Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well shot, written and fun to watch!!
Okay, if you are not a fan of romantic comedies or India...stop right here! But if you love visuals of India, visuals of Jason Lewis (that guy from Sex and City "Jerrod, the Hunk") and beautiful Indian women (Neha Dubey and Kashmera Shah) you will love this beautiful, romantic romp! Great story of a guy who meets a girl in American and loses her. He tracks her down in...
Published on 6 Sep 2007 by Schippo Reviews

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars MY BOLLYWOOD BRIDE
Very poorly acted, especially by the two romantic leads. Anyone looking for a light hearted Indian romance should watch Bride and Prejudice, or for something dealing with more serious life issues - Monsoon Wedding,Bride And Prejudice [2004] [DVD]
Published on 18 Jan 2011 by hk


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well shot, written and fun to watch!!, 6 Sep 2007
This review is from: My Bollywood Bride [DVD] (DVD)
Okay, if you are not a fan of romantic comedies or India...stop right here! But if you love visuals of India, visuals of Jason Lewis (that guy from Sex and City "Jerrod, the Hunk") and beautiful Indian women (Neha Dubey and Kashmera Shah) you will love this beautiful, romantic romp! Great story of a guy who meets a girl in American and loses her. He tracks her down in India and dicovers she is like the Julia Roberts of India!! (Bollywood). Then the real fun begins with great funny characters and situations of a fish out of water! You will love this film if you want a great light romantic comedy that shows beautiful India in a postive light with a very funny story...gotta see this movie!!!! It's in English and does not have Bollywood songs...just Bollywood backdrop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun Film and introduction to Bollywood for English market!!!!, 1 Mar 2007
This review is from: My Bollywood Bride [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film in America at a festival. This film is NOT a Bollywood musical film but a Hollywod type romantic comedy with some family drama sprinkled in with music. Guy meets girl in LA and loses her, then chases her to India to discover she is a big Bollywood star engaged to be married in an arranged marriage. he and his new friends like a hillariuos rickshaw driver and a upcoming star, Bobby K (Sanjay Suri) have to help Alex (Jason) find the girl and maybe win her over. There is also a small love story involving the dance teacher and Bobby K. I found some of the writting was just okay and other times it was quite cute. The biggest fun of the film was the visuals and music! It was not a musical but had some of the great Bollywood hit songs from over the years and a few new ones too. Also a few dance numbers done as part of the story line and not like a musical. Acting was pretty good. Kashmera Shah who played Reena was great and the other girl, Neha Dubey, was also beautiful! My girlfriend loves Jason Lewis, the guy from Sex and the City (Jerrod Smith, The Hunk) and thought he was good. Over all the film is a fun romantic comedy with beautiful people, beautiful images of India and great inside looks at the world of Bollywood. Good family film and great english introduction to Bollywood for someone that does not like musicals or 3 hour long Hindi masala films! This was a fun and easy on the eyes, 93 minutes of toe tapping fun and romance as well as dance numbers and action scenes for the guys too! Definitley worth seeing and telling friends to see!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars MY BOLLYWOOD BRIDE, 18 Jan 2011
This review is from: My Bollywood Bride [DVD] (DVD)
Very poorly acted, especially by the two romantic leads. Anyone looking for a light hearted Indian romance should watch Bride and Prejudice, or for something dealing with more serious life issues - Monsoon Wedding,Bride And Prejudice [2004] [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars '2' for the leads; '2' for the movie but '3' for some of the Indian supports, 21 April 2009
By 
This review is from: My Bollywood Bride [DVD] (DVD)
This is the tale (apparently based on a true story) of an American guy who falls for an Indian girl (Kashmira Shah) when she is visiting the US. She leaves suddenly and he pursues her to India not knowing she is a top Bollywood actress. As he arrives her arranged marriage is about to be announced.
This one didn't make it for us. The Indian lead girl seemed more a model than an actress. I gather she is popular in India and is a former model and beauty queen (Miss University World and Miss India talent winner). I read she is regarded as one of the best dancers of her generation. However we didn't think that showed here as she seemed lacking in grace in the dancing. (in fact her costar Neha Dubey playing a choreographer was much more fluid and also energetic in her dancing.
Jason Lewis as the lead American was OK but not that charismatic.
The ones who acted a lot better and really stole many of the scenes were Indian actors Sanjay Suri (as a friend of the Bollywood queen who pretends the American is a friend) and his romantic interest (Neha Dubey). Also an Indian guy who played a taxi driver. A few other Indians went into hamminess unfortunately and the script seemed very uneven.
The plot and premise were very Bollywood yet it didn't really have the verve and flavour of Bollywood.
Some people who don't know Bollywood seemed to find it a good intro to Bollywood. I'm not in that category and have seen many better Bollywood movies than this one with more charismatic leads and better acting (in fact I prefer Indian melodramatic acting to the awkwardness of the lead girl in this for instance). Elsewhere on the Net it mostly rates just below average. I'd put it there too and would have given it round a 2 1/2 if Amazon had that rating. I bump it up for the 2 Indian co-leads - Not a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 26 Oct 2007
By 
F. Salix-Alba "Bambaji" (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Bollywood Bride [DVD] (DVD)
Don't bother, you can never get back the time you will waste watching this awful film. Go for a long walk instead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your time or money!, 5 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Bollywood Bride [DVD] (DVD)
This was absolutely rubbish! Most of them can't act! The lines were really bad! There didn't seem to be any continuity with the lines, a MAJOR problem! The only bits worth seeing were the Rickshaw driver and Chintu and some of Bobby K. The chemistry between Chintu and Bobby K was better than the main characters, who should have just been sidekicks! Really just a bad bad bad movie and its suppose to be based on a true story! We were just wondering which bit LOL LOL LOL

Would give it a no star rating if I could!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter garbage, 8 Jan 2011
This review is from: My Bollywood Bride [DVD] (DVD)
Next time I can't sleep I'll put this piece of junk on to play - I'll be out like a light.

Acting? I've rarely seen such wooden acting. There's no warmth in this film and no conviction, although the participants should get a criminal conviction for having stolen my time.

If it sounds like I was less than delighted with this film, that's because I was.

One word: TRIPE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FUN, Fun, Fun Film!, 24 Nov 2007
This review is from: My Bollywood Bride [DVD] (DVD)
My family and I loved this movie! The scenes of India are so well shot and even LA looks terrific too! I read a Variety review of this film that says it was well worth seeing. They are right! It was worth seeing and won several film festivals...so we had to like it. Jason is a hunk and Indian stars are beautiful! Rent or buy, you will have fun and laugh to a nice romantic tale based on a true story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but..., 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Bollywood Bride [DVD] (DVD)
Not bad but nothing very fantastic, enought to spend on hour and a half, when you have nothing else to do
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars awful awful awful, 3 Mar 2008
By 
Ms. I. Clout "Issy" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Bollywood Bride [DVD] (DVD)
I think this film hits the top of worst movies I've ever seen list. Dialogue is stilted, staged and dreadfully delivered. Acting is wooden beyond belief and the story line very very weak. Terrible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb5e84900)

This product

My Bollywood Bride [DVD]
My Bollywood Bride [DVD] by Rajeev Virani (DVD - 2007)
3.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews