Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice premise, scarily plausible but I was hoping for something more savage
I took to this film immediately. I saw the opening scenes at work where it was being transmitted on one of our film channels. I would love to see a UK adaptation of this film, or something along the same lines, as the basic premise is somewhat topical in the UK at the moment.

I come from a relatively poor background (grew up in Teesside during the 1980s) but...
Published on 3 Nov 2010 by Philip Quinton

versus
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "My first wife was 'tarded. She's a pilot now."
Idiocracy starts with a preface, it tells how the process of social advancement has been stunted due to social trends seeing a shift in what is seen as desirable - dumbing down of society has seen ambition watered down - glamour and celebrity has replaced intelligence and ingenuity. Society is getting stupid. When an experiment to freeze two humans for a year goes...
Published on 13 Jan 2012 by @GeekZilla9000


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant in my opinion, 7 July 2013
By 
R. Hince (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Idiocracy [DVD] (DVD)
Maybe I have an underdeveloped sense of humour or something, but I absolutely love this film. I love sci-fi and especially time travel related sci-fi (which this kind of is... you will need to watch it) but the comedy just tops it off brilliantly. I can also relate greatly to the main theme of the movie, i.e., that society is forever being 'dumbed down' and that humanity is progressively becoming stupider as a result... let that be a warning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Comedy Sci-fi, 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Idiocracy [DVD] (DVD)
Interested in Sci-fi I bought this after an article in i newspaper. Turned out to be a good idea but not particularly well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated, 7 Feb 2012
This review is from: Idiocracy [DVD] (DVD)
Sometimes a movie can be so bad that it turns good again. This is one of those movies and it is way too underrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent-ish cult comedy, 10 July 2011
By 
Mr. Richard I. Calvert "Asparagus" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Idiocracy [DVD] (DVD)
Fox didn't distribute this film properly, that's the only reason more people haven't heard of it. Apparently Mike Judge included too many negative product placements - see if you can spot any ;-)
On the surface the central idea is "dumbing-down" - what will the future be like if people kept getting dumber? The answer - monster trucks, people wearing tracksuits, and out of town shopping centres the size of... whatever. Obviously that is like many places today, so this movie now has a premise to take the rise out of whatever it chooses. In a dumb future... they'd probably appoint a wrestler/porn star as president, because wrestling and porn are dumb. They'd talk in rapper slang because rapper slang is dumb. Then it gets political - they wouldn't be able to look after their garbage disposal, they would eat too much fast food, dumb stuff that we all do (occasionally).
So it's pretty good satire, and it's fun to spot "dumb" things in real life afterwards, like people who lower their cars to look cool, then get stuck on speed-bumps.

The movie is okay, a bit cheap-looking in the effects department, but it suits the cut-price lowest-common denominator future. Luke WIlson pulls some good "aghast" faces as the only man with 100 IQ and the jokes are funny.

It isn't really likely that the human race are getting dumber, but I think we are accepting less responsibility for our actions - this is really what the movie is about, so, make sure you turn off Jackass, have salad for dinner and put your rubbish in the recycling otherwise...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A dystopian prophecy not so far-fetched, 29 May 2011
This review is from: Idiocracy [DVD] (DVD)
I really appreciated what this movie was trying to do. Those who didn't like this movie simply don't understand Mike Judge's humor, and that's fine. You're not dumb for not getting it. I didn't like Beavis & Butthead at first either. But with Mike Judge, there's always something else going on, and you have to realize the social commentary he tries to make before you take his stuff at face value.

This movie was dead-on accurate in the way it prophesized the state of western culture. It was also completely relatable to me, because I realized that I actually knew a number of people as dumb as those in this movie. This is where we are headed. Don't believe me? Check out your local TV station's prime time lineup. If there are fewer than 3 reality shows on at any given time, I'll gladly take back my comments.

At the same time, I think Judge relies a little bit on that stupidity to gain an audience. The dumb fans of Beavis & Butthead probably overlooked the irony and fact that they were staring into a mirror. Idiocracy, on the other hand, was a bit harder to enjoy than B&B without recognizing that irony. Basically, if you have contempt for mankind, you'll probably dig this flick.

I subtracted a star from the review because the ending kind of wanes and also because of people's observation that the premise is basically ripped off from Cyril M. Kornbluth's "The Marching Morons"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Already halfway there!, 4 Aug 2007
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Idiocracy [DVD] (DVD)
If you're in the mood for sharp dose of intelligent satire then Idiocracy is the movie for you. I'd never heard of it until I gave it a rent and it's wall to wall hilarious, I kid you not.

Luke Wilson plays magnificently average Army guy Joe Bowers, who is encouraged to take part in a hibernation experiment because of his complete ordinariness. Along with Rita, an equally average hooker (!), he is sent to sleep in a large incubator with the intention of being woken up in a year. But during his slumber there is a scandal on the base and it's closed down, the incubators forgotten about.

Flash forward 500 years and the human race has been incredibly dumbed-down, following the orders of super-conglomerates, talking in a warped language of unintelligible slang syntax, wanting nothing more than to sit in front of a big screen TV and watch moronic shows while being bombarded with commercials for unessential products while the planet turns into a giant trash heap. Doesn't sound like it could ever happen could it? Breaking free of his incubator and let loose in this strange world, Joe now finds himself the most intelligent person alive, but instead of using this newfound talent to make friends and make the world a better place he is shunned by society for being 'faggy'. As Lisa Simpson once put it, as intelligence goes up, happiness goes down.

We really do live in a world where the REAL brains, scientists, doctors and honest leaders are cast aside to make way for footballers, movie-stars and backstabbing politicians. Eerie foreshadowing, no doubt about it.

Desperate to get back to his own time, Joe teams up with Rita to find a supposed time machine. But he is made 'Secretary of the Interior' by wrestling champion, porn-star extraordinaire and President of the United States Camancho. The country is the middle of a devastating dust-bowl since no crops are growing. But that's because they are being fed with Brawndo (Gatorade) because the Brawndo cooperation deemed water a threat to their profits and bought the rights to it. A problem easily solved. But who's going to believe that?

It's a shame this film didn't find legs in the cinemas, but like Mike Judge's other cult hit, Office Space, I'm sure it will find an audience on DVD. Judge seems to have a strange, unpredictable sense of humor. I'm a big fan of King of the Hill and Daria and if you are too then you should definitely check out Idiocracy. After all, it's fun for us intelligent folks to laugh at the dumb. Though I fear we are fighting a losing battle.

And how can you turn down any movie with a character called 'Beef Supreme'?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Comic Vision of Dysgenic Uhmerica, 6 Dec 2008
By 
Alistair McConnachie (Glasgow, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Idiocracy [DVD] (DVD)
This film was completed in 2005. Its release was delayed in the USA until the end of 2006. Even then, it was only released in 125 US cinemas instead of the usual 3000, and box office takings didn't even reach half a million dollars. It was never released in the UK, and is only now available on DVD.

It's also one of the funniest and most original films of the last 10 years and the product of a brilliant mind.

Everything points to this film having been deliberately suppressed! Perhaps a clue can be found in the introductory voiceover:

"As the 21st century began, human evolution was at a turning point. Natural selection, the process by which the strongest, the smartest, the fastest, reproduced in greater numbers than the rest, a process which had once favoured the noblest traits of man, now began to favour different traits. Most science fiction of the day predicted a future that was more civilised and more intelligent. But as time went on, things seemed to be heading in the opposite direction - a dumbing-down. How did this happen? Evolution does not necessarily reward intelligence. With no natural predators to thin the herd, it began to simply reward those who reproduced the most and left the intelligent to become an endangered species."

That's the amazing theme of the movie! The intelligent have been outbred by the stupid and America has been dumbed-down into Uh-merica.

Written and directed by Mike Judge, the comic-genius behind the Beavis and Butthead and King of the Hill cartoon series, it stars Luke Wilson as Joe Bauers - the most statistically average man in the US Army - and Maya Rudolph as Rita, a prostitute.

In 2005, they find themselves in a secret Army experiment, frozen in "Hibernation Pods", which are forgotten about and chucked in a garbage heap. "As the years passed, mankind became stupider at a frightening rate...The population exploded and intelligence continued to decline until humanity was incapable of solving even its most basic problems."

Five hundred years later, the Great Garbage Avalanche of 2505 propels Joe's pod through the window of a "lawyer", Frito, who happens to be watching "Ow, my Balls" on the "Violence Network".

Joe and Rita now find themselves the most intelligent people around. In Uh-merica of 2505, everybody drinks "Brawndo: The Thirst Mutilator". Nobody drinks water - which had become a threat to corporate profits. "Water? You mean like in the toilet?"

The anti-corporate theme is scathing - perhaps another reason why the film was suppressed. It pulls no punches against Starbucks, which has now morphed into a brothel, which also serves coffee. Food is only available from vending machines run by Carl's Jr., an actual American fast food chain, and each Costco, the massive American store, is now bigger than the city itself.

Everybody, except Joe and Rita, has a barcode tattooed on their wrists and those who don't are the "unscannables", who are committing an offence.

The film also digs at the politically-correct use of language. Prisoners are no longer called prisoners but "Particular Individuals". Joe is unscannable and ends up in a "House of Particular Individuals" - the new name for a prison.

President Comacho - "5 time Ultimate Smackdown champion and porn superstar" - soon finds that Joe has "a higher IQ than any man alive" and promotes him to the Cabinet so he can fix "all that starving bullshxt".

This is a high-quality, intelligently-observed, brilliantly-acted, film. Luke Wilson as Joe, Dax Shepherd as Frito and Terry Alan Crews as the President are particularly outstanding. You can also tell the people who made this film, especially the scores of extras, had great fun doing it! It's got a good feel about it.

Idiocracy was released only in six US cities and only 125 cinemas, instead of the usual US-wide release of 2500-3000 cinemas. It was not released in UK cinemas at all!

20th Century Fox, the film's distributor, did nothing to promote it. There were no trailers - the DVD is released without the usual "Theatrical Trailer" - and no television ads, or press kits for media outlets, and no critic screenings were provided.

It is impossible not to conclude that Fox actively suppressed this film, while doing the bare minimum to fulfil its contractual obligation. It is impossible to consider that the suppression of this film is because of its controversial messages - both its vision of a dysgenic future, and its surprisingly strong anti-corporate message.

The film would have made tens of millions had it had a full cinema release. As a critic wrote in The Guardian when it played in a limited way in the USA at the end of last year, "I saw it last Saturday in a half-empty house. Two days later, same place, same show - packed-out. There's an audience for this movie, but its natural demographic barely knows it's out there." (John Patterson, "Stupid Fox", The Guardian, 8-9-06)

In the UK, it was released straight to DVD in May 2007.

As always, you get more of what you pay for. If you want to help Mike Judge produce more of this sort of stuff, the best way is to buy this DVD and any other of his works. This DVD release had, by March 07, earned $9million, over 20 times its limited theatrical release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 22 July 2007
By 
Captain Awesome (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Idiocracy [DVD] (DVD)
Most sci-fi seems to paint a nice, happy picture of the future, but I really find this unlikely.
Idiocracy paints the sort of future I think is far more likely, whilst being very, very amusing.

How could you possibly say no to a movie that contains the surgeon general's warning of: "Warning: The Surgeon General has one lung and a voicebox but he could still kick your sorry ass"?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's what plants crave, 4 Aug 2009
By 
Beverley Collins "Rhissanna" (Arkansas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Idiocracy [DVD] (DVD)
Ok, I saw this, expecting another 'Office Space', and was a little disappointed. Then I realised I was quoting it.
Frequently.
See it twice. See it with friends. It's screamingly funny and full of details you have to be quick to catch. I didn't notice what the lawyer's seat actually was, until the third viewing.
And don't dismiss it as 'Only in America'. Look around you while you sip that sports drink....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Silly, funny, worth the money, 29 Sep 2008
By 
D. Gallacher "Goat" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Idiocracy [DVD] (DVD)
Do you like witty, well written dialogue? Do you enjoy subtle, unassuming humour? If so, I wouldn't really recommend Idiocracy. There is a subtle irony in this product, being that it is on the one hand a social commentary on the state of our future intelligence, and on the other hand, a truly idiotic film. But it's charm shines through with nods to current trends here and there, and generally fine premise. Funny, crude and more than a little disturbingly plausible. Buy it if you laugh at Beavis & Butthead. Same creator after all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Idiocracy [DVD]
Idiocracy [DVD] by Justin Long (DVD - 2007)
4.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews