Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the tofu of games
well what to say about this game. I'll start off with the bad parts.

CONS

The most dissapointing thing about this game i felt was the graphics, they feel so square and linear, they really do not push the wii's graphics whatsoever, admittedly the wii doesn't have amazing graphic capabilities but it is way more capable of what this game offers...
Published on 4 Aug 2008 by Mr. T. zadok

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One to avoid
I have been a fan of this series ever since I played the original driver. Driv3r (Driver 3), my favourite of the series, was a fantastic game and this new one seems to have taken several steps back. It's lost everything that made the last game cool.

Although the game starts in the 70s, most of it is played in the present day, which is not cool in the...
Published on 27 Sep 2007 by A. Armstrong


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the tofu of games, 4 Aug 2008
By 
Mr. T. zadok (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Driver: Parallel Lines (Wii) (Video Game)
well what to say about this game. I'll start off with the bad parts.

CONS

The most dissapointing thing about this game i felt was the graphics, they feel so square and linear, they really do not push the wii's graphics whatsoever, admittedly the wii doesn't have amazing graphic capabilities but it is way more capable of what this game offers.

Another disappointment was the out of car features, which i felt were so simple and more of a step down from driver 3 then anything.

The driving controls are flimsy as anything, you basically use just the nunchuck to drive but you have to hold it really flat and steady, because if you stil it in either direction your car will do a 180 degree spin in that direction, also if you lift the nunchuck up you activate the handbrake, almost like real life which is pretty annoying.

Most of all i felt this game was way too easy, doesn't last very long at all in my opinion

PROS

Despite all that this game has some really good features. It has a nice little mode where you can take any car or bike from the street and tune it up and accessorize it at numerous garages across the city, there are some pretty good looking cars about too, especially the racing ones. You can even slap on some NOS on a school bus or a digger and watch it fly! Not too mention some custom body/paint jobs on offer.

The maps are pretty sufficiently sized, thats one thing the driver series has maintained throughout and is probably what its best known for.

The storyline is not so bad, it's set in the 70's and has some stereotypical characters about, pretty much the cast from starksy and hutch. Not sure why it's been giving an 18 rating tho?

Theres also some decent jumps around the city as well, some aren't so easy to find, which is the point i guess.

FINAL THOUGHTS

If your a fan of the driver series i'd say go for it, i mainly got it because this is the only free roaming game of its kind on the wii and im a big fan of those type of games and since i don't own a 360 or ps3 this is whats on offer. The game isn't too expensive either so your not parting with too much money if you dislike it anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Driver Parallel Lines for Wii, 31 Aug 2009
By 
R. Ford (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Driver: Parallel Lines (Wii) (Video Game)
Probably the best GTA style sandbox game on the Wii console currently. If your after a fun filled shooting take over everything and rule the city kind of game this is what you should buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One to avoid, 27 Sep 2007
By 
A. Armstrong (Aylesbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Driver: Parallel Lines (Wii) (Video Game)
I have been a fan of this series ever since I played the original driver. Driv3r (Driver 3), my favourite of the series, was a fantastic game and this new one seems to have taken several steps back. It's lost everything that made the last game cool.

Although the game starts in the 70s, most of it is played in the present day, which is not cool in the slightest. The soundtrack is alright, but not as interesting as the last game. The cut scenes look very good, but the plot is terrible. The graphics are no better than in the last game, although sparks flying from hanging bodywork are a nice touch.

Gameplay hasn't moved on at all. The on foot controls are now very basic. The character cannot jump, climb or swim, when he could in Driv3r. They can be very frustrating when you want to get things done quickly, like when you're playing against the clock or are in a firefight. Getting into vehicles is especially annoying. The driving is much the same as it's always been, I found it frustrating that the throttle is just an on off switch, making progress jerky if you're not going flat out.

There is now a garage feature, enabling you to store one of each type of car in the game and improve them. This is quite interesting at first but soon becomes tedious, with the same options available for every car. There are also a number of side games, but none are especially interesting.

The police are rubbish. I like the way you can escape if you change cars when no one is looking, but apart from that the system is terrible. The AI is awful, all you have to do is drive down an alley and they suddenly can't find you.

The Wii specific controls seem to be an afterthought. Driving controls are poor and the on foot shooting looking controls don't really work. I'd rather have a conventional controller.

In summary, the game has lost every thing that made it interesting in it's own right. It's trynig to be a clone of GTA and it does a terrible job. I recommend you buy The Godfather: Blackhand Edition. That's what I'm going to do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars driver, 21 Dec 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Driver: Parallel Lines (Wii) (Video Game)
good game item was very slow to be recived even though postage was paid, very disapointed with postage over all good product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
This review is from: Driver: Parallel Lines (Wii) (Video Game)
Great game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great driver game on the Wii, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Driver: Parallel Lines (Wii) (Video Game)
As big time fan of the series, I wanted this on my Wii as well. Loved every bit of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Driver: Parallel Lines (Wii) (Video Game)
The only downside is that some of the graphics aren't as good as the newer stuff and the controls take a bit of getting used to, but it's a brilliant continuation of the driver series of games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Only OK, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Driver: Parallel Lines (Wii) (Video Game)
Controls are difficult to master. All of the missions are very similar and graphics aren't great but good fun all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars jord, 30 April 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Driver: Parallel Lines (Wii) (Video Game)
this is a great game, i ordered a used game and it came on the deadline and works beautifully there are a few scraches but you have to really look to see them, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great experience!, 2 Oct 2007
By 
J. Davies "Soundman" (East Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Driver: Parallel Lines (Wii) (Video Game)
I loved Godfather on the wii, for which I gave a five star score and wanted something similar. I heard a few negative reviews about this game, but I can't see what the deal is - this is a good game! I have never played a Driver game before, and this has great graphics - especially when it comes to crashing and the like! The handbrake nunchuk is intuitive and is something that you get used to and is definitely worth getting used to as it works surprisingly well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Driver: Parallel Lines (Wii)
Driver: Parallel Lines (Wii) by Ubisoft (Nintendo Wii)
17.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews