Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I'm in my wedding dress!" - Catherine Tate and a great giant alien spider for Christmas! What more can you ask for?!
`The Runaway Bride' is one of the most memorable, exciting and funny episodes of `Doctor Who' from the new series. The second proper Doctor Who Christmas special, it features Catherine Tate as Donna Noble, the return of the killer Robot Santas, has got a car chase and features Sarah Parish as the rather monstrous and deadly Empress of the Rachnoss (a gigantic...
Published 18 months ago by Tim Bradley

versus
22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor value for money
Don't get me wrong I enjoyed the episode but the DVD as a whole is poor value. I'm a big fan of the vanilla releases as I'm not a huge admirer of extras on DVDs but this release was just a huge disappointment for me. One episode (albeit an hour long instead of the usual forty-five minutes) selling at the same price of a release with 3 is just daylight robbery and the...
Published on 29 April 2007 by Anth.P


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A huge disappointment on Christmas Day, 22 April 2007
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Runaway Bride, 2006 Christmas Special [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Christmas 2006 and this should have been a special event. Doctor Who, with its infinite format and where did we find the good Doctor at Christmas? Modern day London! What a surprise!

Unfortunately, this had all the elements of the modern series I despise: the lack of imagination in its setting (contemporary London); the mundane dialogue (domestic arguments amongst Cockneys straight from EastEnders); the re-use of ideas from a previous story (the killer Christmas Trees and Robot Santas, both seen before in last year's The Christmas Invasion).

In addition to all this, we had Catherine Tate as an unlikeable companion and a pantomime villain in the Racnoss. Catherine does shout out almost every line, and it becomes tedious: it's just not funny! And the villain is cardboard cut-out villain with its sneering and shouting in its final scenes. How disappointing it was to see ideas returning from last year's Christmas special once again: the killer Santas (apparently they are always on Earth every Christmas, any passing alien on Dec 25th takes control of them), and the killer Christmas trees had been done before. I also greatly disliked the Doctor being made into a coward, by getting the cash machine to spew out money so that he could use a human shield: very out of character. The summer filming though was clearly evident throughout this production, ruining the Christmas setting: with trees in full greenery and the blazing high summer sun.

Of note was the TARDIS/ taxi chase scene, which was an excellent piece of special effects, and the prosthetics for the Racnoss. David Tennant, once again gives a fantastic performance as the Doctor, clearly hurt by the loss of Rose.

When you think what could have been done (Christmas Future on a far space Colony), this pales by comparison. An episode of EasterEnders with a shouty companion and pantomime villain is sadly what we got.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Dec. 2014
By 
Mrs. Beth Caley (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Runaway Bride, 2006 Christmas Special [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Great Present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Runaway Bride, 2006 Christmas Special [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Catherine Tate shouts a lot, doesn't she?, 28 Mar. 2007
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Runaway Bride, 2006 Christmas Special [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
In fact, now that I think about it, I can't remember ever seeing Catherine Tate not shouting. It's like all memory of an appearance by her, in anything, is overwritten with the indelible image of her hawking up a few lines, very loudly, from the back of her throat. Once or twice, it's annoying, but as the episode goes one, there's more shouting. And more. Until, by the end, you just want David Tennant to give her a little nudge, with his elbow, and watch her fall into that chasm full of spiders. However, as an episode of British TV, it has a couple of decent special effects: the TARDIS chasing a cab along a busy road doesn't look half bad. And Tennant is always worth watching. That said, this really is a cheeky release. One episode, and a bit of Extra filler, does not a decent DVD make. It will probably be in the Season 3 Box Set anyway...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New season, 8 May 2006
By 
Karim Abdul-rasheed (phoenix,az usa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This second series starts with a bang. These first two episodes are phenomenal. Can't wait until the box set comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 2 episodes to few, 13 Aug. 2007
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Runaway Bride, 2006 Christmas Special [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
The episode is decent, although catherine tate's character was a bit annoying to begin with she became tolerable towards the end. The baddie is brilliant, and we see the doctor in a new light when drowning the racnoss young. Tennant is excellent again.

As i said it is a decent episode but really not worth buying on a DVD on its own. Series 2 and 3 could easily have been combined with the Christmas specials on 4 DVD's and their insistence on stretching them to 5 is annoying. The extra on here isn't anything special by any means. This hour long episode costs around the same as Series 3 volume 2 which contains 4 full length episodes.

So this is one to avoid for anyone but the completists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars runaway excitement from start ti finish, 4 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Runaway Bride, 2006 Christmas Special [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
superb fun from start to finish catherine tate funny im not bovvered shes in doctor who good actress david tennant best doctor ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Runaway Bride, 2006 Christmas Special [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Runaway Bride, 2006 Christmas Special  [DVD] [2005]
£4.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews