Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
19
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.28+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 November 2011
Two discs, 50 tracks of roughly 3 minutes each (to fit that old 10", 78 rpm format). They are in chronological order, the first two tracks therefore having a dated sound which at once sets the scene and shows how rapidly things changed. The rest are miniature masterpieces. Amazingly, they never seem hurried or compressed even though every piece somehow squeezes in several solo breaks. Varied moods from soulful to blazing. At a price that hardly pays for the blank discs and jewel case, never mind postage.
Cover notes give dates and groups but little more. If you want to know the line-ups it will require research. Mind you, some of the co-stars are as unmistakeable as Parker himself.
33 comments| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Charlie Parker was a legend in his lifetime, he really was that good. He helped to develop and define what jazz is still today, with the way he inovated harmony, melody and rhythmn. He helped take jazz out of the swing period, helping in the creation of be-bop and thus to what we know as modern jazz. He had his detractors in life as well as his fans. Without a doubt he was truly one of the major figures of the jazz world, and this double cd brings you 50 of his tracks for you to relax and wallow in. This is a great album for anyone into jazz, and lets face it you can't be 'into' it without any Charlie Parker.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2010
A good cross section of the work of C Parker esquire.
Great music,good packaging and a terrific price .You cannot go wrong .As with nearly all budget issues the liner notes are sparse to say the least but a little time spent on the net will give you most of the gen you require.A brilliant buy.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
"In A Soulful Mood" is one of the best intro's to the work of Charlie Parker. The man was a genius....A cross over between old & modern jazz. Fantastic collection of songs. I would say that this is a better choice than "The Essential Charlie Parker" as there are almost 3 times the number of songs and all for less money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2012
Sheer genius! And the trouble with genius is that it isn't often recognised when it first takes wing, as that of 'Bird' did. Watch 'Bird', Clint Eastwood's magnificent film about this monumental master of musical innovation.
Sorry about the title of this...'Flying High'. The great tragedy of Charlie Parker was that he fell victim to the disease of drug addiction. Being always 'high' brought him to an early death...at the age of 34. The doctor who wrote the death certificate observed that he was a man in his sixties! Oh, hell! It makes you want to weep.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2010
This is an excellent album, although I was not familiar with some of the preliminary tracks.
My saxophone teacher raved about the Bird so much that I bought the Movie first and then have started to collect albums by the master.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
no hesitation in giving this the five star treatment.Bird at his very best.Could never get fed-up with listening to this great music got to be up there with my favorites.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
How can you rate the artistry of Charlie Parker, words are not enough, except to say SUPERB. Sadly missed by all true Jazz fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
A good packet of interesting tunes played in his inimitable style; it certainly rebooted my brain to stir a strong thread of nostalgia into my listening pleasure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
I had most of this issue on old vynil so this was a great opportunity to get it in CD format and at the price
how on earth could you go wrong.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)