Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and fuss free, 21 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trangia Gas Burner (Sports)
If your reading this review for a Trangia Gas Burner the chances are you'll know what a Trangia stove is. If not briefly Trangia produce a stove set that comprises a burner which runs on methylated spirit in a highly effective and stable windshield with cooking pans and perhaps a kettle thrown in. Trangias come in two basic sizes Model 25 is the 'big one' and Model 27 which is smaller and designed for solo use or a couple of folk.

The Gas Burner replaces the standard Methalyted Spriits burner.

This model of gas burner is manufactured for Trangia By Primus. The burner is an adaption of Primus's Himalaya Easy Fuel gas stove burner. It's very well constructed using Stainless Steel Brass and Aluminium. The gas supply hose uses a SS outer sheath for abrasion protection. The gas valve uses the standard EN417 connection and the connection threads are brass which will provide for greater wear then the alloy threads used on some chinese stoves.

The gas valve allows for a wide range of control on the flame. The whole assembly fits into the lower windshield on the Trangia. Older models of trangia without the cut out in the windshield for the gas burner will need to be modified to accept the burner.

Ok in use the gas burner transforms the Trangia gone is the ritual of filling the Meths's burner and that comforting but slightly fume ridden wait while water boils. The gas burner is clinically clean and efficient nada real power house. The wind shield means the burner developers its full potential and the heat is effectively captured in the stove. boil times are MUCH MUCH quicker than the Meths's burner will ever produce. Flame control is simple and it's easy to get foods simmering.

I'm running my gas burner in a model 27 duossal and it's transformed the stove into a high performance clean burning cooking set. With of course more flexibility than say a Jetboil PCS and far better windshielding than a SOTO Stove or MSR windpro.

All up a superbly made bit of kit which transforms the Trangia....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trangia Gas Burner, 24 Oct 2011
This review is from: Trangia Gas Burner (Sports)
I bought the Trangia Gas Burner as a back up to the spirit burner in the event that if I ran out of meths I would have another source of fuel to use. Having used the gas burner it has now become the main source for cooking and the meths burner is now the back up. The gas burner is easy to use, easy to install in the cooker base and is much better for simmer control over the spirit burner. It boils a kettle of water very quickly and if you shop around the gas canisters can be bought at a resonable cost. Using the gas burner also means that you don't cover the bottom of the pans and kettles in soot either. When cooking on a very low light its a good idea to stir the food regularly to prevent it burning and sticking to the bottom of the pan because the head of the burner concentrates the flames in a small central spot. I like the simplicity of the spirit burner and the availability in most places to obtain the fuel. In my opinion the addition of the gas burner makes a good stove even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 19 Aug 2011
This review is from: Trangia Gas Burner (Sports)
I bought this as a back up for when the meths run out but seem to use it instead of now. I love the traditional way of cooking with a meths burner but when you are desparate for a brew I always use the gas burner as it is twice as quick to boil the kettle, you can also alter the the flame so simmering etc. is possible. This is a great little addition to an already excellent little stove.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trangia Gas Burner, 22 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trangia Gas Burner (Sports)
What a nice touch this is to the Trangia range, I used it several times on camping trips instead of meth's .
Works very well and controllable .
Highly recommend this gas adapter as an alternate method to using spirit.
A+++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 14 May 2012
This review is from: Trangia Gas Burner (Sports)
Fantastic product. Have used meths burner for years and this gas burner much cleaner and quicker to cook with. Really pleased. Competitive price and fast delivery. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hotter than the sun, 2 May 2014
This review is from: Trangia Gas Burner (Sports)
Having tested this out with both my Trangia 27 windshield and the Trangia Triangle I am totally blown away by this burner. Weight-wise, it's pretty close to the spirit burner and the 100ml mini bottle full of meths I have been carrying. Beyond that, there is little else to compare - the gas burner is to the spirit burner what a match is to a blowtorch. It has the capability to burn like a fighter jet's engines, but with the precision of control to allow you to bring the heat down to a gentle simmer. As has been mentioned, the gas flame keeps the outside of your pots cleaner than meths too. For brewing a cup of tea or two on a walk I'll keep it simple and take a pre-filled meths burner, but for everything else I'll be picking the gas system every time. Truly a magnificent piece of engineering, as I've come to expect from Trangia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trangia Gas Burner (Sports)
Sounds like a rocket and cooks things just as fast. Packs up really small and is a brilliant bit of kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Trangia gas burner, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trangia Gas Burner (Sports)
Quicker and cleaner than the meths burner which I keep as a spare for when gas isn't available. Just one problem.... the corners of the aluminium flange need to be rounded off (I've done mine) - to prevent them tearing the bag the unit packs into, and damaging the pots or kettle in transit. Works extremely well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Did the trick, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trangia Gas Burner (Sports)
This adapter worked really well with our trangias but just astonished at the price! Had previously used maths but gas and this adapter is so much quicker!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 11 Sep 2013
By 
C. Jerman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trangia Gas Burner (Sports)
Get one. Seriously there isn't anything else worth saying. Trangia - great. Little meths burner, cute and very effective. Gas burner? Off the scale. I haven't used the meths burner once since I got the gas burner. It's miserly on gas and so hot you could melt iron on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trangia Gas Burner
43.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews