Customer Reviews


146 Reviews
5 star:
 (90)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality product
I bought this bench as I'm limited on space in my garage/home gym and needed a more versatile bench that could offer more than the usual inline/decline bench features. I've been pleasantly surprised by the quality and robustness of this bench as mentioned by other reviewers, it's really solid. The additional positions that it offers such as hyper extensions is fantastic...
Published on 22 Jan 2009 by Rob

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointed.
Good : It fully folds up and it very sturdy.

Good : It fully folds up and it very sturdy.

The Bad: Really unusable in terms of changing positions. The bolts do not fit properly and what makes it worse is that the holes need to be lines up perfectly. Even worse when you always have to put it on its side to change positions. Have had it 6 months now...
Published 1 month ago by A UDDIN


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality product, 22 Jan 2009
This review is from: York 13 in 1 DB/Hyper Bench (Sports)
I bought this bench as I'm limited on space in my garage/home gym and needed a more versatile bench that could offer more than the usual inline/decline bench features. I've been pleasantly surprised by the quality and robustness of this bench as mentioned by other reviewers, it's really solid. The additional positions that it offers such as hyper extensions is fantastic. The alternative for this exercise is to buy a roman chair which is probably double the price of this bench alone! Ignore any comments that it's difficult to change the positions. You can simply move each bolt by hand with no need for tools. You also wont need to consult the manual after completing a couple of workouts as all you need to remember is for example: incline bench is bolt positions B-X-3, decline is A-Y-2 etc etc.

Overall I'm really impressed with my purchase and the bench has exceeded my expectations.

If you're in the market to buy a new DB bench you should seriously consider this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't ask for more!, 21 July 2009
By 
Henrik Andersen "winther" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York 13 in 1 DB/Hyper Bench (Sports)
After buying a pair of 90lb Bowflex Selecttech I needed a solid, well build bench which can be collapsed for easy storage. There are many cheap imitations such as Argos' crappy Pro Power bench - don't be fooled, this bench is top quality and I have complete confidence even when using maximum weight.
I can't understand why people moan about adjusting the positions. From incline to flat takes me less than 5 seconds - you DON'T need to put the bench on the side - just support it with one hand, pull out the split and plug it into the correct hole. Are you people from a rival company or what?!?
True, some other positions requires you to pull out two splits, but that's because it offers several creative options such as biceps curl pad. Not possible in any other way.

In short - great product in every way. No downsides whatsoever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


89 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strong and well made, 26 Dec 2007
This review is from: York 13 in 1 DB/Hyper Bench (Sports)
It's difficult to see from the pictures what your getting isn't it? When you open your box you'll see instantly that you have bought quality. This bench comes more or less fully assembled and is ready to use within 2 miinutes. It is thickly padded and comfortable to lie/sit on, without bottoming out (I'm 14.5 stone). It is also made of heavy guage metal, finished it a hammered grey, which looks good, and feels robust. Whilst doing the exercises, even hyper-extensions it felt secure and stable. The adjustments are reasonably easy to make, using either slot in or screw in pins, but knowing where to adjust takes a bit of practice. However it does come with a good manual which tells you which pin holes to use to get the position you want. The positions yo can get are, flat, incline, decline and hyper-extension/preacher board, the other 8 positions are degrees of adjustment within these opsitions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strong and lightweight, 23 Nov 2009
By 
ggman (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: York 13 in 1 DB/Hyper Bench (Sports)
This Bench is excellent. Takes a few minutes to figure out how to adjust the bench but it clicks after a while and you will probably find you leave it on one or two settings most of the time. Considering the end of the backrest doesn't have much support, it is amazingly rigid and strong - I even found kneeling near this end did not cause any movement at all. This is a quality product and well worth the money. Its also light enough to simply pick up (approx 23 kg) and store away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Picture does "NOT" do this bench justice!, 10 Jan 2009
By 
S. Agan "JACS" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: York 13 in 1 DB/Hyper Bench (Sports)
Looking at the picture you'd think this bench was of a poor construction and a waste of money! You'd be wrong! It's very well made and feels solid, reliable and adjusting the bench isn't rocket science, but it will feel like alittle bit of a mission to start with. Another review stated you can get a better bench for the money, I very much doubt it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceeded all expectations, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York 13 in 1 DB/Hyper Bench (Sports)
Good solid versatile bench at an excellent price.
Don't let the negative reviews about setting up this bench influence your choice.
The bench is very solid and the quality all round is superb. It provides 4 Incline, 3 Decline,
4 Hyper-extension and Preacher bench functions. Plus, it folds flat enough to make storage under a bed, sofa etc easy.

All functions do exactly what they say and performance has not been compromised for the sake of versatility.
Setting up is not difficult, for instance all incline and decline settings only require the use of 1 or 2 pins maximum. Only when setting up Preacher & Hyper mode are 2-4 pins used. Once Hyper mode
has been selected, only 1 pin is moved to access all 4 positions. Probably would have helped most of us, if York had not consistently shown the incorrect pin position for pin X throughout the user manual. The manual could also do with a table showing bench setting versus pin locations. It makes it much easier to see which pins are involved from the outset. So the first thing to do on getting the bench is make up this table which fits on a single sheet of A4 and you won't need to keep turning pages in the manual. You can then see clearly which pins are involved in each setting change.

There is a pin location diagram on the side of the bench frame (which is correct) so with the table you can set all positions without ever referring to the manual.
I have enclosed such a table,

MODE PIN LOCATIONS
Storage A-1-X

Decline 1 A-1-X-# All angles are set using SINGLE pin in holes 1, 2 or 3
Decline 2 A-2-X-#
Decline 3 A-3-X-#

Flat B-3-X-#

Incline 15 B-1-X-# All angles are set using SINGLE pin in holes B, C, D or E
Incline 25 C-1-X-#
Incline 45 D-1-X-#
Incline 70 E-1-X-#

Preacher B-3-Y-*

Hyper 75 B-3-Z-* All angles set using 1 or 2 pins in holes 1, 2 & 3 or A, B
Hyper 60 A-3-Z-*
Hyper 50 A-2-Z-*
Hyper 35 A-1-Z-*

I would not hesitate in recommending this bench to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest opinion, 25 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. S. Pook "Sean" (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York 13 in 1 DB/Hyper Bench (Sports)
I pay A LOT of attention to reviews and this is actually the first time I've created one myself. I'm doing so because there are a lot of conflicting reviews. Seems people either love or hate this bench.

If you do weights - this bench is not heavy. Just 22kg and can be easily picked up and moved around. Perhaps up and down stairs wouldn't be much fun though.

You only need to glance at the instructions to figure out how the bench works and it's more about understanding how it works rather than memorising the positions. You won't need to refer to the manual.

The bench position can be changed without moving it at all, let alone put it on its side. Granted - you need two hands for this statement to be true. It takes 30 seconds to change 3 or 4 pins. If this is too much for you - work out on the floor perhaps and forget getting a bench.

The quality is very good - not commercial level but vastly exceeding most home benches I've come across before. I can see this lasting a long time.

It's very comfortable. You won't be dissapointed, and if you are, you shouldn't be buying a gym bench because changing plates on a dumb bell is likely to be complicated for you too. Glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, 26 Dec 2008
By 
S. M. Perry (Staffordshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York 13 in 1 DB/Hyper Bench (Sports)
There's not much I can say that's not been said about this product but I will back up the good reviews. I bought this bench primarily for dumbbell presses and flyes as I wanted the incline, flat and decline positions. It obviously allows for much more than that. It's perfect.

Very good build quality, very sturdy even during heavy lifting. Folds nice and flat for storage too. Very easy to setup and use. The padding is very supportive and the ankle supports are nice and comfortable, they do not dig into your legs at all.

If you want a good, multi-purpose bench then this is the one to go for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solidly built and larger than I thought, 29 July 2008
By 
Che Y. Yeung (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: York 13 in 1 DB/Hyper Bench (Sports)
As the previous reviewer said, the picture doesn't give you the fill picture. When it was delivered in it's heavy duty cardboard box, the warning symbol stated 23KG! When I opened the box, there was no other packaging apart from the cardboard. The bench must be pretty close to 20KG!

When completely flat (in it's storage configuration), it is easily 6ft in length and about 6 inches high. It will take about a minute or 2 to switch between different positions, in part due to the robustness of the unit.

So far, it's a solid bench and you do get what you pay for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Needn't Have Worried, 19 Nov 2009
This review is from: York 13 in 1 DB/Hyper Bench (Sports)
Although this fitness bench has generally had excellent reviews I admit I was a little put off by the comments of difficulties with the mechanism for changing positions. Nevertheless I went ahead with the order and I'm so glad I did. The sheer heft of this bench, added to the fact that it is adjustable to 13 mostly very different positions, added also to the fact that you want it to bear your weight safely during workouts in all positions means that the adjustment mechanisms have to be very substantial - thank goodness they are. I can understand why those who believe everything these days should be operated by remote control or at worst by the push of a button might be taken aback at the prospect of doing a little manual adjustment. But in total honesty it amounts to a tiny proportion of the workout in both time and effort. Nor is it difficult although you might want to keep the manual by you until such time as you're fully familiar with the adjustment positions that you tend to use. Anyone who, like me, was put off by the negative comments should ignore them if what they want is a good value, good quality, rugged and very versatile piece of kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

York 13 in 1 DB/Hyper Bench
99.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews