Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Potent than a Barrel of Moonshine
These days most people will be more familiar with the Brian De Palma remake- and probably don't even realise that is a remake. I was one such person and when I saw this, I was amazed by how basically similar the two films are. One Scarface may be Italian and the other Cuban but they both make the rise from henchman to Boss before their ego leads them to a similar end...
Published 23 months ago by Cylon Says

versus
1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a disappointment
I bought this after many years looking for this film, after hearing José Luis Garci speak very highly of it in his TV program. I was expecting such a great film, then when I do I find it's so very much below the expectations that I almost threw the disc out of the window.

The first part is poor, specially because of the acting. When Muni's character is...
Published 19 months ago by Carlos García


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Potent than a Barrel of Moonshine, 4 Sep 2012
This review is from: Scarface [DVD] (DVD)
These days most people will be more familiar with the Brian De Palma remake- and probably don't even realise that is a remake. I was one such person and when I saw this, I was amazed by how basically similar the two films are. One Scarface may be Italian and the other Cuban but they both make the rise from henchman to Boss before their ego leads them to a similar end. Taking the two together, this is definitely my preference as it's more tightly told: De Palma's (an exercise in 80s indulgence in running length as well as "style") languishes in the Miami heat whereas this is the fast-talking, hard-hitting grittiness of the prohibition era. The latter version has a reputation for being bloody but this is no less hard-edged and pulls absolutely no punches, depicting a brutal (and occasionally, charming) man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The original scarface, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scarface [DVD] (DVD)
I like the gangster genre of films, and I found myself having already seen the majority of these movies, goodfellas, casino, godfarther, American gangster, gangster squad (I liked it) and of course Al Pacino's scarface amongst others.
In the extra features of most of these film, you hear the directors/producers talk about the films that influenced them of this genre, public enemy, little caeser and scarface always come up.
So I decided to delve into these films, thinking that these will be no where as entertaining as the modern day equivalent, how wrong was I, this film especially.
Because I'm familiar with the 1983 scarface, like most people, having seen it a good number of times, it was fascinating as to how much of a remake it was to the original, I just thought they took the name and loosely followed the plot of a thugs rise to power, but there is a lot of scenes in this film where you go "bloody hell they have taken a lot from this film".
If your like me, a fan of the genre from the younger generation, and feel you have seen them all, take a look back in time and get this, amongst a few others you should get, I know it's black and white and made nearly 100 years ago, hey it put me off, but it shouldn't because this is a really good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TONY CARMONTE, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scarface [DVD] (DVD)
This film is entertaining. Taut and full of action. Briiliant performances all round. This has to be seen if you have the taste for black and white gangster American movies of the thirties. Paul Muni is very good as Tony Carmonte and this man would have been taylor made to play Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars scareface, 1 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scarface [DVD] (DVD)
a great film noir buy it youll love it remember the old movies well this is one of the best gangster movies ever george raft anfd paul muni
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very potent (anti)gangster film, 26 July 2010
This review is from: Scarface [DVD] (DVD)
this 1932 Gangster film is probably the Granddaddy of all Gangster film.but it really isn't a Gangster picture.it doesn't glorify organized crime/the mafia at all.in fact,it takes the opposite view.sometimes it's as if you're watching a public service announcement or a political campaign to rid the the city/state/country of the mob.it's as if the actors are actually speaking directly to the audience.and maybe they were.regardless,there's no question how powerful the movie is,and how much influence it has had on all films of the genre.the acting is first rate here.Paul Muni is mesmerizing as Antonio 'Tony' Camonte,the main character.but Anne Dvorak as Francesca 'Cesca' Camonte is also brilliant.of the three big films of this genre that came out around the same time(The Public Enemy starring James Cagney,(1931)and Little Caesar,Starring Edward G.Robinson(1931),in my mind this is by far the most powerful and influential.for me,Scarface(1932)is a 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Birth Of The Underdog - Raj, 15 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Scarface [VHS] (1932) (VHS Tape)
The Starting point for all the great Gangster films, tracing the rise to power of a working class Gangster who survives with his thirst for power, wit and confidance. The only Howard Hawks film I'v seen (YET!) but surly one of the best. A Must see for all film fans! Better than the DePalmer remake? YOU decide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scareface dvd 1932, 1 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scarface [DVD] (DVD)
If you want to watch good old movies,then this is one of them,no bad language (thank god) just good acting, They just don't make them like this anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top old gangster movie., 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scarface [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very good black and white old gangster movie.
I was hunting this movie for years.
Glad I finally have my copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gangster, 12 Mar 2013
This review is from: Scarface [DVD] [1932] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
this is a great film, if your going to watch a film from the 1930 dont exspect too much, just watch the film cause the writers and the awseome howard hughes the aviater man had allot to do with this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a disappointment, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scarface [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this after many years looking for this film, after hearing José Luis Garci speak very highly of it in his TV program. I was expecting such a great film, then when I do I find it's so very much below the expectations that I almost threw the disc out of the window.

The first part is poor, specially because of the acting. When Muni's character is asked to go to the police the acting is such that this doesn't look like a gangster film, but a parody; in fact, the rest of the characters are caricaturesque, too. Then the development of the film feels very childish and simplistic; the inclusion of a scene that makes no sense within the film just to have a guy give a speech to the spectator against free traffic of weapons within US is just like a very bad commercial as thought by a five year old for a class assignment was the lowest point of it all. It doesn't help. "Scarface: the extralong PSA for gun control"

If one doesn't take the disc and throw it into the trash can, then one will end seeing a mildly entertaining gangster film, after all, so I'm giving it the second star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scarface [DVD] [1932] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£5.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews