Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rare treat
As a lover of military history i haven't exactly been spoilt for choice with games like this on console! Real-time strategy games only seem to be made for PCs. The last one i played was the Mega Drive game "Centurion" and that was in the early 90s! This game is the nearest thing to it i've come across and it is pretty good. You start as the Romans and fight various...
Published on 26 May 2009 by C. Atkins

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but big room for improvement
once you get pass the mediocre graphics and ridiculus sound the actual gameplay isnt that bad. youd get a few hours fun out of it
Published on 24 Aug 2007 by J. Stainthorp


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but big room for improvement, 24 Aug 2007
By 
J. Stainthorp - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: History Channel: Great Battles of Rome (PS2) (Video Game)
once you get pass the mediocre graphics and ridiculus sound the actual gameplay isnt that bad. youd get a few hours fun out of it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rare treat, 26 May 2009
By 
C. Atkins (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: History Channel: Great Battles of Rome (PS2) (Video Game)
As a lover of military history i haven't exactly been spoilt for choice with games like this on console! Real-time strategy games only seem to be made for PCs. The last one i played was the Mega Drive game "Centurion" and that was in the early 90s! This game is the nearest thing to it i've come across and it is pretty good. You start as the Romans and fight various battles. After each fight you earn a number of exp points and cash. You can use these points to buy new units(Cavalry, archers, elite inf, etc) or strenghtening existing ones(better unit morale,attack.defence,etc).The battle system is good and offers a range of tactics(halt,hold,advance etc). You can also take control of any unit and maneuver them into action. Decent graphics and good gameplay i'd recommend this to any RTS-starved console gamer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Battles of Rome, 7 Jun 2007
By 
Oj Rawlinson "OJ" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: History Channel: Great Battles of Rome (PS2) (Video Game)
When I got this game I thought it to be like the best seller Rome (which in a way it is.) You work your way through Roman history fighting huge battles with ease. A great function is being able to style your soldiers to perfection. If you get boared with that play a campain with the fighting religion mithras which was great! I really enjoyed this game and I would recomend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 15 May 2013
By 
N. Ohara - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History Channel: Great Battles of Rome (PS2) (Video Game)
my son wanted the game and it was cheap and easy to get on here needless to say he likes it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Simplistic controls which don't work, 27 Dec 2007
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: History Channel: Great Battles of Rome (PS2) (Video Game)
I have never sworn in a review before but i am hard pressed not to with this game. The stills make i look fantastic but when you play the actual game you will find that your troops don't so much march as glide across the field. At the start of the battle you will be allowed to change your the initial orders for your army, icons are meant to represent each order but each one is hard to interpret and the manual is no help. Then the battle, you have to pay command points to issue orders and trying to work out how to control your army is a task in itself. The makers of this game seem to assume that the player will automatically understand how to play the game and the help you get is abysmal.

Overall a game with great potential but essentially crap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor, very poor, 18 Jun 2007
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: History Channel: Great Battles of Rome (PS2) (Video Game)
Very poor. Hampered by bad interface and mediocre graphics. Already back in the box and gathering dust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, very disappointing., 14 July 2008
By 
C. Cubbin "fox5596" (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History Channel: Great Battles of Rome (PS2) (Video Game)
This product sells itself on the 'History Channel' label and sadly it delivers even less than its potential.

The game itself is full of great opportunity for involved gaming, with the budding commander building up an army from scratch, equipping and training their troops with various items and abilities. Great stuff, initially it was quite good fun. Credit is earned by winning battles and this is then spent on upgrades and new troops, as you get further into the game more hardcore troop types become available.

And then the crunch time. Sadly, the actual battles are ... well, just confusing nonsense. Apparently the equipment, abilities, troop type and your orders (that you have merrily spent the last half hour planning and sorting out) will dictate how the battle unfolds. What actually happens is that you sit as a spectator whilst the game itself appears to just squish all the units on the field together (there is insufficient time, space or control for the player to influence the course of anything during the battle) and then churns out a result.

If your idea of fun is watching a game play itself with graphics and sound effects from 15 years ago then go ahead and buy this. But in all honesty, it's a poor product, poorly planned, poorly tested and just churned out in the hope of the 'History Channel' title conning people into buying it. Fair play, it worked with me because I chose to disregard other honest reviews. Never again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Please just buy Rome Total War, 20 Jun 2007
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: History Channel: Great Battles of Rome (PS2) (Video Game)
This game was shockingly bad. When i played this for five minutes i felt sick. IT IS A DISGRACE. Just but one of the total war series it is much better value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor Game, 11 Jun 2007
By 
A. Thomas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: History Channel: Great Battles of Rome (PS2) (Video Game)
i dont write many reviews but i felt compelled to with this game, i feel i have been ripped off, its one of the worst games i have bought in years. Maybe i shouldnt be comparing it to total war as that is so good but the benchmark has been set and this game isnt fit for sale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The worst game on the PS2, 28 April 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: History Channel: Great Battles of Rome (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is without a doubt, the worst game on the PS2. Sound is nearly non existent in this game, with poor character modles and design. History Channel: Great Battles of Rome has nearly no gameplay, with the game feeling like a super nintendo startegy game. Come on, thats just poor. The game has poor, poor controls, empty levels, low FPS and the problems go on on. Story? This game nearly has no story and its not even worth to pay attention, since how bad this game is.

This game is abosolute garbage! Its without a doubt, the worst game on the Playstation 2. The History channel should have stop making video games, after they made this game.

They can't make a decent game, let alone a good one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

History Channel: Great Battles of Rome (PS2)
26.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews