Customer Reviews


527 Reviews
5 star:
 (315)
4 star:
 (138)
3 star:
 (41)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


137 of 138 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Be Dumbbell and Miss Out on These!
If you're looking for a some free weights to use, these are a good choice. Lots of advantages here...

-reasonably priced
-come with a carrying case
-not plastic, made of metal, so one pair is all you'll ever need

Is there anything bad about them? Well, they are heavy (just kidding). Seriously though, I can only think of two disadvantages...
Published on 7 Dec 2010 by an avid reader

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great weights but useless broken case..
I recieved my dumbells today and they arrived on time which i was pleased about. The dumbells are very easy to figure out, simple to screw on all the disks and they all fit correctly (ive never used dumbells before). Probally the only dumbells i'll ever buy, 20kg is way to heavy for me really, im a skinny ectomorph who is a newbie to weights but hopefully theyll help me...
Published on 24 Aug 2010 by CoffeeFiend


‹ Previous | 1 253 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

137 of 138 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Be Dumbbell and Miss Out on These!, 7 Dec 2010
This review is from: York 20kg Cast Iron Dumbbell Set and Case (Sports)
If you're looking for a some free weights to use, these are a good choice. Lots of advantages here...

-reasonably priced
-come with a carrying case
-not plastic, made of metal, so one pair is all you'll ever need

Is there anything bad about them? Well, they are heavy (just kidding). Seriously though, I can only think of two disadvantages. Some people might be bothered by the rough handles. If this is the case, a) you will get used to them over time, but you could get callouses, and b) try some plastic wrap on the handles if need be.

Other than that, the only bad thing I can say is that to change the weights, the collars aren't the clip-on kind that make plate changes go quickly- rather they're the screw-on type- which take longer to get on and off, and some might find it a bit cumbersome if you're changing the plates around a lot.

All-in-all a good item to purchase if you're in the market for some dumbbells. And those with shoulder problems might also want to check out Treat Your Own Rotator Cuff for some good rehab/prevention exercises for the shoulder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Product, 26 May 2010
By 
S. Oxtoby - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: York 20kg Cast Iron Dumbbell Set and Case (Sports)
I've had the weights for a couple of weeks now. They arrived within 2 days, which was ridiculously impressive considering it was free delivery and an incredibly cheap price. The box they came in is sturdy enough, and easy to move around. The only real negative critism I can make of the packaging is that it can be awkward to repack. The weights have to be standing almost perfectly upright for the case to shut, and it can take a while to get the 12 of them to do that. Perhaps it'll become easier the more used to it I get, but it would have been nice to have some individual slots to place them in.

Upon first getting the weights out, they do smell a little odd. However I haven't found the smell to linger inside a room; the smell seems to stay exclusively on the weights. They slot onto the bars perfectly, with the spinlock collars again being a perfect fit (as opposed to some less well made spinlock products). Other reviews have mentioned the collars becoming loose; this hasn't happened to me yet so I still have full confidence. The rubber washers on the bars and the collars prevent the weights from making noise. Unfortunately the rubber washer on the collars is prone to becoming unglued and falling out - but they're hard to lose and easy to reglue if you're upto it.

I loved the variety in weight. To be able to start a workout using heavier weight than you're used to in an attempt to use progression, then when that becomes too much to be able to quickly and easily drop down to a lower weight to finish the workout is fabulous. They really do change quickly, with a wide range of different weight to go between. In addition when you get to the stage where these weights are no longer a challenge new discs can be bought and added without the need to buy a further set of bars or collars. Buying a set of fixed weights only mean the smaller weights have to be thrown out as you're no longer able to use them. These weights should be good for a long long time.

Finally a lot of the reviews mention the roughness of the bars. I didn't notice it myself, but my sister had a go with picking one up and immediately asked me why it was so rough. It won't do any harm to just grin and bear it if you do find the bars rough (unless you have some kind of skin complaint) as it'll just make your skin tougher. It won't make your skin harder, drier, simply more capable of handling rough objects without harm. If you really can't take that however, gloves will remove the issue entirely. Past reviews have recommended using clingfilm, I may be completely off the mark but that sounds plain dangerous. Sweat and smooth smooth clingfilm in the middle of a tiring workout.. Sounds like a recipe for harm.

In conclusion then, for the price what you get is outstanding. The product does its job, and the variety is fantastic. The case could be slightly better designed, and the collar washers better fitted, but those complaints are so small it's unreal. If you're looking to get some weights, these have my complete and full 5 of 5 recommedation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money, 25 May 2009
By 
Ugo (Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: York 20kg Cast Iron Dumbbell Set and Case (Sports)
These are good value for money dumbells for beginners and intermediates alike. Good selection of weights to use so if you want to gently ease yourself into things or just tone your muscles rather than build them you can start off very light at just 1kg per dumbell (0.5kg x2 on each). You can also help build or maintain a fair bit of muscle by using them at their heaviest plus York sell additional weights which can be added onto the spinlock bars which is handy if you want to progress further.

Only downsides are the black finish tends to flake a bit with wear and the grip can be rough on the hands using the heavier weights but as others have said, just wear gloves. They do the job at a bargain price. 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for only 24.99, 30 Jun 2008
By 
Phil "Pitpat" (Oxford, OXON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York 20kg Cast Iron Dumbbell Set and Case (Sports)
Went for this as it is arround half the price of most of the other sets.
I purchased it Friday night and it arrived on Monday. So it looks like Amazon have fixed their problem sourcing the weights.
The metal bar is abrasive on bare hands (probably quite good if you use gloves though). However, this was quickly solved using a few layers of clingfilm as suggested by Raj B earlier on.
All in all. A good purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I was looking for!, 21 Sep 2008
By 
C. Haynes (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York 20kg Cast Iron Dumbbell Set and Case (Sports)
These weights are perfect for the non-pro. The spinlock collars are a good fit and have a rubber washer to stop the weights making a noise when in use. The case is heavy duty, but will only really be used when transporting the weights, i.e. not very often. The bars are very rough, so invest in a pair of weightlifting gloves, or a pair of woolen gloves.

The weights are quite small, too. Much smaller than York's sand-filled ones, so they are much easier to handle - you can do tricep exercises without hitting your back. Very handy.

As another reviewer has said, the weights come with a sheet of exercises and you do need a bench for some of them, but you can get away with lying on the floor on a few pillows if a bench is out of your price range (though Amazon do sell some for less than 50 now, for example: York DB4 Dumbell Bench).

Overall, I'm very happy with these weights, and will look into the 50Kg set soon... York 50kg Cast Iron in a Case with Wheels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Set Of Weights, 30 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York 20kg Cast Iron Dumbbell Set and Case (Sports)
Have recently started a new fitness regime and needed a good set of free weights to help me shift some fat..

The product comes nicely boxed making them easy to transport. All the discs fit neatly into the box and adding the weights to the bar is very easy and quick to do.

There is even a handy training guide inside with advice and tips for what workouts to do which is great for beginners.

All in all I would say these are great for people looking for an entry level set of free weights and I have had no problems with mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weight a moment! Read this!, 3 Aug 2011
This review is from: York 20kg Cast Iron Dumbbell Set and Case (Sports)
Let me start by saying getting free delivery from amazon is a bargain - the box is huge and obviously heavy! Set up is very easy and simple, and comes with an exercise chart. As a 16 year old lad I found this very useful. The weights smelt terrible for a couple of days only, and a month later they don't smell at all. I cannot find fault with these and I already feel stronger. 5 well deserved stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic !, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York 20kg Cast Iron Dumbbell Set and Case (Sports)
I received these dumbbells within 2 days of purchasing them, they where packaged very well and there was no marks or damage to the product.

The price for these dumbbells are amazing considering what you get and the build quality is top notch!
However some people said the bar grip is far too rough and it is! This is easily solved by sanding the bar with metal sandpaper, it does not make the bar smooth it just gets rid of the rough edge. After doing so the dumbbells are far more comfortable for use and still has bags of grip. Things I like about the product:

- The carry case, very convenient perfect to store under your bed or in small places etc
- The quality of the entire product, it feels sturdy and long lasting, only fault was the bar roughness but that can be solved!
- The weights do not slip off the bar, once the spinlock is tightened those weights are not going to move
- The chart that is provided is very useful when it comes to designing a workout routine, also details on how you should train and safety precautions are detailed on the chart.
- The weights are smaller in size when compared to the sandfilled weights that I previously used, I am now able to do leg exercises, without the dumbells banging against my leg on each rep.

These are my first set of proper adjustable Iron dumbbells, I've only had them for a few days but I get the feeling that these are going to serve me well and that I will have no problems with them. If your looking to start weight training as soon as you get the dumbbells may I suggest you do a variety of press ups and exercises prior to weight training, just so you can prepare your body for the exercising as it will not be used to it. If you don't it will just mean your arms and entire body will ache like hell the next day.

Overall these dumbbells are perfect and have no problems that cannot be resolved, I would highly recommend them to anyone, 5 Star !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 2 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York 20kg Cast Iron Dumbbell Set and Case (Sports)
These arrived the next day, and although the case was a bit battered on the corners, all was ok. There is definitely a smell as others have commented, but a quick wipe down removed the 'grease' from the weights and the inside of the case soon got rid of that. The weights are simple to add and remove, and they stay tightly held with the minimum of effort. The grips on the bars are slightly rough, but ideal as you can get a firm grip that a sweaty palm won't lose. Very pleased with them, so now just have to use them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 9 July 2010
By 
B. Fischer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: York 20kg Cast Iron Dumbbell Set and Case (Sports)
Was looking for some weights to tone myself up and basically get me bigger muscles, six pack etc. Just wrap a bit of clingfilm around the bars and these do the job perfectly - pretty heavy and good for working out. The exercise wallchart that comes with it which shows the different exercises you can do with the weights is also very helpful. Good price compared to other retailers which charge quite a bit for the postage (comes free as ever with Amazon's Supersave :) ). Overall, very satisfied with the product - 5/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 253 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

York 20kg Cast Iron Dumbbell Set and Case
45.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews