Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Horror of 2007!
The black christmas wipes the the floor with the original!
The gore is better and for gods skae
you know how billy is!
This one (american version) is
better than the english one!

It's christmas eve, sority sisters mellisa (michelle tranchenberg), kelli (katie cassidy), lauren (crystal lowe), heather (mary winstead), dana (lacey chabert),...
Published on 30 Nov 2007 by L.J horror, comedy and ani lover!

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great but not that bad either...
Many compare this film with the film it is a remake of but this condemns black Xmas strait away so dont do that!
The characters are semi-likeable however this film falls into the same deadly pitfall that the descent fell into. You cant tell them apart.Some look almost identical yet some you dont even realize exist until they die.
The plot is grainy. It is...
Published on 28 Nov 2008 by Mr. Per A. Edwards


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great but not that bad either..., 28 Nov 2008
By 
This review is from: Black Christmas [DVD] (DVD)
Many compare this film with the film it is a remake of but this condemns black Xmas strait away so dont do that!
The characters are semi-likeable however this film falls into the same deadly pitfall that the descent fell into. You cant tell them apart.Some look almost identical yet some you dont even realize exist until they die.
The plot is grainy. It is obviously following a typical slasher plan however silly and unnecessary things are thrown in just to add lines to the script. The killer having a rare liver disease that made him yellow? Please.
Deaths (this contains spoilers) the deaths in black xmas are very hard to call. Its a pretty sick and engaging idea to half suffocate someone with a bin bag and then stab, or rip out their eyeball but this is good for 1 death scene and is overused (Why the hell is the killer eating eyeballs anyway?) anyway the deaths that dont involve eyeballs or bin bags are decent at best. The icicle through the head gag was priceless but felt out of place as the icicle doesnt fall from very high and isnt that sharp.

In short black xmas is for someone who can sit down in front of a formulaic slasher film and not care about minute plot details. Its an easy movie to sit through but a hard movie to say that you enjoyed afterwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Horror of 2007!, 30 Nov 2007
The black christmas wipes the the floor with the original!
The gore is better and for gods skae
you know how billy is!
This one (american version) is
better than the english one!

It's christmas eve, sority sisters mellisa (michelle tranchenberg), kelli (katie cassidy), lauren (crystal lowe), heather (mary winstead), dana (lacey chabert), megan (jessica harmon) and clare (leela savasta) are all enjoying there christmas holiday until there killed off one by one by a physco! Who will surivie the night?

FAB FILM!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas shivers, 7 Dec 2008
This review is from: Black Christmas [DVD] (DVD)
This is a remake of horror film Black Christmas [1974]. I just got this on a whim last Christmas - the media reviews (from decent sources) weren't fantastic, but I thought I'd give it a go. I was pleasantly surprised. It's a slasher film, but has enough that's different in it to make it more appealing than other current slasher films! It's well done and the story makes more sense than most, which is always a nice bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Remake, 9 Mar 2009
By 
S. Hacking (Watford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Christmas [DVD] (DVD)
I was originally quite reluctant to watch yet another "remake" after seeing awful remakes of "The Texas Chain Saw Massacre", "Halloween" and the rest, but thought I would give it a go after reading some good crits on it.
I was pleasantly surprised at this fun remake, expanding slightly on the original but keeping the "psycho in the attic" theme, and was taken along on a fun (and sometimes very gruesome (but funny)) ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated - just like the original on its release, 9 April 2008
By 
A. W. Scullion "Gotta Love Buffy" (Portstewart, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Christmas [DVD] (DVD)
Both Black Christmases have been underrated on release - the original wasn't really picked up (except in Canada) on release in 1974 and has become a worldwide sleeper "hit" in the years after its release, mostly by word of mouth - mainly aided by being so copied in other films such as "When A Stranger Calls", "He Knows You're Alone", "Halloween" (all films I love) and many others since.

The new version is obviously based on the original so those who deride it for being "just" a `bunch of girls in a house with serial killer' should know that the original Black Christmas invented this sub-genre of horror and the new version was obviously going to be the essentially the same setting otherwise it just wouldn't be "Black Christmas". (The original was also the first film to introduce the now common "twist" and the new version rightly doesn't make too much of this as its also been copied so many times since).

The new film has some differences (as well as death scenes) - after all, there's not much point in a shot-by-shot remake (the awful, pointless shot-by-shot remake of "Psycho" comes to mind). Just as the original broke new ground in camera work (copied to worldwide acclaim in "Halloween") the new version uses camera angles that make you take notice and disturb your senses. The twinkling Christmas lights (and lighting) are also used to great effect to grate at the viewer's senses and introduce a sense of unease in the viewer that is ultimately more disturbing than just gory deaths (which there's plenty of). Just like the original, the Christmas music becomes a haunting backdrop.

Just like the original, and after all real life, not all the characters are `likeable' - which allows for different reactions to deaths and questions afterwards. Also, you don't necessarily have the predictable `last girl alive will be the non-drinking, non-smoking, non-swearing virgin' scenario.

Bob Clark, the original director of the first version, not only visited the set but also gave his personal thumbs up on the new take of the story, both before and after the film was made. It took many years before the original version was given the recognition it deserved, most describe it as a classic and rightly so. Maybe in time the right audience will find the new version of the film and appreciate what it was doing, it's not as perfect as the original, but its not too far off it.

Both versions are definitely worth watching more than once and certainly worth the cheap prices they're now both available at. If you haven't watched the first one (and you should), you can still enjoy the new 2006 version - just take on board that yes, it's a group of girls in a house about to be picked off one-by-one, but its about to be done with style that all too often is lacking in hack and slash films...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A bit slow but a great movie, 7 Aug 2008
By 
This review is from: Black Christmas [DVD] (DVD)
Black christmas is a brilliant movie I thourouly enjoyed. It is a bit slow to begin with, but the flashbacks are needed to tell the story, plus have a good tale. But once 'Billy' starts, well, you start to love the movie even more. It is a great horror, with a twist of it being at christmas, that is worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Christmas Ever, 19 May 2014
By 
D. Laidlaw "nrg jockey" (edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Christmas [DVD] (DVD)
For all you who love this film over the 1974 original can I just say that this rates as one of the WORST remakes I have seen. In 1974 a packed cinema who screamed at bits of the original was much better than the sparse audience of this new version .The story is virtually the same with the exception of Olivia Hussey,but the difference is the gore factor. Gore does not scare! The feeling of the unknown is in this film with a really terrifying voice on the phone , much more effective in the original. Glimpses of "Billy" the killer, the coldness of the choir as Billy commits another murder it all builds into a really good thriller without the drenching of blood in this remake ,and there's none of this-"who's there "as a decapitated head falls out of a car. Maybe I was expecting too much but I saw The Exorcist a few nights before (and we've not had anything that good recently)I saw the original Black Christmas and it has proved that,in a lot of cases we had better horror than the fare of today . See it ,if you must ,but don't expect a creepy version of the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly tamer compared to the original but still fun, 3 Mar 2014
This review is from: Black Christmas [DVD] (DVD)
Well the story line is as follows.

In the 70's, the boy Billy is born with yellow skin due to a liver disease and his dysfunctional mother rejects him. Later he witnesses his mother and her lover killing his beloved father and burying him in the basement of their house, and he is locked in the attic alone along his childhood. When he is a teenager, he is sexually abused by his mother and she has a baby girl called Agnes. During Christmas, the deranged Billy escapes from his imprisonment, kills his mother and stepfather and blinds one eye of Agnes. He is declared insane and his sister is sent to an orphanage. In the present days, Billy escapes from the Clark Sanatorium to spend Christmas with his family. Meanwhile, his former house is the Delta Alpha Kappa sorority house in the campus of the Clement University, and the housemother and the sisters Kelli Presley, Dana, Lauren Hannon, Megan, Heather, Megan Helms, Melissa and Eve Agnew are preparing the house for Christmas party in a stormy night.

i would have to say this is one of the better remakes of the stalk and slash films.firstly the acting was pretty darn good and it did not come across low budget or trashy (which some of these remakes have) the kill scenes were pretty decent and it had a slightly different ending compared to the original but i wont spoil it! glen Morgan directed this and in my opinion hes a pretty decent director and writer he was involved in FD1 AND FD3 and there pretty decent movies and the xfiles film which is also pretty cool! i did like the death scenes in this even though they are pretty similar to the original they are still well done with a appropriate amount of gore. one thing that is toned down in this from the original is the language i mean in the original film you hear the word "Cu*T" used alot and to be honest i think that was the first time id ever heard that language in a movie! (not saying its bad) but in the remake the language is pretty toned down which is fair enough!

but anyway id say this is one of the better remakes of a slasher that isant low budget and id say its a must to own for any stalk and slash fan !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor remake, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Christmas [DVD] (DVD)
I looked forward to this film...As I really enjoyed the original..I am not a remake snob. most are quite good...But this is IMO Rubbish.

Megan, Heather, Megan Helms, Melissa and Eve Agnew are looking forward to a party at the Soriety house, when the derranged Billy, decides to head back to the collage..After that, poor acting and a poor storyline, than gives slasher films, a bad name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Awful Remake !!, 5 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. P. N. Cairns (Birmingham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Christmas [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly i will point out that the original film Black Christmas has always been one of my favourite films,When it was released it was quite an original film.It was one of the first films that went on to be labelled "Slasher Films"- Indeed at the time it was widely stated that later films such as Halloween,Friday 13th etc stole a lot of the idea's from the original Black Christmas. I have had this remake for some time, I have tried many times to watch it all the way through.I have finally watched it all the way through, I feel i have wasted 80 minutes of my life.This film has very poor acting/actors,It also has no atmosphere,I fully admit that the original film may now seem a bit dated but watch the original and take into account that it was at the time of release a very original film and also it is now more than 30 years old.Please watch the original film and give this awful remake a very wide berth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Christmas [HD DVD] [2006] [US Import]
Black Christmas [HD DVD] [2006] [US Import] by Glen Morgan (HD DVD - 2007)
£24.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews