Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice premise, scarily plausible but I was hoping for something more savage
I took to this film immediately. I saw the opening scenes at work where it was being transmitted on one of our film channels. I would love to see a UK adaptation of this film, or something along the same lines, as the basic premise is somewhat topical in the UK at the moment.

I come from a relatively poor background (grew up in Teesside during the 1980s) but...
Published on 3 Nov. 2010 by Philip Quinton

versus
25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "My first wife was 'tarded. She's a pilot now."
Idiocracy starts with a preface, it tells how the process of social advancement has been stunted due to social trends seeing a shift in what is seen as desirable - dumbing down of society has seen ambition watered down - glamour and celebrity has replaced intelligence and ingenuity. Society is getting stupid. When an experiment to freeze two humans for a year goes...
Published on 13 Jan. 2012 by @GeekZilla9000


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "My first wife was 'tarded. She's a pilot now.", 13 Jan. 2012
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Idiocracy [DVD] (DVD)
Idiocracy starts with a preface, it tells how the process of social advancement has been stunted due to social trends seeing a shift in what is seen as desirable - dumbing down of society has seen ambition watered down - glamour and celebrity has replaced intelligence and ingenuity. Society is getting stupid. When an experiment to freeze two humans for a year goes slightly awry due to a mishap - the two 'volunteers' find themselves 500 years in the future, the compounded effect of mediocrity means they are the two most intelligent people on Earth - or America at least.

This is a film with a message which seems ever more relevant. With an increasing amount of entertainment focussing on cheap, unchallenging creations designed to appeal to the largest common denominator and with less people interested in current affairs - this is a comic warning of what could be if we continue to shun that which is stimulating in favour of bland mediocrity. There's some great humour here and it ranges from the silly slapstick of TV programme "Ow, my balls!" to clever parodies of environmental or political issues. The potential for this to be one of the great social satires is there, but the goofball aspects sometimes dominate a bit too much. In 2005 Fox famously gave up on this film and you can't help but get the impression that with a bit more support and energy behind it, that Idiocracy could have been one of the strongest films of the year. It's a shame that this movie has blended into anonymity because it has something to say, and it says it with a cheeky smile - in some ways it fell victim to the safe mainstream-ism that it warns against. It's probably also guilty of not being quite as gutsy as it could have been, it could have been a bit more savage with its portrayal of homogenised society and not played it quite so safe.

The film itself goes on for around 80 minutes but don't expect any DVD extras to bulk out any free viewing time because other than a few deleted scenes there's no other bonus features. There's no Blu-Ray release of Idiocracy yet but that's no surprise considering that the film only had a restricted release in the first place. Luke Wilson manages to convince as the 'average' man who finds himself at the pinnacle of human intelligence and Dax Shepard provides plenty of laughs as the moronic future-man, the rest of the cast are okay but never fully utilised.

In a nutshell: Mike Judge's acute observations are used to distil much of what is wrong with the world and create a whole future from it. Idiocracy is a fun, light-hearted satire which is more intelligent and allegorical than it gets credit for, but the potential was there for it to have been more scathing - it's funny, but it's also a missed opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice premise, scarily plausible but I was hoping for something more savage, 3 Nov. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Idiocracy [DVD] (DVD)
I took to this film immediately. I saw the opening scenes at work where it was being transmitted on one of our film channels. I would love to see a UK adaptation of this film, or something along the same lines, as the basic premise is somewhat topical in the UK at the moment.

I come from a relatively poor background (grew up in Teesside during the 1980s) but was fortunate enough to get some higher education back when it was still free and I have worked for a living ever since. I was well into my thirties before I started fathering children and we're sticking at two. I resent being labelled middle-class because I still work unsociable hours and long shifts and I have to do constant overtime just to make ends meet.
In contrast, and in far greater numbers, much younger people with little or no education who are getting off their faces and knocked-up frequently enough on cheaply-built, miserable, high-density housing estates have found their lifestyles to be curiously rewarding as the current welfare regulations provide more money and bigger housing for young, expanding unemployed families who haven't lifted a finger outside their own homes since they left school. I don't resent them, I almost envy them! Get away with it while you still can!

It's called dysgenics. Look it up. It's a regressive kind of evolution, survival of the dumbest. Slackers, thugs and pram-faces who have found that they can have babies for a living and are, in their expanding numbers, hugely influential as consumers in determining what sort of ignorant, proletarian bibble gets printed en-masse in the red-top tabloids, England football flags in every window of every TWOC'ed car and smelly council flat, and they seem to be vastly outnumbering educated professionals. I see childish spelling errors EVERYWHERE! Not just in supermarkets and newspaper adverts but in recruitment agency windows! A racist chav who appears on Big Brother and dies of cancer is sainted in the media and practically canonised by her peers because... what? She had babies? She had cancer?

Idiocracy! We are so close now it is not even funny. Now more than ever, for so many reasons, we need scientists and teachers and other high-grade professionals to find a path through the troubles ahead and give us a prosperous future but the goverments keep cutting funding for education and schools keep lowering the standards for GCSE grades. What for? Why can't we face the truth? (I recently met one of the most vacant, air-headed 17-year-olds I have ever known and her GCSE results were twice as good as mine were in 1989... yet she appears lack even the most common knowledge about the subjects she studied let alone anything else!)

The Big Society is getting stupider and stupider and this film is less of a comedy and more of a warning of things to come! I just wish that instead of framing the premise around a standard feel-good Hollywood film with a standard happy ending that Mike Judge could have spent more time laying into the issue. This would have made a good mockumentary, but of course it would never have got the backing.

Love it anyway... at least somebody is saying what most of us are too polite to voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sharp, satirical, chilling. And utterly hilarious., 16 April 2007
By 
Paul Larkin (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Idiocracy [DVD] (DVD)
This is the best film I've seen in a long time, and it's surely destined for cult status.

It presents a view of the future which is totally opposite from the conventional hi-tech Utopian vision. The world's population consists entirely of puerile idiots who haven't a clue about anything. The attention to detail in the way the moronic goings-on are depicted is quite incredible - kind of reminded me of the Fifth Element in some respects.

The cinematography is also rather beautiful in a melancholic way, even though the world it's portraying is poisonous, artificial and utterly unwholesome. The "garbage avalanche" scene is awesome.

Highly recommended. I rented this at the weekend and have had to purchase it immediately - I can see myself watching this over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOT SURE / SURE NOT, 4 Jan. 2010
By 
Laz (UK, London) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Idiocracy [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the best film I've ever seen!
You must watch it few times over and over again to pick up the "hidden" details/poems.

Well not sure? You should be!
This movie is contain a deep message inside and if you will understand it, you will be realize that how funny it is.
I never heard about it and I saw someone's comment, it was not released in the cinemas here.

Anyway you wont regret it if you buy it!

Important! Watch through the whole movie the very end of the film contain one more good poem. After the cast list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent-ish cult comedy, 10 July 2011
By 
Mr. Richard I. Calvert "Asparagus" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Idiocracy [DVD] (DVD)
Fox didn't distribute this film properly, that's the only reason more people haven't heard of it. Apparently Mike Judge included too many negative product placements - see if you can spot any ;-)
On the surface the central idea is "dumbing-down" - what will the future be like if people kept getting dumber? The answer - monster trucks, people wearing tracksuits, and out of town shopping centres the size of... whatever. Obviously that is like many places today, so this movie now has a premise to take the rise out of whatever it chooses. In a dumb future... they'd probably appoint a wrestler/porn star as president, because wrestling and porn are dumb. They'd talk in rapper slang because rapper slang is dumb. Then it gets political - they wouldn't be able to look after their garbage disposal, they would eat too much fast food, dumb stuff that we all do (occasionally).
So it's pretty good satire, and it's fun to spot "dumb" things in real life afterwards, like people who lower their cars to look cool, then get stuck on speed-bumps.

The movie is okay, a bit cheap-looking in the effects department, but it suits the cut-price lowest-common denominator future. Luke WIlson pulls some good "aghast" faces as the only man with 100 IQ and the jokes are funny.

It isn't really likely that the human race are getting dumber, but I think we are accepting less responsibility for our actions - this is really what the movie is about, so, make sure you turn off Jackass, have salad for dinner and put your rubbish in the recycling otherwise...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Conception - Disappointing Development, 28 May 2011
By 
Lochman (Lochearnhead, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Idiocracy [DVD] (DVD)
I think that the basic premise of this film is great: shunting human evolution into a siding and looking at the result from the perspective of the present day. It gives plenty of opportunity to have a good side-swipe at political correctness gone mad and the general dumbing-down of life that is so painfully obvious to anyone today over the age of fifty.

However, subtle it ain't. There's plenty of good, old-fashioned toilet humour. This, of course, makes sure that we get the message that our descendants in this scenario are really very, very, very thick; really stupid; in fact, complete morons. Sadly, many of the scenes that we witness are really not so far removed from the reality of everyday life today... but then, that too, I'm sure, is perfectly deliberate.

For me, though, I think that they could have made far more of the basic gag. It's as though someone has come up with a brilliantly good idea but then got worried that it might be too much for most people to understand so has fallen back on lots of farting and fornicating to make it "entertaining". Also, the characters aren't particularly strong or sympathetic. After a while, I didn't really care whether GI Average Joe Bauers survives or not, or what becomes of the human race.

Nonetheless, I would still say that this is a film worth seeing... if only because I'm beginning to fear that they've probably got it absolutely right and this is how our race will end: not with a bang but a whimper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A dystopian prophecy not so far-fetched, 29 May 2011
This review is from: Idiocracy [DVD] (DVD)
I really appreciated what this movie was trying to do. Those who didn't like this movie simply don't understand Mike Judge's humor, and that's fine. You're not dumb for not getting it. I didn't like Beavis & Butthead at first either. But with Mike Judge, there's always something else going on, and you have to realize the social commentary he tries to make before you take his stuff at face value.

This movie was dead-on accurate in the way it prophesized the state of western culture. It was also completely relatable to me, because I realized that I actually knew a number of people as dumb as those in this movie. This is where we are headed. Don't believe me? Check out your local TV station's prime time lineup. If there are fewer than 3 reality shows on at any given time, I'll gladly take back my comments.

At the same time, I think Judge relies a little bit on that stupidity to gain an audience. The dumb fans of Beavis & Butthead probably overlooked the irony and fact that they were staring into a mirror. Idiocracy, on the other hand, was a bit harder to enjoy than B&B without recognizing that irony. Basically, if you have contempt for mankind, you'll probably dig this flick.

I subtracted a star from the review because the ending kind of wanes and also because of people's observation that the premise is basically ripped off from Cyril M. Kornbluth's "The Marching Morons"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my review, 16 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Idiocracy [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent depiction of the way society is going thanks to the dumbing down of most aspects of life by those who think they know best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious and terrifying at the same time!, 29 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Idiocracy [DVD] (DVD)
This film looks at what the future would be like if intelligent people stopped having babies and only the really stupid people had lots...it is really funny, a great silly film, definitely worth a watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 16 Nov. 2010
By 
P. Scott (Belfast, N.I) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Idiocracy [DVD] (DVD)
I only saw this movie for the first time last year and I have to say it is so true, you can actually imagine this happening (to a certain degree).

Basically (average) Joe and Rita get frozen, army experiement is disbanded but they were forgotten about. Fast forward a couple of hunderd years and they wake up. Everyone is stupid with no common sense. Joe and Rita are now the smartest people on the planet. This movie is definately worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Idiocracy [DVD]
Idiocracy [DVD] by Mike Judge (DVD - 2007)
£4.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews