Customer Reviews


1,154 Reviews
5 star:
 (981)
4 star:
 (136)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works....
Not a lot you can say about it as it just works! I plugged it in, it worked, the network is a ton faster than when i had it on a 10/100MB hub. The lights at the front are useful, ie they are off if no device is connected, orange for ports operating at 100MB (because the device on the other end of the cable is only 100MB capable) and green for full gigabit...
Published on 21 Nov. 2010 by Lee London

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars its ok.. but..
I have had this for about 6 months now. It really is not a gbit switch and should not claim to be. Its ok as a cheap home switch but if you need mulitple connections with sustained 1gbits it does not do the task. I would recommend the XyZEL GS1610 switch for that. (bought to replace TPLink due issues reported).
Published 19 months ago by PEN NAME


‹ Previous | 169 70 71116 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars TP Unmanaged 8 Port switch, 6 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TL-SG1008D 8-Port Unmanaged Gigabit Desktop Switch (Accessory)
What can I say, plugged network leads in, & it joins them all together. Seriously, works absolutely fine. Runs everything at superb speed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top quality and simplicity itself to connect., 9 Jun. 2012
By 
Big Ben "fly_mo" (Bedford, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TL-SG1008D 8-Port Unmanaged Gigabit Desktop Switch (Accessory)
We just bought a cheap 1.5 TB NAS (network attached storage) server and hooked it into our basic O2 Broadband box. It was immediately very useful - stuffing all the bits and bobs of photos, videos, and other stuff from the various family computers onto this box has worked really well for us. But....
It was slow. Over WiFi it was very slow, but that's WiFi for you. Trouble is, our home cable network was not a whole lot faster. Well, it has been there a while, so I took a look at it to find out why.
The O2 Broadband box was our main router in the middle, with a couple of small ethernet switch boxes scattered around the house, with lots of Cat5 cable wiggling its way along the walls. It's a big old house and before WiFi revisions reached 'N' we could not get a reliable link everywhere, so we had to have some cable.
Trouble is, none of this ethernet was Gigabit. That's why it felt slow in use.
So this little TP-Link 8-port switch was plugged into the O2 broadband box after removing all the other CAT5/6 cables, including the NAS link. These cables were then stuffed into the new switch box, and presto! all the attached links were up and running instead of walking. Seriously faster, immediately. Like a local hard drive, almost. Very happy!
My networking experience goes back to the days when a half-day to configure a new set-up was normal - whilst I know things have changed it is always a pleasure to find something that 'Just Works'.
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, 1 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TL-SG1008D 8-Port Unmanaged Gigabit Desktop Switch (Accessory)
For those of you who are unfamiliar with an unmanaged network switch, they basically plug in and go. There is no user friendly page to access or other configuration on the switch to do.

You can set up static IP addresses on your computers/etc. and plug in to the router so that they can talk to each other, or you can connect one of the ports to a router that is set up to assign the IP addresses.

Once the IP addresses have been set up, so long as they are in the correct range, then a switch will allow you to talk between each device.

I've have a 5-port 10/100 switch for years and have never had any problems. This switch works just fine too and I don't expect any problems. To confirm this, I bought two and have been running them for a couple of weeks now without any issues.

The LEDs on the front blink to indicate that network traffic is passing through a particular port, but they are only green. It would have been useful to have different colours to indicate whether the connection speed is 10/100/1000Mb. All nine of them (1 x Power, 8 x Ports) are not too bright, but could have been arranged so that you can see them more easily when the router is mounted on a wall. As it is they are flush with the front panel and clear to appreciate when viewed face on.

They have slots underneath to allow you to mount the switch on a wall. The PSU is small in size compared to my old switch, but more than adequate for the task.

There appears to be plenty of ventilation provided by the slots. Neither of the two I have are too warm.

Make sure that you have the correct Ethernet cable to go with them though. 1Gbit requires either Cat 5e or Cat 6 cable. If the computer or other network device only has a 10/100Mb LAN port, then normal Cat 5 cable will be sufficient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT product with fabulous speed - my data transfer rate ..., 20 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
GREAT product with fabulous speed - my data transfer rate went up from 5-10 MBs to 20-40 MBs after i moved from normal to Gigabit switch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mine has been running for about three years now. ..., 31 Mar. 2015
By 
G. A. Edwards "Geoff" (Bath UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mine has been running for about three years now. It's neat and tidy and I have recently bought another for extending my network upstairs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No problems at all, 6 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tried messing around trying to turn old routers into switches. Should have just bought this straight away. Just plug it it and it works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TL-SG1008D 8-Port Unmanaged Gigabit Desktop Switch (Accessory)
Does exactly what it says on the tin. Can't recommend it enough. No configuration, it just works. All hardware should work like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin..., 3 July 2011
By 
Laurence Carr - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TL-SG1008D 8-Port Unmanaged Gigabit Desktop Switch (Accessory)
Not much more to say really!
Just gets on with it.
Has been running 24/7 since purchase with no issues (15 months)
Nice compact unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Works fine, 5 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TL-SG1008D 8-Port Unmanaged Gigabit Desktop Switch (Accessory)
Can't get much simpler than an unmanaged switch. It works exactly like it should and is great value. Will probably buy another shortly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does the job!, 14 Jan. 2013
By 
Colin (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I needed a gigabit switch to connect my network together in two places, and this fits the bill perfectly. Very happy with the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 169 70 71116 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews