Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly Enjoyable
"Delightful" is an old fashioned word perfectly suited to this 1957 film, based upon a novel of the same name by English Judge, Henry Cecil [nom de plume for Judge Henry Cecil Leon].
The story centres around a young barrister's foray into the world of the law.It is an insightful, amusing and witty film. It so perfectly captures many aspects:the trials and...
Published on 5 Jun 2002

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dodgy batch of discs?
I purchased this disc a couple of months ago and have only just played it due to being ill,sadly the disc after 1 hour and 6 minutes keeps cutting out and going blank.Thinking I had a dodgy disc I purchased another but sadly this one does the same after 1 hr and 6 mins.I've also wrote to Optimum Releasing telling them of this problem but I'm still waitng for a reply.I've...
Published on 18 April 2011 by Mr. I. P. Grieve


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly Enjoyable, 5 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Brothers In Law [VHS] (VHS Tape)
"Delightful" is an old fashioned word perfectly suited to this 1957 film, based upon a novel of the same name by English Judge, Henry Cecil [nom de plume for Judge Henry Cecil Leon].
The story centres around a young barrister's foray into the world of the law.It is an insightful, amusing and witty film. It so perfectly captures many aspects:the trials and tribulations of the young barrister nervously starting out,and his early incompetence borne of lack of experience; the unfailing pride of his mother who manages to get a group of friends along to court to watch her son, of whom she is overly proud and unfailingly certain of great things; and of course the habitual offender [represented by our young advocate], who knows a whole lot more than the barrister, through years of "experience".
A thoroughly enjoyable little film, out of a much simpler era. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars JUDGE FOR YOURSELF, 23 Oct 2007
By 
C. Kingswell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brothers In Law (Boulting Brothers Collection) [DVD] (DVD)
Classic British comedy from the Boulting Brothers starring the inimitable Ian Carmichael as a fledgling barrister stumbling through the English Court system and coming up against some very uncooperative and irascible members of the judiciary before he finally wins his first case.
Also along for the ride are Richard Attenborough as his more experienced room-mate and fellow barrister, the delightfully vague Miles Malleson as a senior barrister who is forever dashing from one court to another with hardly a minute to spare, and numerous other well-known faces.
Benjamin Frankel's jaunty music score keeps it all moving along nicely.
One problem I encountered is that the dvd I received made quite a loud humming noise in my dvd player ( SHARP ). Fortunately, it was fine in my other player ( ALBA ). Whether this is a production fault I do not know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yus M'Lud, it's a corker., 6 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brothers In Law (Boulting Brothers Collection) [DVD] (DVD)
Having never read the book upon which this film is based I can only judge it on its own merits, and they are manyfold.
Ian Carmichael manages yet again to play the twit who triumphs, a role which never seemed to tarnish however many times he played it, the true mark of a consumate professional.
Who cannot sympathise with him when faced with irascible golf-playing judges and obtuse or mendacious witnesses.
Richard Attenborough is the perfect foil and gives a first rate performance as his slightly more experienced colleague and friend.
John Le Messurier, in his pre Dads Army days, manages to strike fear into every heart, who would want to appear before him?
The ravishing Jill Adams oozes sensuality from every pore, whilst the caddish Terry Thomas is a delight.
For me though, quite apart from the final courtroom duel, the attempt to discover intelligent life in the slightly dim Mrs Potter (Irene Handl)
reduces me to tears of laughter every time.
Messrs Boulting, many thanks, you done us proud M'Lud.School For Scoundrels [DVD] [1960]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly accurate portrayal of life at the Bar, 26 Jun 2010
This review is from: Brothers In Law (Boulting Brothers Collection) [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this film on BBC2 aged about 8 years old and thought it was fantastic. And it made being a barrister look such fun that I thought I might like to be one when I grew up! I had been looking for a DVD of the film for a long time and then my other half spotted this on Amazon.
This is classic English post-war comedy, genteel and subtle enough for a rainy Sunday afternoon, as one of the other reviewers has said. Ian Carmichael plays his usual stuttering, fairly awkward apologetic character, while Richard Attenborough is superb as the slightly more experienced (but nonetheless bumbling) barrister. As one would expect from a film of it's time, there is the usual caper about who will get the girl etc, which make for some nice gentle comedic moments of the kind that you just don't seem to see in modern films.
However, I would also recommend this film to anyone who is considering a career at the Bar or is interested in such matters. Yes, the film might be over 50 years old, but it is still surprisingly accurate in portraying what life at the Bar is like for those in the early stages of their careers. There may no longer be any hanging around the Bailey in the hope of a Dock Brief, but the dining, scratching around for work and waiting to be paid are just as relevant today (if not more so!) as they were in 1957. As Ian Carmichael's pupil barrister progresses, we see him at the High Court and the Assizes (the latter don't exist any more, but are similar to work in a Crown Court). These scenes make for much merriment as he attempts to bluff his way through each scenario, usually unsuccesfully, and usually incurring the wrath of the judge that he is appearing before. It's not quite that bad in real life, but if the film inspires you to go on to a career at the Bar, at least you can console yourself that your performance never quite plummets to the depths inhabited by Ian Carmichael's pupil barrister. A gem of a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This one travels - just!, 27 Jan 2010
By 
Roy Anderson "War Buff - and civilian combatt... (Mount Brydges, Ont. Canada.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brothers In Law (Boulting Brothers Collection) [DVD] (DVD)
Brothers in Law was a very well received British comedy of the 50's and 60's. This was the heyday - perhaps - of British comedy and many brilliantly finny films were made in this period.

Humour changes, however, and many of those very funny films, of the 50's and 60's lost their way before the end of the 20th century. A few, 'Genevieve' and 'The Titfield Thunderbolt' among them, are as fresh and funny today as the day they were made.

Brothers in Law ALMOST makes it! The very fine acting of Ian Carmichael and Richard Attenborough ensure that satisfaction is obtained from this very good movie. Whether the humour will last into the 21st century will be discovered.

A 'Classic' this film isn't! It IS, however, pleasant and wholesome entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brothers in Law Review, 23 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Brothers In Law (Boulting Brothers Collection) [DVD] (DVD)
This is a good old fashioned film. One to watch on a rainy Sunday afternoon. The principle characters of Ian Carmichael, Sir Richard Attenborough and Nicholas Parsons are very watchable and the story gently moves along taking you with it.
Very watchable and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How to be an advocate - or not!, 28 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brothers In Law (Boulting Brothers Collection) [DVD] (DVD)
Yes, it's a bit dated but well worth a view if you are an advocate. Some of the situations faced by the young barrister, Roger Thursby, are examples of the types of disaster that can face any advocate - and when least expected! The story of asking a County Court Judge - at the suggestion of a 'helpful' fellow advocate in court - for an order in 'Form 271' without knowing what Form 271 was is a good reminder to know your law and the court rules before sticking your head above the parapet and asking for something you don't understand. If you are an advocate or are interested in advocacy, see the film and read the book on which it is based, which is even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hair-Raising, 29 Nov 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brothers In Law (Boulting Brothers Collection) [DVD] (DVD)
This film is funny throughout, but for me the best is served up in the final court scene. 2 aspects always make the hair on the back of my neck stand on end: 1. His standing up to the judge and 2. Realising his mother is on the jury.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frightfully sorry old boy., 4 July 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Brothers In Law (Boulting Brothers Collection) [DVD] (DVD)
Newly qualified and wet behind the ears barrister Roger Thursby joins his flatmate Henry Marshall as trainee at a London law firm. After a bout of confusion, Thursby finds himself defending a case and is hopelessly out of his depth. The only thing he wins is the scorn of the judge. Things are further compounded by the fact that both Roger and Henry have designs on pretty Sally Smith who lives on the top floor. But a chance encounter with 17 time offender Alfred Green is going to turn Roger's world upside down.

As British as Fish & Chips is Brothers In Law. Starring Richard Attenborough {Henry}, Ian Carmichael {Roger}, Terry-Thomas {Alfred Green} and brought to us by the supreme talents of Roy and John Boulting, it's a cheeky and harmful satire on the British wig wearing legal eagle's.

The film opens with Shakespeare's quote from Henry VI (Part 2), "The first thing we do, let's kill all the lawyers," from there we follow the sprightly Carmichael as he bumbles his way thru a series of court encounters and a bad golf day with Judge Ryman {the irrepressible and elegant John Le Mesurier}. Aided by a nice sub-plot that sees Attenborough and Carmichael chase the delectable Jill Adams as Sally Smith, Brothers In Arms is really just unfussy film making. Things further gather a pace once Terry-Thomas arrives on the scene as Alfred Green. With a full head of hair and gap in tooth prominent as usual, the film, and Roger's fortunes considerably changes. It should be noted that Thomas is however only in the film for a very short time, and he doesn't turn up until past the hour mark. So fans of his should not expect a Terry-Thomas vehicle, in fact that the film is included in the Thomas Region 2 Collection Box Set is some what perplexing.

Other notable British stars such as Eric Barker, Nicholas Parsons, Irene Handl and Leslie Phillips pop up along the way. While Benjamin Frankel's music has that lovely plink plonk comedy feel to really aid the charm on offer. Based on the novel written by Henry Cecil {himself a judge}, Brothers In Arms achieves all it sets out to do. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dated but it has its moments, 25 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brothers In Law (Boulting Brothers Collection) [DVD] (DVD)
Ian Carmichael stars in this slightly dated and predictable comedy revolving around a barrister's early years, but it has its comic moments
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brothers In Law (Boulting Brothers Collection) [DVD]
11.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews