Customer Reviews


954 Reviews
5 star:
 (803)
4 star:
 (121)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works....
Not a lot you can say about it as it just works! I plugged it in, it worked, the network is a ton faster than when i had it on a 10/100MB hub. The lights at the front are useful, ie they are off if no device is connected, orange for ports operating at 100MB (because the device on the other end of the cable is only 100MB capable) and green for full gigabit...
Published on 21 Nov 2010 by Lee London

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars its ok.. but..
I have had this for about 6 months now. It really is not a gbit switch and should not claim to be. Its ok as a cheap home switch but if you need mulitple connections with sustained 1gbits it does not do the task. I would recommend the XyZEL GS1610 switch for that. (bought to replace TPLink due issues reported).
Published 15 months ago by PEN NAME


‹ Previous | 1 2 396 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interference, 22 Dec 2011
This review is from: TP-Link TL-SG1005D 5-Port Gigabit Unmanaged Desktop Switch (Personal Computers)
This switch works very well, requires no setting up, and at its price is good value. I did have one problem though, which is probably related to the fact that it has a plastic case, not metal. I placed the switch on top of a blu-ray player which itself sat on top of a hefty Audio Visual Receiver. Network connections through the switch were disrupted by interference from one or both of these devices. When I moved the switch six inches or so away, everything worked fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Dandy, 22 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TL-SG1005D 5-Port Gigabit Unmanaged Desktop Switch (Personal Computers)
Works like a charm - never had any problems with them (I have 2). I use one upstairs wired to one downstairs to get the best speed around the house. WDTV and Wireless router plugs into two of the ports downstairs. They run at a max of 100Mbps. Wireless between downstairs and up tends to drop out on big downloads hence I use cable. WD Book live drives are on the 1gb segment near my 1Gb desktop. I have no hesitation to recommend these - they are so cheap too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good value for money, 8 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you simply want to increase the number of available ports off your broadband router, this is the ideal solution. I bought the 5 port version but other options are available and I am really impressed with the simplicity of the device. As others have said, one of the 5 ports is used as the input from the router, so you can connect other devices to each of the remaining ports.
It is an extremely well made and solid item (roughly 10 cm square) and that makes up for the ugliness of it. It is well packaged and the box also contains the power adapter/lead, an instruction booklet and four adhesive rubber feet to stick on the underside where marked.
Some may well want to read through instructions about how to tell what speed the connections are and the light colours to confirm, but I just wanted simple extra capacity and you only need to provide the additional leads to plug it into the router and to attach your extra devices. Plug it into the mains and it works and the lights do change colours and flash, if that is important to you.
The one thing that did concern me was whether it would run hot, but it hasn't so far after being left plugged in 24-7. Both the case and power adapter have remained at room temperature only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little gigabit switch, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No hassle installation - bought one of these a year ago and just bought 2 more for my home network.

They work a treat with the TP-Link powerline adapters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wrong power plug, 19 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TL-SG1005D 5-Port Gigabit Unmanaged Desktop Switch (Personal Computers)
just opened this and found 2 round pins and no adapter.

Amazon, if you're going to send European stock, at least make it usable out of the box please! (bought mid Oct '10) - luckily I had euro to uk adapter but meant some faffing around. also, the power supply is the annoying kind that makes a variable whining noise depending on load, and because of power saving features it is constantly varying.

4k max frame size i think (some more expensive ones support 7k or larger). low power usage is a bonus - unlike other switches i've had this doesn't get hot.

update: according to manual it supports 16k jumbo frames which is really impressive if true, anyone verify?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product but should be classed as a 4 port switch., 9 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TL-SG1005D 5-Port Gigabit Unmanaged Desktop Switch (Personal Computers)
Great product, no set up required apart from just connecting to your router/Modem via Ethernet cable and the mains (adapter supplied). Please note there is no dedicated "in" port, you just plug the router connection into any of the 5 available ports, so really it is a 4 port switch with one of the five ports required for router/Modem connection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant value, 8 Mar 2010
By 
Philip E. Davies (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: TP-Link TL-SG1005D 5-Port Gigabit Unmanaged Desktop Switch (Personal Computers)
Doesn't look like the photo - mine is white. Worked perfectly from the moment I plugged it in 4 weeks ago. Must have now passed many terrabytes of data - it's the connection between my PC and a NAS server. Considering the price its stunning value. Seems to pass data at well over 300 Mbps - I suspect I'm limited by the NAS server.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A comment on the differences: TL-SG1008D or TL-SG108, 9 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased both a TL-SG1008D and TL-SG108 switch as part of a wider network upgrade to take advantage the gigabit speed that many of the latest PCs and devices now have. The switches were selected like for like - one has rear entry sockets and the other front.

Maybe I did not search the spec of the TL-SG1008D sufficiently, but it does not indicate whether a 10/100Mbs or 1000Mbs device is connected. The TL-SG108 uses green or orange LEDs to indicate speed. It is handy to know these speeds when optimising any new or upgraded network.

Further, the TL-SG1008D has a 3 year warranty whereas the TL-SG108, as a professional product, has a limited lifetime warranty. Does this matter? In my experience switches are pretty reliable themselves but it is the power adapters that normally go. This can be fixed with a trip to Maplins but will TP-Link cover this under their warranty declaration?

Hope this is helpful,

T
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Be careful which version of the TL-SG1008 you get..., 10 Jun 2011
By 
John Gray (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
BE CAREFUL! There are at least THREE versions of this TP-Link 8-port Gigabit switch:

* the TL-SG1008D with a entirely black plastic case with a single set of ethernet port lights at the front, and the small power socket and 8 ethernet sockets at the back, for 'consumer' use - this seems to be cheaper, since old stock?

* the TL-SG1008D with a stepped white top on a black plastic case (so about 60% black and 40% white) with a double row (1 Gbps, and 100/10 Mbps) of ethernet port lights at the front, and the small power socket and 8 ethernet sockets at the back, for 'consumer' use.

I assume that the part-white case is the newer version. Both have a power adapter (of some sort).

* the TL-SG1008 (no 'D' suffix) which has a metal rack-mountable case, with the lights AND the 8 ethernet sockets at the front and the power socket at the back, for 'business use'. This has an internal power supply, and the 13A 'kettle plug' fits straight into the back.

I got sent the third one (whereas I now discover I wanted the second one) so I had to rotate/reverse it so that the power lead went in the front - thus I can't see the individual ethernet socket lights because the patch cables have to be at the back, where the lights are...

I have seen a fourth version on the net, which has a black case with white round the edges (or a white case with black inserts), however you describe this. I guess this is an even older version than the entire-black-cased variant.

Just make sure you get the type you want!

Congratulations to TP-Link for making a decent switch, and boo! for not distinguishing clearly between the different variants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars flawless, 12 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This does exactly what it should. The build quality is better than expected. I took it out of the box a few months ago. Plugged it in, plugged in some network cables and that was it. The only other interaction I've had with it is I had plugged network cables in and out on occasion for various reasons.
It has never failed, caused a problem, or caused my to have to do anything with it that I did not want to. It has not been switched off or had any failure in months. To me, that is the ultimate success for any network equipment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 396 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews