Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moving nostalgic classic
This black and white 1950's film is a moving story of the struggle of a young girl to overcome her congenital deaf and dumbness. This may not seem an appealing topic for entertainment but the script and the acting lift this film to a minor classic status. It is filmed against the devastating backdrop of war torn Britain with all its deprivations. This adds to the emotion...
Published on 26 Jun 2007 by Shane Slade

versus
44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Film 5/5 ........... DVD 1/5
I have nothing to add with regards to the film itself that the previous reviewer hasn't already covered. With this I am in complete agreement. However, what a disappointment the new dvd prentation turned out to be. No attempt to carry out any restoration work on the print (plenty of shake early on), no special features, nothing extra in the way of any cover inserts and...
Published on 2 Feb 2008 by Colonel Hyde


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moving nostalgic classic, 26 Jun 2007
By 
Shane Slade (Sevenoaks, Kent, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mandy [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
This black and white 1950's film is a moving story of the struggle of a young girl to overcome her congenital deaf and dumbness. This may not seem an appealing topic for entertainment but the script and the acting lift this film to a minor classic status. It is filmed against the devastating backdrop of war torn Britain with all its deprivations. This adds to the emotion of the narrative and supplies a certain nostalgia for those who remember those hard years. The theme probably gave a boost to the film enthusiasts who needed all the hope they could find in those dark days. The film is typical of the understated but effective way that the British film industry handled such themes. I strongly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Memories from my youth, 22 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mandy [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
I recall seeing this film first as a teenager, in the 1950s. I was impressed then, and still warm to this story. Jack Hawkins in a somewhat atypical role pulls it off pretty well, and the debut of Mandy Miller, as the title character, was pretty outstanding.
If you want a little insight into the world of the deaf, this film is a good watch, although I'm sure that the techniques are now outdated. You'll shed a tear or two, that's for sure.
This film was on my 'want' list for many years (never released on VHS, so far as I am aware), so it's appearance on DVD is most welcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Movie, 15 Sep 2012
This review is from: Mandy [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
I watched this movie for the first time last weekend and was moved to tears.The film left an impressionable memory with me that I will say will last forever.This little girl played the role of Mandy with such natural ability it was amazing...I have never been moved by a film as much as I was by this film and what a wonderful world it would be if everyone could watch this film. Perhaps we could change people to think differently in a way that would make this world a beautiful place...Watch this movie ,enjoy the cry....The emotion will be with you for the rest of your life....Mandy was a beautiful and unforgettable experience that had something special that will be in my heart forever..God bless her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very moving, 5 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I remember seeing this on two occasions when I was a child and was not dissapointed when I bought and viewed it recently. I don't think anyone could watch it without being moved at the story of a deaf and dumb little girl and her struggle to be heard in the world. Even my husband cried! While thing have come a long way with inclusion and sign language over the years, to me this film still portrays the frustration of not being able to communicate readily. I defy anyone to see it and not cry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mandy lovers everywhere, 7 Feb 2009
This review is from: Mandy [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
Loved this film the first time. Really enjoyed it again and again - this is unmissable and a great voyeaux on attitudes to special needs in the 1950's. Bought it with 'The Miracle Worker' - a great weepy weekend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mandy, 14 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mandy [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
Mandy was a very sentimental film about a deaf child,and especially since child actress Mandy Miller was not deaf,she played a brillant part along side top stars Phyllis Calvert,Dorothy Allison and Jack Hawkins..pure brillance!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complex and Moving, 9 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mandy [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
As others have said the storyline is about a deaf girl in the 1950's and the problems she encounters in getting the right education both in terms of social attitudes, resources and teaching methods. It is a bit of a weepy but there are subtleties that, for me anyway, make this something of a classic.

Although the viewer is obviously primarily concerned about Mandy, this central theme is also used to explore the attitudes and relationships of the other main characters, mainly relevant to the 1950's but some of it timeless. Primarily the mother is fighting for what she feels is the correct education in a special school against the wishes of her husband and his family. However this is not simply a right/wrong, good/bad storyline where good has to triumph. It is also about characters who make choices based on their upbringing, concepts and personal circumstances.

While there are many snobbish traits to the family and while the family clearly make wrong choices, the character interraction is quite subtle. The husband in particular is a complex character who does tend towards loving his wife and wanting to do the best for his child but who does also tend to believe that his choices are the right ones and that he should be the one to decide. When she goes against his wishes he has conflicts that fall short of an all out confrontation with her, still damaging the situation but not as badly as he could have. There is also a subplot of issues at the school with the headmaster who, although totally dedicated to the welfare of the children and correct in his teaching methods, is also slightly arrogant and to an extent in part responsible for the conflict he ends up facing with governors of the school. There are other nice touches, in particular showing the stresses faced by a new teacher, that demonstrate how fine the line is for a potential breakdown in care at the school.

All of these conflicts and complex personalities build up a tension throughout the film as there are a number of crossroads where these issues threaten to derail Mandy's development. The film does reach a conclusion but leaves many relationships and the future still to be worked through.

A fabulous film and one from an era which allowed multi dimensional characters and was not afraid to leave loose ends rather than bring the story to a complete conclusion. A precursor to films such as 'A Taste Of Honey' but in my view superior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Film 5/5 ........... DVD 1/5, 2 Feb 2008
This review is from: Mandy [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
I have nothing to add with regards to the film itself that the previous reviewer hasn't already covered. With this I am in complete agreement. However, what a disappointment the new dvd prentation turned out to be. No attempt to carry out any restoration work on the print (plenty of shake early on), no special features, nothing extra in the way of any cover inserts and worst of all NO SUBTITLES!

At around 9.00 this could and should have been so much better.

GREAT FILM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 1 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mandy [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
I first saw this dvd when I was fifteen years old. So I thought I wonder if I could get it through Amazon! I am so pleased. The film gives a great insight into how the deaf and dumb children are taught. Plus, the drama in this film. I needed a box of tissues!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and moving, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mandy [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
A superb film which is touching and sensitive, exploring the issues faced by a young girl who is profoundly deaf and her parents. The debate that the film provokes about special education has powerful resonances today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mandy [DVD] [1952]
Mandy [DVD] [1952] by Alexander MacKendrick (DVD - 2008)
11.32
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews