Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beach Boys or what?!
This album is really beautiful. Sounds like Pet Sounds/Smile but not in a corny, derivative way. It has a similar warm spiritual sound, only with loads of weird samples and loops. Great to listen to out walking on a sunny day, and the cover art is excellent too.
Published on 22 Feb 2007 by B. Kirchner

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really getting it
Has some moments, but after trying a lot to see if there's more beneath the surface I'm not sure there is. I do like the way it shifts between tracks though, so there's no sense of any 'songs' on the album. Which is interesting enough in a way. 3 (more 2.5) but giving it the benefit of the doubt.
Published on 6 Feb 2008 by Mr Boxplayer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beach Boys or what?!, 22 Feb 2007
By 
B. Kirchner - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Person Pitch (Audio CD)
This album is really beautiful. Sounds like Pet Sounds/Smile but not in a corny, derivative way. It has a similar warm spiritual sound, only with loads of weird samples and loops. Great to listen to out walking on a sunny day, and the cover art is excellent too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars when my soul starts glowing, 6 Mar 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Person Pitch (Audio CD)
While I adore Panda Bear's work in the Animal Collective, I just never warmed up to "Young Prayer." It was too simple, too meandering.

Fortunately the same is not true of the follow-up, "Person Pitch," which adds some extra sonic dimension to Panda Bear's strange melodies. Where once his music was spare and almost painfully lo-fi, now it's a shimmering, bizarre, otherworldly extravaganza, like a hazy-eyed circus.

It opens with a rattling, fluttering noise, like a kitchen appliance right before it dies. It gets joined in by the sound of marching, a lion roaring, and voices raised in wordless song. It sounds like a happy, cheerful revolution.

Over those sounds, Panda Bear sings rather distantly, "Try to tell me how to do it/only because I'm new to here/coolness is having courage/courage to do what's right/I'll try to remember always/just to have a good time/good time good time good time..."

The songs that follow are much the same -- stately tambourine pop, an acoustic indiepop number that sounds like it was played underwater, swirling cacophonies, shimmering vocal pop, tribal beats, ethereal ambient stuff, and finally the soft, unsure, shimmering "Ponytail" with its distant vocals.

And he sprinkles it with plenty of other stuff -- sirens, bubbling water, descending planes, owls hooting, and basically whatever odd, appropriate sounds work in these songs. Perhaps the main problem is that it's full of double songs that would have worked better if they had been cut into separate tracks.

But it shows that Panda Bear is adept at swirling, bizarrely otherworldly music. The music here is more ethereal and less earthy than his Animal Collective work -- rather than a crazy acid trip or a tribal party (although we do get some wild tribal beats), this music sounds like a gentle dream of peace and shimmering skies.

Instead of the acoustic stuff of "Young Prayer," we have wild painting of samplers, keyboard, shimmering synth, bittersweet ambience, and occasionally a bit of sprightly guitar pop. Sometimes it sounds like a mess, yet somehow it swirls together into an exquisite pop tapestry.

And it has some lovely lyrics too: "When my soul starts glowing/when my soul starts growing/I am as I want to be/and I know I never will stop growing." Panda Bear's voice is a sweet, subdued one, which he uses as an instrument as often as he actually sings -- he becomes a part of the warm, dreamlike sound.

Beautiful and airy, "Person Pitch" is a complete 180 from his previous solo work. But that is only for the best -- an exquisite little sonic gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beach Boys in a blender! (8/10), 22 Aug 2008
This review is from: Person Pitch (Audio CD)
I'm probably the last blogger alive to post a review of Panda Bear's 2007 indie favourite 'Person Pitch' so I'll try to keep this relatively brief. It featured on the end of year lists of many music magazines and blogs and having resisted it for over a year I am suddenly unsure why I was stubborn about it. I have been an admirer, though not precisely a fan, of Animal Collective for some years now, but more importantly I am a fan of the kind of cut and paste, DIY aesthetic that characterises this album. So, on paper this should have been a shoo-in for me.

If you don't know already, Panda Bear - also known as Noah Lennox - creates impressionistic collages from found sound, layered (home-made) beach boy harmonies and samples. Like his parent band and affiliate Ariel Pink, his music is imbued with a kind of heavily abstracted childhood nostalgia, almost an acid flashback to some indefinite sun-drenched 60s heyday when the kids were free and the pot was cheap. Again, as with Animal Collective, there is something volatile, almost nauseating about Panda Bear's kaleidoscopic, sonic sugar-rush of candy-coloured textures. Despite the warped cassette-mimicked distortion and tendency to rather overpile the ingredients, there is a kind of Beach Boys-in-a-blender orthodoxy to his music. There is a very particular vision, and Panda Bear explores this landscape tirelessly, even repetitively. The singing - lyrics mostly indecipherable - is used more as an instrument than a vocal. Heavy on reverb, they always sound detached, abstract, never entirely lucid.

The joyous opener 'Comfy In Nautica' begins with what sounds like what I'd like to believe is the tracks of a big dipper - one of the those rickerty old Coney Island ones. A woozy head-rush of loops and harmonies, it recalls Caribou's similar, more polished album of the same year 'Andorra', but with a textural roughness that somehow places it closer to the 60s psychedelia that evidently influences both artists. The loop of a scateboard clattering over paving stones forms the basis for 'Take Pills', a drift of hazy psych pop with a little splice of stoner guitar: the sort sampled by Cypress Hill on tracks like 'Hits from the Bong'. 'Bros', the album's centrepiece, is 12 minutes plus of slowly morphing cut and paste. A bubbling cauldron of sonic ephemera it builds into a heady, almost maddening carousel of blissful noise. 'I'm Not' provides a welcome change of mood with four minutes of stain-glass ambience and a choral, even spiritual quality more Brian Eno than Brian Wilson.

Thereafter, 'Person Pitch' doesn't quite hit the same heights. 'Good Girl' and 'Carrots' merge together to form another lengthy opus, but there are too many ideas being too loosely held together. 'Search for Delicious' is another ethereal ambient piece with a cavernous, Cathedral-esque resonance but is not quite as striking as 'I'm Not'. The closer 'Ponytail' is just a brief reprise of the detached, Beach Boys harmonies that informed most of 'Person Pitch' - a strange sickly brew indeed. If you like this, try aforementioned artists and albums, or The Ruby Suns 'Sea Lion'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 29 Jan 2008
By 
A. R. Taylor "Alex" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Person Pitch (Audio CD)
This is a quite fantastic album - looking at the other reviews perhaps this isn't for everyone, but quite simply I believe this is one of the best albums of 2007. Give it a go - if its for you then it will stay with you for a long time. A beautiful and vivid summer album...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pitch Perfect, 23 Feb 2007
This review is from: Person Pitch (Audio CD)
Starting what is sure to be a phenomenal year for everything Animal Collective related, Person Pitch by AC drummer Panda Bear is the first essential album of 2007. His previous solo LP, Young Prayer -all acoustic strumming and moaning, all tracks untitled- bears little resemblence to this: a stunning cacophony of reverb-soaked Beach Boys harmonies that just melt into your conscious, impossibly upbeat and guaranteed to put a smile on your face. The standout track, though hard to choose, is Bros, a twelve minute waterfall of beautiful noise that sucks you in until you're singing along to words you can barely understand amid the crashing guitars and loops. Completely unique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There is nothing like this, 10 Jun 2013
By 
Douglas Miller "practical psychologist" (Pezenas, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Person Pitch (Audio CD)
This is an absolutely wonderful album. Bursting with ideas, musicianship (and youtube reveals him to be a great musician) and beauty. 'Bros' is one of the great tracks of the last ten years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars person pitch., 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Person Pitch (Audio CD)
Loved Panda Bears Tommy Boy . Had to get this on the strength of that .not dissapointed either . Great cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!!, 21 April 2010
By 
Coralie Bouguerra "Coralie" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Person Pitch (Audio CD)
I used to listen to this on myspace. Now I am the happy owner of this CD. Just brilliant music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Troop of chanting devout evangelical monks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!., 3 Mar 2009
This review is from: Person Pitch (Audio CD)
Wow, what a description. My congratulations to J.Kershaw. It's amazing that someone who is talking of their dislike for the record has somehow managed to stumble across the best description of it's magic. If you have'nt seen the review yet, go and check it out as it is fantastic.

Mr J.Kershaw, I applaud you. Although I certainly don't agree with your dislike of this beautiful and inspiring work of art. I won't bother going through the merits of each song as you can find that in many other reviews. All I'll say is that if you can't find beauty in a song like 'Bros', then I have a deep sorrow for you.

Take my advice, lie down in a dark room, put this record on and experience the kind of high usually only reserved for illegal narcotics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A nice cheerful early morning sound....., 19 April 2008
By 
Kerouac fan (Torquay, England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Person Pitch (Audio CD)
I was introduced to this music by it's inclusion as a soundtrack on a spoof trailer on YouTube for Francis Ford Coppola's up and (long time) coming film of Kerouac's On The Road. The music caught my ear and I bought the CD. I don't look for anything deep in it, I suppose it's ambient with muscle, sort of stream of consciousness in music rather than words. Played early in the morning on a bright sunny day it fits the mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Person Pitch
Person Pitch by Panda Bear (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews