Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now here i go again i see the crystal vision (Dreams)
Another Best of from Stevie the poet. What makes this different from Timespace 1991 is the cd is more modern and updated with tracks from the Trouble in Shangri-La album 2001. It starts and finishes with Edge Of Seventeen, but among its sixteen tracks Stevie includes two live from 2005 Rhiannon and Rock And Roll, yes Stevie sings Led Zeppelin! plus two live from...
Published on 3 Aug 2007 by N. P. Thornton

versus
12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the most complete Nicks
Do what I did - buy the 'Enchanted' set and 'Trouble in Shangri-La' and you'll have the best of everything she's done to date.
Published on 31 Oct 2007 by J. Gascoyne


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now here i go again i see the crystal vision (Dreams), 3 Aug 2007
By 
N. P. Thornton (Runcorn) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another Best of from Stevie the poet. What makes this different from Timespace 1991 is the cd is more modern and updated with tracks from the Trouble in Shangri-La album 2001. It starts and finishes with Edge Of Seventeen, but among its sixteen tracks Stevie includes two live from 2005 Rhiannon and Rock And Roll, yes Stevie sings Led Zeppelin! plus two live from Australia in 2006 Landslide and Edge of Seventeen (With the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra). Including the same track twice will appease and annoy some fans but personally i like the two versions. Also included is Dreams (with Deep Dish ) a 2005 club mix which turned out to be a dance floor success. The cd is not a greatest hits it is exactly what it says a very best of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect package, 26 Aug 2007
By 
L. HALLS (North London, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crystal Visions: the Best of Stevie Nicks/+DVD (Audio CD)
This is a very good package. First of all, you get a lot of music for your money; 16 carefully chosen tracks on the CD and 13 videos with commentary and documentary on the DVD. Secondly, the music you do get is very high quality and is an absolute representation of Stevie Nicks' career down to a tee; there is nothing left out, nothing missed, and everything flows extremely pleasingly.

Those are the practicalities! There is a lot more to this CD & DVD though, and I feel it is necessary to dispell some of the inaccuracies in prior reviews. This CD does indeed contain a large amount of the same material on 'TimeSpace - The Very Best of Stevie Nicks', but 7 of the 16 tracks on 'Crystal Visions' are not to be found on 'TimeSpace' at all, not to mention the fact that a further 4 are live versions which prove that this is not simply a rehash of studio versions you can get just anywhere. In fact, I felt it was evident that Stevie has actually spent a little time finding different cuts, live versions, and an interesting track order which is far more interesting than the stolid chronological orders of other Greatest Hits packages I've bought.

As for specifics, the CD has a mixture of Fleetwood Mac tracks and solo tracks which makes this a truly "definitive" version of Stevie's career, and includes two tracks from her 2001 album 'Trouble in Shangri-La' which gives this a fresh vibe that none of her other retrospectives can offer as they all came out before that year, and makes 1991's 'TimeSpace' look somewhat dated (and the cover a fright!). The live tracks were all recorded since 2005 and two with the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra in Australia in 2006, which once again serves to show you a piece of what Stevie is still doing to this day; the closing "Edge of Seventeen" is spectacular with the violins and trumpets! And it is absolutely ridiculous for anyone to say you can barely hear it - you most certainly can and I was taken aback by how evident it is after having read these other inaccurate reviews.

The DVD of music videos contains some humour as Stevie talks you through some of the 80s atrocities and outfits, with little stories here and there about what was going on behind the scenes. I've never seen anyone do a personal commentary like this and it's definitely a nice touch and it's nice to see she doesn't take it all too seriously; you'll enjoy looking at how she's changed over the years and seeing all the different phases of her career up to the more polished newer videos. Nothing ground-breaking admittedly, but a nice touch.

This package is worth the money! If you're mildly interested in Stevie Nicks or Fleetwood Mac or new to her music, this is a wonderful package for you to enjoy! If you're a big fan already then there won't be much new for you but as it's a Very Best Of then I'm not entirely sure what some of you are expecting. The Live versions are worth it for me personally, and overall it's simply a tasteful, energetic, well crafted and enjoyable listen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stevie Nicks, 30 Mar 2011
By 
Marcia "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Everything about this release is fabulous. It is a definitive collection of tracks that cover a long career by Stevie Nicks. There was a "best of" album a few years ago called Timespace which was good, but this outshines that release easily. This release is very satisfying.
It is just one disc packed with goodies. There are the tracks that have been hits for her such as "I can`t wait", "Talk to me", "Stop dragging my heart around" and "Rooms on fire", It also includes tracks from her many albums.
Throughout the various tracks recorded over some years there are some great musicians that make an impressive contribution.
I believe this is a really good introduction to the poetic songs and the unique style of Stevie Nicks. Also if you are short on storage space and want one good CD to represent the recordings of this performer then this is a great release. All of the tracks fit together very well and it makes a good album programme in its own right.
If you are not familiar with the recordings of Stevie Nicks but you are familiar with Fleetwood Mac then you will like this release.
The CD is nicely presented and there is a good booklet with interesting notes and pictures. Generally this release is an excellent product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stevie at her finest, 26 Oct 2009
By 
Michelle Storey "jakey" (lancashire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crystal Visions: the Best of Stevie Nicks/+DVD (Audio CD)
i have loved Stevie Nicks since Fleetwood Mac and have all her solo albums, but even so, i couldn't resist getting this compilation along with the DVD video footage. i love all the tracks obviously, and the commentary Stevie gives on the video is interesting and funny. the way she jokes about her hair and outfits, and the horse that she rode in one of the videos trying to kill her! and as you watch the video afterwards you do notice that she is actually screaming on the horse!to me, Stevie can do no wrong, she's such a sweet woman, and actually cares about her fans. she has gone through a lot regarding drugs, both recreational and wrongly prescribed, but she's come out the other end, looking and sounding great. I love the track 'Sorcerer', which she wrote years ago and the other members of Fleetwood Mac wouldn't let her put on their album, but thankfully it is now getting heard and is one of my personal favourites by Stevie. "I Can't Wait" for her next album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nix Fix, 14 Aug 2009
This review is from: Crystal Visions: the Best of Stevie Nicks/+DVD (Audio CD)
It's a good "greatest hits" collection especially for someone like me who has followed Stevie more as a member of Fleetwood Mac than as a solo artist. This CD gave me a more favourable view of her solo work. Some of the live versions are worth having - esp. Rhiannon even if you already have other versions. On the DVD "Sorcerer" with Sheryl Crow is the best item by far but of course you could download this off i-tunes or elsewhere. The rest are mainly of historical interest to dedicated fans but Stevie's commentary where she admits all the shortcomings of dodgy video production is well worth a couple of plays! Nice little photo booklet completes the package and as a fan I am glad to have the whole package but if you only want the music just go for the CD only version and save on the DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb CD and DVD, 4 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crystal Visions: the Best of Stevie Nicks/+DVD (Audio CD)
I have a number of Stevie Nicks and this is by far and away the best .
The CD is topped and tailed by " Edge of Seventeen " - studio and live versions with the live version being a particular standout .
I also love the songs in between these two songs with a live version of the Led Zeppelin classic " Rock and Roll " being a particular favourite .
The booklet is comprehensive with interesting stories from Stevie as to how each song came about .
The DVD is very interesting as it features various song videos along with commentary by Stevie plus footage of the Bella Donna recording .
This CD/DVD is excellent value .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Stevie has always had a very distinct voice but this album shows the variations in song style that she has performed over the years. Sorcerer and Landslide are, to me the strong titles because they show her voice at its best but the range of music on this album is very good indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Stevie!, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Crystal Visions...The Very Best Of Stevie Nicks (Standard Version)
Lovely lady, lovely voice, great album.
Listened to an interview on the Roger Day show, BBC local radio, now been cut. Shame on you BBC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crystal Visions: The Very Best Of Stevie Nicks, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Does exactly what it says on the tin. Stevie has such a lovely voice you just can't stop listening to this. Its a permanent feature in my car at present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crystal Visions, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent albumn show casing the marvellous and unique voice of Stevie Nicks. One not to miss if you are one of her fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crystal Visions: the Best of Stevie Nicks/+DVD
Crystal Visions: the Best of Stevie Nicks/+DVD by Stevie Nicks (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews