Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow what a series
Having been an avid fan of Doctor Who in the era of Tom Baker I was a little sceptical about a "new Doctor Who". I must say I shouldn't have worried wow this is great.

It has the feel of the original series without the Blue Peter type props. It has grown up and gone into the electronical age - sonic screwdrivers and all. If you have any hesitation in buying...
Published on 2 Jun 2006 by Ms. C. E. R. Potts

versus
22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor value for money
Don't get me wrong I enjoyed the episode but the DVD as a whole is poor value. I'm a big fan of the vanilla releases as I'm not a huge admirer of extras on DVDs but this release was just a huge disappointment for me. One episode (albeit an hour long instead of the usual forty-five minutes) selling at the same price of a release with 3 is just daylight robbery and the...
Published on 29 April 2007 by Anth.P


‹ Previous | 18 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutley abysmal!, 18 Feb 2008
By 
M. Evans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Runaway Bride, 2006 Christmas Special [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Dr Who + Christmas specials = disaster, as far as I'm concerned. The recent Voyage of the Damned was atrocious and this is nearly as bad. The presence of the supremley annoying Catherine Tate makes this a real effort to sit through and god help us as she's now the new companion. The Runaway Bride (dreadful title too!) is just pureile, inane rubbish that should only appeal to juveniles and people with a low attention span. The bottom of the Dr Who barrel in my opinion. Avoid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DoctorMania, 25 May 2006
Episode 5: Rise of the Cybermen

After the TARDIS makes a crash landing on a parallel Earth, Rose discovers her father is alive and rich, Mickey encounters his alternative self and the Doctor meets one of his oldest and deadliest foes...

Episode 6: The Age of Steel

The plans of John Lumic to convert the world into Cybermen are now in full force. The Doctor, Rose, Mickey and the Preachers must find a way to stop him from enforcing his "ultimate upgrade".

Episode 7: The Idiot's Lantern

In 1950s London the police are hunting down strange, mute creatures. The people of Britain gather around their new-fangled "tele-vision" sets to celebrate the new Queen's coronation -- but is something affecting the signal?

Get ready... It's gonna be great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Was a worried fan, 19 May 2006
When I heard Dr. Who was coming back, I was worried. Revivals such as this rarely go well, when I heard Billie Piper was going to be in it, my worry increased. Surprisingly the first series was a huge success and Billie Piper was excellent.

For series 2 the worrying started again, David Tenant seemed awfully young and stories in the newspapers did not sit well with me. But once again I was thankfully wrong, David Tenant is fantastic, better even that Christopher Ecclestone. The Christmas Invasion is clever and gripping. New Earth is not quite as good, but definietly worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Volume 1, 7 Aug 2007
On this disc we have "The Christmas Invasion" the Christmas special from 2005, a good and exciting episode once it gets going. In "New Earth" the special effects are some of the best on TV, shame it takes so long to get going, but still a very good episode. Bit disappointed at the lack of episodes on this disc-Two!The cheek of it! I woudn't spend any more than five pounds on this, it's best to get the boxset!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sarah's Back!, 20 Oct 2006
By 
Andrew Lewsey (Brussels) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Sarah-Jane Smith is back! Only the best Doctor Who assistant ever. If there are any nippers reading this ask yer dads!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How great is "the girl in the fireplace", 8 Jun 2006
By 
A. R. Forbes "gforbes" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The only reason why i am giving this DVD 5 stars is because of the episodes "Tooth and Claw" and "The Girl in the Fireplace". Firstly, Tooth and claw is a brilliant episode(probably one of my favorite episodes this series). The werewolf looks so cool with the wee bits of white hair around its mouth and in general, just the way it moves. The story is quite basic and the strange idea of Kung Fu monks in Scotland makes it different from any other werewolf TV shows or films i've seen.

Episode 3(School reunion), however, is one of the worst Doctor who episodes i've seen(most likely the worst). The reapearance of Toms Bakers companion, Sarah Jane, was fine but K9's voice just annoys me. But that isn't the reson for not liking it. The Krillitanes(despite their good name) look like a silly copy of the horrifying reapers of last series, and the irritating kid-actors didn't help. I also just didn't like the story and the idea of it being set in a school made it seem like a "child friendly" sort of episode compared to some of the realy creepy, dark and mysterious episodes of last series.

The Girl in the Fireplace is what doctor who was made for. This episode had a superior story to any other episode and the creepy clockwork droids were perfect. In my opinion David Tennant acted much better in this episode than in the rest of the series without his annoying facial expressions and rants about how fantastic humans are. This is my favorite episode of the series so far and matches the brilliant Empty Child and The Doctor Dances(also written by Steven Moffat) of last series.

In general this is a pretty good DVD and contains 1 rubbish, 1 very good and 1 fantastic episode but still doesn't compare to the exellent effort All the writers, producers etc and especially Christopher Eccleston of whom i much prefer to David Tennant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars runaway bride! come back!, 20 May 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Runaway Bride, 2006 Christmas Special [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Doctor who series 5 is turning out too be a fantastic series. And look back on this classic special
and It just goes too show what an amazing show it is, and always will be.
If your a fan of entrainment, then doctor who is for you. I will always love doctor who, part of my room is dedicated
to doctor who, and I a have bought every single doctor who dvd out yet, and i will be buying future ones too. I also love the classic series.

The greatest doctor who fan EVER!
Dylan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can it survive?, 25 April 2006
After the unlikley popularity of the BBC's dusting off of Doctor Who after its cancellation in the late 1980's, it rejuvenated a cultural phenomenon. And a round a applause to the BBC, they basically took a rather unfashionable genre (sci-fi has not been considered normal since the trendy X-Files) and made it addictive televison that youngsters wanted to stay in and catch on a Saturday evening.

Then, the quintessential British tea-time show, came with profound news: Eccleston retired and in his succession would be Scottish actor David Tennent. Let's all hope history does not repeat itself; it's wearisome getting familiarised with a 'new' doctor, which is prestigious for an actor's CV, but rather unfortunate for the poor viewer.

Let's hope Tennent sticks around for at least a few seasons. He does, in fair, seem a quality choice of Tardis navigator. Full of wit, charm and a certain arrogant enigma-but let's just wait and see. We have only seen the Doctor's quirky side- Eccleston oddly evoked sympathy for the robotic Daleks, and had an almost strained quality that was so suited to him.

Tenent is clearly smitten with his new role-his inate grinning and chat back, possibly trying to favour the viewers and not his sidekick Rose (played by Billie Piper, who is earnest, yet cannont decifer herself from pop star or Chris Evan's ex-it all seems more of a good career move, instead of convincing).

Cynically, the doctor only has a limited life span, and is no doubt a victim of its own success. But for the time being, thank god there is up-dated TV nostalgia for a new generation to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shaping up, 26 April 2006
By 
Mr. S. M. Baines "lemmingology" (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
At the time of writing, the second series of the revamped Doctor Who has aired only episode from this DVD - that being, of course, Tooth and Claw. David Tennant is making his very firm stamp on the Doctor's identity, and he's already coming across to me as becoming a great, just like his predecessor, Christopher Eccleston, also was at this stage. Obviously I can't write a full review yet because I've only seen a third of what's on here, but I'll do as good a job as I can.

Like I said, the only episode from this DVD that's been aired at the time of writing is Tooth and Claw, so this review will be concentrated on that. And what an episode it is. It has everything that Doctor Who should have - humour, suspence, jumps, excellent music, and above all, style. David Tennant comes across well as an unlikely bodyguard, Billie Piper puts in an astonishing performance to show what Rose Tyler can really do as a sidekick, and Pauline Collins is excellent as the defiant Queen Victoria, unwilling to quit even when out of her depth. The episode is a work of genius - the effects work, the scripts are great, the acting is top notch, and the scares and tension even got to me (which is a difficult thing to achieve nowadays, says he who spent most of Night of the Living Dead in fits of laughter). It's a perfect refresher after the slight disappointment of the first episode, New Earth (which was by no means bad, just not as good as it could have been). It might well be worth buying the DVD purely on the strength of Tooth and Claw.

The third episode, School Reunion - airing this Saturday coming, again at time of writing - sees the return of Elisabeth Sladen as Sarah Jane Smith, and of course, the iconic K9, as they face off against Anthony Head and the shapeshifting Krillitanes at a London school. As for The Girl in the Fireplace, well I don't know anything about that yet...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good,but tates a bit grating, 5 April 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Runaway Bride, 2006 Christmas Special [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
The Runaway bride was a good xmas special that starts well but loses it's way a bit towards the end. The main prob with this ep is catherine tate,the woman is so annoying and donna is virtually the same character as Lauren from her comedy show..you are waiting for here to say "am i bovvered" at any minute!!!. I love the new who but sometimes it comes off as its a hollyoaks or holby city ep?,it never really feels completly sci fi,only when the doctor goes to centuries past or another planet it loses this stigma. There's some good stuff here and some impressive fx by the mill adds to the pleasure. It's a bit odd that this doesnt also include "smith and jones" and "The shakespeare code" from season 3 like previous series but at a cheap price its not too bad. Prob worth waiting for the season 3 boxset though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Runaway Bride, 2006 Christmas Special  [DVD] [2005]
3.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews