Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 January 2011
The last person who commented on this, if had good knowledge on dvds would have known it clearly states region 1 which is for usa/canada however if you have a multi-region dvd player you can play any dvds such as this one. i have a muti-region dvd player it is brillant you can buy and watch any dvd on it.
Dinosaurs is a funny family tv programme that as been out since the 90's and is just as good as it was back then. I really enjoy watching dinosaurs and am glad they released them on dvd.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2015
blast from the past, wish these were still on TV, better than the $%!! they put on for kids these days

great DVD set, beware though as it's region 1 and you will need a DVD player that can play these
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2015
Love ' this dvd, I love ' the baby ' dinosaur, he is so funny. Bring region 2 out please. It's a great program, Please Amazon bring this out on Instant Video to download, I would buy the complete series off you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
I used to watch this as a kid and loved it. I saw a few clips of the baby online and found it so funny that I thought I'd buy the DVDs - and I'm glad I did. It really is just so funny and caters for a more adult audience as well as a young one in the same sort of way that films like Shrek do with subtle references that will only be funny to adults. Plus the baby is just priceless and has me in hysterics.

One and only problem with these DVDs is the region (1) - they wouldn't play on most of my devices and I had to watch them on my PC after switching the region (something that I don't think you can do on most devices). So if you want to watch them on a DVD player then best to check before you buy, which I didn't think to do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2013
It's criminal that series such as these get made and, due to some accountants say-so, get buried in the schedules and gradually slip out of sight. Later on, they're not just extinct but actually buried under the strata of later programs.
'Dinosaurs' was one more of the wonderful things that Jim Henson (And his team) made and which didn't quite fit the corporate world-view. This is one of the many reasons Jim Henson (And his wonderful team) were - and remain - so important a contribution to our culture (Seek out Jim Henson products - 'Fraggle Rock' is just one of many).
Whilst 'Dinosaurs' is plainly a direct ancestor of The Simpsons in terms of family stereotypes, it also shares a trait of biting satire.
The Simpsons has used the family as a dialogue about mindless consumerism (Cf: Homer. Bart. 'Fox') with the inquiring minds (Lisa. Marge. Sax and depth)against the backdrop of the nuclear plant and Mr Burns corporate greed. Over all the weekly drama, we always know Burns controls everything and at any minute that Nuke plant the town economy depends upon could wipe them out in seconds. Before them, 'Dinosaurs' had a similar family dynamic (Though none of the family shares Lisa's campaigning spirit) against the Big Joke that overhangs the series - They're all going to be extinct, but no-one cares.
All the way through 'Dinosaurs', the news, the shows, the products and the adverts give hints that the civilisation of the Dinosaurs is destroying their world. If they don't change their ways soon, they'll all go the way of the Graptolites (Who get an episode to themselves - albeit as mammals rather than hemichordata).
The running joke is always that the Dinosaurs themselves are too smug and selfish to notice they're consumerism and pollution is killing them and their world and the constant warnings never get through.
In a direct parallel to Fred Flintstone's job at the quarry, Earls job is to destroy rain forests. Whilst Fred (In the perspective of the 1950's) had no reason to worry about causing environmental devastation, Earl just isn't bothered.
This is a very knowing series with an agenda.
I rather suspect this is a reason that the corporations decided to just let it slip from the schedules. It's a fine and funny series, yes, but underneath the humour, there's something big and dark and deadly to company PR.
It's not available on DVD in the UK.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
Fabulous stories but it would have been better if it had went as a movie, with a longer version as I thought the show was great but by time you get interested it was finished. Now is the time to make this as all the kids loves dinosaurs. Marvelous family related show very interesting worth watching while exploring your ideas and judging for yourself as for the dinosaurs I loved them, enjoyed every minute while watching the film again. I rated this an A grade plus for unforgettable entertainment, so sit and relax to a night of fun with the family the kids will love it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
this series in my opinion could have gone on for a few more years i really enjoyed it and was sad that it ended but very pleased as now i have the whole set on dvd
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2012
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2012
My autistic son has the set of these now from you and he absolutely love it. I do also thank you for the speedy delivery.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2015
This is so funny, and I can't believe people give it just one star just because they are unable to read. It clearly states it's a region 1 dvd. Use your eyes and heads people, it's so unfair to give the show bad review.
The show is amazing!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)