Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterclass in misdirection
I bought this on the strength of the other reviews here and I was certainly not disappointed.
After the curiously jaunty title music I was not really expecting such an atmospheric and subtle piece of film making.
This is a master class in misdirection, apprehension and general red-herring-ry without any of it seeming at all out of place within the narrative. You...
Published on 5 Jun 2008 by G. Thomas

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very mild thriller
I usually like 1960's / 70's British thrillers but this movie did not really live up to my expectations. The slim (very slim!) plot tells the tale of two friends who go on a cycling holiday in France. They just have the bicycles and each other, and very little else - seemingly hardly any other luggage! Anyway, due to a mild disagreement, the two girls separate and then...
Published 5 months ago by A. Griffiths


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterclass in misdirection, 5 Jun 2008
By 
G. Thomas (Canterbury UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: And Soon The Darkness [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this on the strength of the other reviews here and I was certainly not disappointed.
After the curiously jaunty title music I was not really expecting such an atmospheric and subtle piece of film making.
This is a master class in misdirection, apprehension and general red-herring-ry without any of it seeming at all out of place within the narrative. You are truly left guessing up until the very last scene (even though you may have your suspicions)

The language barrier between Jane and the locals was an excellent touch, completing the sense of isolation so nicely built by the beautifully bleak and empty locations in rural France.

I have one major gripe with the story but to air it here would be too much of a spoiler. Suffice to say that even a small amount of disclosure can actually enhance trust.... but even so the high-quality of this film's other facets more than makes up for this.
Unbearable tension and a cracking atmosphere make this film a real treat for anyone in search of a quality thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic suspense, 10 Nov 2009
By 
Francisco P. Neto (Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: And Soon The Darkness [DVD] (DVD)
It is certainly with deep satisfaction (and surprise) that I've just bought this DVD. Only yesterday I was searching everywhere on the net to see if by any chance it had been released on DVD. I just couldn't remember the exact title. I am glad I decided to check the recommendations today. The story still clings to me, even after so many years . I remember those two girls on bikes in France and the atmosphere of this movie. To those who enjoy pure mystery and suspense I definitely recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great British classic!, 17 July 2007
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Very dark and brooding British thriller from 1970, set in the eerie countryside and on the lonely roads of France. Two English girls take a cycling holiday abroad where all does not bode well...

So many Great British actresses were underestimated; many will be too young to remember how attractive Michele Dotrice was - she was a versatile actress who played such diverse characters as 'Betty' in 'Some Mothers Do 'Ave 'Em', to more matronly roles in recent years. Here she plays Cathy - a stunning blonde with looks and a figure to die for! She stars alongside Pamela Franklin who's in her usual top form as 'scared girl'. Sandor Eles cuts a fine figure as the handsome frenchman 'Paul' - notably referred to by Cathy as 'dishy' and 'very fanciable' with his sultry good looks - she's not wrong! John Nettleton is also very convincing as the French gendarme in one of his finest movie roles ever. This outstanding cast - along with a superb and gripping story, will keep you on the edge of your seat to the very end! Full of atmosphere and suspense, with subtle hints at everything, including lesbianism with the lonely school mistress (marvellously played by Clare Kelly)

A Great British classic that still pulls a punch at the twist ending after nearly forty years!

Definitely 'old movie gold'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic late 60's thriller., 5 July 2008
By 
Dark Paths "Dark Paths" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: And Soon The Darkness [DVD] (DVD)
A great, atmospheric, film from Brian Clemens (Thriller) and Terry Nation (Dalek Creator). It aches with late 60's atmos and a terribly cool French setting. Mopeds, murder and mystery. A massively overlooked masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creepy, suspensful and makes great use of its location, 29 Jun 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And Soon The Darkness [DVD] (DVD)
One of those movies you don't hear much fuss about, and then you put it on and think 'why not?' A fantastically simple concept is turned into a clever suspense thriller where you are kept guessing until the end. The director uses every trick in the book to pull you along with Jane, played superbly by Franklyn. If you want to analyse it, instead of simply enjoy it, then you can certainly find a few little holes in the plot here and there, but overall, this is a very good job done by the whole team and it does reward you if you just allow yourself to be pulled into its current of suspense. Thoroughly enjoyed it and like someone else has stated, I can see this as prime Hollywood remake material, as they continue their relentless search for untapped old movies to remake. And in a way, I hope it does get remade, just so we can all say 'It is nowhere as good as the quiet little original.' And those hot pants - ooh la la!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great British Classic!, 29 Jan 2008
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: And Soon The Darkness [DVD] (DVD)
Very dark and brooding British thriller from 1970, set in the eerie countryside and on the lonely roads of France. Two English girls take a cycling holiday abroad where all does not bode well...

So many Great British actresses were underestimated; many will be too young to remember how attractive Michele Dotrice was - she was a versatile actress who played such diverse characters as 'Betty' in 'Some Mothers Do 'Ave 'Em', to more matronly roles in recent years. Here she plays Cathy - a stunning blonde with looks and a figure to die for! She stars alongside Pamela Franklin who's in her usual top form as 'scared girl'. Sandor Eles cuts a fine figure as the handsome Frenchman 'Paul' - notably referred to by Cathy as 'dishy' and 'very fanciable' with his sultry good looks - she's not wrong! John Nettleton is also very convincing as the French gendarme in one of his finest movie roles ever. This outstanding cast - along with a superb and gripping story, will keep you on the edge of your seat to the very end! Full of atmosphere and suspense, with subtle hints at everything, including lesbianism with the lonely school mistress (marvellously played by Clare Kelly)

A Great British classic that still pulls a punch at the twist ending after nearly forty years!

Definitely 'old movie gold'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up There With The Best Of Hitchcock, 18 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And Soon The Darkness [DVD] (DVD)
I watched the first few minutes of this many years ago after video-taping it, stopped for whatever reason, didn't finish it off and taped over it accidentally. What a loss!!! It hasn't been shown since.

I bought the DVD recently and watched it in full and I have to say it is BRILLIANT. A quick synopsis: Two young and naive British nurses on a cycling holiday in France one summer have a tiff and separate. One is left on her own by some woods, the other goes onto the next town for a while, but returns to find her friend has disappeared. Along the way they have been followed by a mysterious young man on a motorcycle. It soon transpires that this road is 'un route mauvais' according to the locals, and two years earlier the wood was the scene of a murder of a young Dutch tourist nearly identical in appearance to the blonde friend. The murderer was never caught. The young motorcyclist claims he is a detective, but not from the same locale. Is he all he says he is or is he a murderer?

Written, directed and produced by the same people who made The Avengers, namely the director, Robert Fuest, the writers Brian Clemens and Terry Nation, the film gives nothing away until the final five minutes. The direction is clever and suspenseful. The photography is beautiful and the film has been very well edited. If you can remember The Avengers, it is in a very similar vein accept without the cheesey plot-line and camp performances.

Each of the locals is mysterious. With the exception of an English woman and the young motorcyclist, the locals speak only in French with a smattering of English and the English girls barely speak a word of French so the communication problem only adds to the suspense, but it is also directed very cleverly indeed. The English girl played by Pamela Franklyn has to trust the French, but there is always an element of doubt. As the film progresses, one's suspicions are constantly being modified as the twists unfold, and the likely culprit varies back and forth so that one learns to trust nobody, right up until the shocking end.

This is easily the match of Alfred Hitchcock at his best and in the mould of French new wave directors such as Claude Chabrol who idolised him. The people on here who have written negative reviews are really talking out of their backsides. Just look at the poor ratings of other users for their reviews, whilst the people who have written positive reviews get high approval ratings.

The DVD itself has a very clean and unblemished print; it is very clear and sharp. Despite the sound being in mono, one would barely know it. The music is only upbeat at the beginning, but becomes mysterious and suspenseful thereafter. The soundtrack is by Laurie Johnson (also of the Avengers).

This film is an overlooked classic and a must-buy, especially for those who have never seen it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darkness on a sunny day, 14 Jan 2010
This review is from: And Soon The Darkness [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent movie. The plot is quite simple : a murderer stalks on a road in french Provence. No darkness here, the film takes place in sunny Provence. Darkness is elsewhere... in the mind of people. Lot of red herrings cross the way of Pamela Franklin and her girlfriend. I like this film very much. It's the proof that you can do good films without big budgets. Print is in a good shape. I recommand this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brian Clemens, Robert Fuest , and Terry Nation!, 16 Nov 2007
By 
Karel Bata (London (a posh bit)) - See all my reviews
It's like a who's who of quality 60s/70s cult Britsh TV. They all worked on The Avengers, Brian Clemens wrote some of the best TV thrillers of the time, and Terry Nation is famous for inventing the Daleks.

And Soon The Darkness does rather show it's TV roots and you do sometimes feel like you could be watching a really good Avengers episode - especially with a score by Laurie Johnson! But its hybrid nature is what helps make it so unique. It's a menacing thriller set not in an old dark house (as they all were up till then) but in the bright sunshine of a near deserted French countryside holiday. Beginning slowly it builds into something truly scary - and completely unpredictable! 'Just WHO is the villain?' you keep asking yourself...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very scary, 10 Aug 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And Soon The Darkness [DVD] (DVD)
This film used to get shown on television a lot back in the 1970's. Now you hardly ever see it. When it gets released on regions 2 its well worth buying.

The story is very simple. Two girls are on a cycling holiday in France and one of them disappears. Watching this as a youngster I was very scared and having bought a region 1 copy it holds up well all these years later. The director Robert Feust keeps the tension admirably high without having that 'in your face' quality of some modern thrillers. There is a lot of subtlety in this film that is sadly missing from some modern teen slasher films. Clearly the director was from the Alfred Hitchcock school of what you can't see is scary, rather than showing everything upfront.

There are some nice extras on the region 1 disc, including a commentary, trailers and biograpical details.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

And Soon The Darkness [DVD]
And Soon The Darkness [DVD] by Robert Fuest (DVD - 2008)
8.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews