stripped of it's immediacy in the process. That's not a bad thing by the way .

The songs on Person Pitch are constructed , assembled , insert your own verb here from looped samples, and snippets of found sounds-trains rattling by, owls hooting , ephemeral snatches of conversation - some run backwards ,including vocal lines. It's psychedelic and yet has definitive connections with the repetitive nature of much electronic and ambient music while sounding curiously analog and organic.

The thing that really elevates Person Pitch are the multi-lapping vocal harmonies which are obviously where The Beach Boy comparisons come in . "Bros" , a twelve minute anthem that starts with the sort of choral epiphanies Brain Wilson made his mane with then over furiously strummed chords the track takes in influences as diverse as Lee Scratch Perry , hard edged techno and The Stone Roses "Don't Stop". "I'm Not" is this approach but minimalist , with only fleeting tapping percussion and an eerie synth drone like a bronchial whale inhaling . "Good Girl/Carrots " is shepherded in with frantic Tablas and is a bit of a mess for the first five minutes but then Lennox's voice breaks through the miasma for a another glorious harmonic interlude before going all dub heavy for the last third. Most approachable track is the opener "Comfy In Nautica" but "Search For Delicious" could be a Hans Joachim Roedelius or Harold Budd while "Pony Tail" is lovely brief piano keyboard led intermission. "Take Pills" integrates elements of everything.

Person Pitch sounds like it's sung from a flying fortress high in the sky or that is filtering through from another dimension with it's otherworldly and spookily dissonant instrumentation ( at times) diametrically opposed to the lavish tunes of the vocals but i think i,ve been here earlier in the review...forgive me , it,s that sort of album. Other times it's a perfect harmonic melding like The Beach Boys(Yes them again) -but remixed alternately by The Avalanches and Techno Animal . Whatever it's influences this album transcends many of them ...without doubt Person Pitch will be one of the most extraordinary albums released this year if not the most extraordinary .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wilson made 'Smile' this will make you smile, 25 Mar 2007
By 
D. Salmon "domski1969" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Person Pitch (Audio CD)
more proof of why the UK music scene is so rubbish. this is true innovation, yes it's rooted in the past, but avoids nostalgia by using the harmonies of the beach boys, reverb drenched sounds of Spector (yes that one), the tape loops of Never Knows beatles and the studio wizardry of purple patch Lee Perry to give electronic music a transcendentally beautiful leap forward.

what's the cutting edge of Brit music? Another 4 skinny cookie cutter indie kids singing about chip shops over the riff from the Knack's 'My Sherona'.

this at least offers some escape from that reality-TV like 'gritty' 70s rooted groundhog garbage. you know i've heard Sham 69, and they weren't all that, so GIVE IT A REST!

ultimately, this is what a Christmas album produced by David Lynch would sound like. What's not to like?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really getting it, 6 Feb 2008
This review is from: Person Pitch (Audio CD)
Has some moments, but after trying a lot to see if there's more beneath the surface I'm not sure there is. I do like the way it shifts between tracks though, so there's no sense of any 'songs' on the album. Which is interesting enough in a way. 3 (more 2.5) but giving it the benefit of the doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Genius Or..., 8 Sep 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Person Pitch (Audio CD)
This is an album you'll either love or hate.
Sheer Genius or Extremely Boring...
I think it's Genius - very helpfully, he lists his influences on the CD cover and I can identify with a lot of them. But this isn't music I'd expect to result from those influences! Which makes it very interesting...
Yes, the Beach Boys spring to mind but you need to warp them 40 years into the future...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Self Defeating, 14 Jan 2008
By 
N. Beattie (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Person Pitch (Audio CD)
This is half/good half bad. Many tracks appear to be composed of two tracks, one half is a random mish mash of nonsense, back wards tracks and noise the other half being the song itself. It could be padding but i doubt it, pretentious art maybe, doesn't really matter when the end effect is a aural nuisance hiding the gem 5 minutes through the track.

Given that i'd still recommend it, if it's cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dancing about architecture, 12 Dec 2007
By 
This review is from: Person Pitch (Audio CD)
Ok so I'm not likely to listen to EVERYTHING released in 2007. And let's face it I'm only going to listen to albums I think i've got a good chance of liking, so that cuts out loads that I might actually have liked but thought I wouldn't so didn't listen to them thereby missing that obscure gem that might have surprised me. But notwithstanding that, at more or less the end of the year, this is my choice as album of the year.

I won't bother trying to describe it as it's pointless. Just get a copy and listen to it. Somethings can't be put into words, but how Noah Lennox knows the things he knows at his age is quite astounding. Bros seems to be most peoples favourite track but I would plump for Good Girl/Carrots which starts off as some form of Bangra, flows into West Coast beach music before morphing into a dub track and finishing with an ice-cream van. And I would also like to put a good word in for "Search for delicious" which somehow evokes Saturday morning matinees at the cinema followed by a cup of that odd coffee at a Lyons corner cafe. Its all Bakelite and sugar dispensers.

Wonderful

For what it's worth in no order these are the others in the top ten

Boxer - The National
In Rainbows - Radiohead
Shepherds Dog - Iron & Wine
Sweet Warrior - Richard Thompson
Myth Takes - !!!
Liars - Liars
Wincing The Night Away - The Shins
The Sound Of Silver - LCD Soundsystem
Smokey Rolls Down Thunder Canyon - Devendra Banhart
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Heaven's above, 2 Dec 2007
By 
This review is from: Person Pitch (Audio CD)
I had to write this as a sister piece to J. Kershaw's review - whilst I agree with the rating of 1 star I cannot concur with the description which makes it sound rather interesting...

...which this album is not by any stretch of the imagination. Dull dull dull is all that comes to mind. I'm a great lover of abstract music, so I'm not unfamiliar with the idea of music not doing much. But unfortunatley this record doesn't do much in a very dull insipid way.

Great name and cover though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Emotional rollercoaster, 21 Sep 2007
By 
Tonysan (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Person Pitch (Audio CD)
After reading the reviews I procured this......thing. Inserting it into my CD player my rollercoaster began. At first mild pink bubble-gummy puzzlement, this developed into anguish with a touch of irritation, before developing into a full blown rage filled hubba-bubba nightmare, and before the CD was out I collapsed into a quivering despair at the capability of man to produce such vacuous horror.

The best way to describe the appalling excuse for humanity that produced this drivel is to describe what might have brought somebody into that dark dark empty place required to have the capability to make this: Picture a troop of chanting devout evangelical troglodytic Monks, who's water supply is contaminated with bad LSD (the type that gives you a bad trip) - these Monks then come across a stereo containing a taped version of Good Vibrations by B-Boys, this is then played to them on loop for 10 years non-stop, they are then given a record deal.

One song midway through starts showing potential, a west african drum beat starts getting a bit of tapping going, and has some potential interest.......but that same beat with nothing else then repeats for over a minutes - until it stops, only to be replaced with that horrific bubblegum beach boy chanting. Please shun this band, for it is time you will never every get back - I actually felt bad dropping this off at CD exchange, feeling sorrow for the poor soul that came across it next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Emperor's new clothes, 4 Sep 2007
This review is from: Person Pitch (Audio CD)
Contrary to the glowing reviews below I find this album totally boring. Seems jsut like the sort of pretentious stuff that Pitchfork Media reviews give 10/10 to - this is not a good thing by the way. Sounds like downgraded, badly recorded Beach Boys with some samples of a door slamming or whatever added to the first 10 seconds of each track. I'm sure some people think this is "trippy" but it's not. It's boring. And the samples aren't even well produced. I've listened to 100's of ambient electronic tracks that do such things much, much better.

I don't think being (supposedly) "different" is the same as being good. N
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Life's Too Short For This., 1 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: Person Pitch (Audio CD)
Lauded by the so-called "critics" in the end of year polls etc. In reality it's awful. It's what Brian Wilson might have sounded like if he had no talent - and could only muster up two chords up for every song. One of the songs is 12 minutes long!!! - a little too long? - about 12 minutes too bloody long! The whole album's a cut and paste laptop special. I would suggest to people, who think this is good, to go and listen to Smile, Pet Sounds, Sunflower, Surf's Up et al - and then decide whether this compares. Life's too short to waste it listening to inferior, derivative, droning rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Person Pitch
Person Pitch by Panda Bear (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews