Customer Reviews


961 Reviews
5 star:
 (809)
4 star:
 (122)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works....
Not a lot you can say about it as it just works! I plugged it in, it worked, the network is a ton faster than when i had it on a 10/100MB hub. The lights at the front are useful, ie they are off if no device is connected, orange for ports operating at 100MB (because the device on the other end of the cable is only 100MB capable) and green for full gigabit...
Published on 21 Nov 2010 by Lee London

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars its ok.. but..
I have had this for about 6 months now. It really is not a gbit switch and should not claim to be. Its ok as a cheap home switch but if you need mulitple connections with sustained 1gbits it does not do the task. I would recommend the XyZEL GS1610 switch for that. (bought to replace TPLink due issues reported).
Published 15 months ago by PEN NAME


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 497 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars but this one, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TL-SG1005D 5-Port Gigabit Unmanaged Desktop Switch (Personal Computers)
if you need a 5 port hub you could do a lot worse than choosing this one, for the price of 30 cigarettes you get a pretty top notch switch. buy it you wont be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does it's job, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TL-SG1005D 5-Port Gigabit Unmanaged Desktop Switch (Personal Computers)
At the end of the day it is a network switch. No trouble to set up, just plug it in, connect all the equipment and away you go! I have a NAS, Blu-Ray player, Smart TV and a satellite box all plugged in to the switch with the line in from the router.

It works, and is still working.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars its ok.. but.., 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TL-SG1005D 5-Port Gigabit Unmanaged Desktop Switch (Personal Computers)
I have had this for about 6 months now. It really is not a gbit switch and should not claim to be. Its ok as a cheap home switch but if you need mulitple connections with sustained 1gbits it does not do the task. I would recommend the XyZEL GS1610 switch for that. (bought to replace TPLink due issues reported).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gigabit Unmanaged Desktop Switch, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TL-SG1005D 5-Port Gigabit Unmanaged Desktop Switch (Personal Computers)
Its a Gigabit Unmanaged Desktop Switch that works first time out of the box for me - Remember that if you don't get Gigabit speeds at first, it may well be the patch cable rather than the switch itself (took me a while to work that one out).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the TV corner, 8 Jun 2013
By 
A Cactus "Andy Cactus" (NW UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TL-SG1005D 5-Port Gigabit Unmanaged Desktop Switch (Personal Computers)
Perfect for the entertainment room. Hardwired mine back to BT infinity box and then connects BR player, TV Xbox and Raspberry Pi with XBMC. Lights blink to show network activity on each channel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stable & easy to setup, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I use home- plugs for my Internet & this gives a stable greater than 100Mbit connection with no fuss. Plug & play for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They do exactly as they say on the tin, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TL-SG1005D 5-Port Gigabit Unmanaged Desktop Switch (Personal Computers)
These are superb little GB switches. I have a few dotted around the house expanding a single Ethernet link to the "core" router into a local array of ports. They work flawlessly, real plug and play and fabulously fast. Local host to host file transfers reveal that these really do operate at Gigabit speeds. Really, if you need a small set of ports at high speed then this is the first item I'd advise anyone to consider.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works well, 15 May 2013
By 
Tried and Tested (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Being honest, there's not a lot that can be said about this, other than the fact that it works. It's really easy to set up, you just plug it in and away it goes. There is a green light that is illuminated if a gigabit device is connected to it. Athough plastic it is quite sturdy. I have the 8 port versions, a smaller version (5 ports) was also available and 2 larger versions are also available, although I don't currently use all 8 ports I thought the larger version would be useful to have for future use as the number of items I want to connect to it is likely to increase over time, however, I think it will be a long time before my home needs anything larger than this though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five will make you feel good !, 24 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. W. Coutts - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: TP-Link TL-SG1005D 5-Port Gigabit Unmanaged Desktop Switch (Personal Computers)
Ok heres the sit rep . Bt superfast infinity 76 meg broadband in hallway , all the goodies , ie sky hd box , smart tv , blueray home th. are in tbe lounge . Answer? This five port switch , simply use a network powerline plug from the giga port on the back of the bt infinity home hub and lug the output of the other powerline plug into this switch , plug all toys into the port switch and power up , hey presto job done superfast infinity now evenly distributed to all , even have a spare socket which ive cabled up cat 5 and this can be used by a laptop to give wired connection to the network on the whole i would recommend this switch easy set up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transformed my network, 8 Mar 2013
By 
 - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have paired this with another hub from Netgear and a pair of 500mbps Powerline adapters to link equipment upstairs and downstairs in my home. What a transformation! There was an immediate improvement in bandwidth, and even WiFi access to the internet improved by a factor of two. Thus, I now have routers upstairs and down, with the AV equipment downstairs linked to the servers and printers upstairs.

This unit is solidly made, with a metal case, like the old Netgear 8 port 10/100 hubs, and seems to be a quality product. I am very pleased with it and can definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 497 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews