Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glimpses of genius
Two discs, 50 tracks of roughly 3 minutes each (to fit that old 10", 78 rpm format). They are in chronological order, the first two tracks therefore having a dated sound which at once sets the scene and shows how rapidly things changed. The rest are miniature masterpieces. Amazingly, they never seem hurried or compressed even though every piece somehow squeezes in several...
Published on 10 Nov 2011 by M. Woodman

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's probably me
I though I'd begin my jazz flirtation with some of the classics - Charlie Parker, Miles Davis, John Cochrane and so forth. At the moment I'm struggling, but I'm guessing I just haven't been sufficiently diligent, yet.
Published 7 months ago by Veryoldbill


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glimpses of genius, 10 Nov 2011
By 
M. Woodman "hikeandbikemike" (Exeter, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In A Soulful Mood (Audio CD)
Two discs, 50 tracks of roughly 3 minutes each (to fit that old 10", 78 rpm format). They are in chronological order, the first two tracks therefore having a dated sound which at once sets the scene and shows how rapidly things changed. The rest are miniature masterpieces. Amazingly, they never seem hurried or compressed even though every piece somehow squeezes in several solo breaks. Varied moods from soulful to blazing. At a price that hardly pays for the blank discs and jewel case, never mind postage.
Cover notes give dates and groups but little more. If you want to know the line-ups it will require research. Mind you, some of the co-stars are as unmistakeable as Parker himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Brilliance, 16 Dec 2009
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: In A Soulful Mood (Audio CD)
Charlie Parker was a legend in his lifetime, he really was that good. He helped to develop and define what jazz is still today, with the way he inovated harmony, melody and rhythmn. He helped take jazz out of the swing period, helping in the creation of be-bop and thus to what we know as modern jazz. He had his detractors in life as well as his fans. Without a doubt he was truly one of the major figures of the jazz world, and this double cd brings you 50 of his tracks for you to relax and wallow in. This is a great album for anyone into jazz, and lets face it you can't be 'into' it without any Charlie Parker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff, 17 Oct 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In A Soulful Mood (Audio CD)
A good cross section of the work of C Parker esquire.
Great music,good packaging and a terrific price .You cannot go wrong .As with nearly all budget issues the liner notes are sparse to say the least but a little time spent on the net will give you most of the gen you require.A brilliant buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST OF THE MASTER, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In A Soulful Mood (Audio CD)
"In A Soulful Mood" is one of the best intro's to the work of Charlie Parker. The man was a genius....A cross over between old & modern jazz. Fantastic collection of songs. I would say that this is a better choice than "The Essential Charlie Parker" as there are almost 3 times the number of songs and all for less money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hot stuff, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In A Soulful Mood (Audio CD)
A good packet of interesting tunes played in his inimitable style; it certainly rebooted my brain to stir a strong thread of nostalgia into my listening pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Jazz, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In A Soulful Mood (Audio CD)
I had most of this issue on old vynil so this was a great opportunity to get it in CD format and at the price
how on earth could you go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely great, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In A Soulful Mood (Audio CD)
no hesitation in giving this the five star treatment.Bird at his very best.Could never get fed-up with listening to this great music got to be up there with my favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LISTEN TO THE BIRD SING, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In A Soulful Mood (Audio CD)
How can you rate the artistry of Charlie Parker, words are not enough, except to say SUPERB. Sadly missed by all true Jazz fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bird, 19 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In A Soulful Mood (Audio CD)
This is an excellent album, although I was not familiar with some of the preliminary tracks.
My saxophone teacher raved about the Bird so much that I bought the Movie first and then have started to collect albums by the master.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flying High!, 2 Jun 2012
By 
Mr. J. Sutter "Bookspook" (IOW, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In A Soulful Mood (Audio CD)
Sheer genius! And the trouble with genius is that it isn't often recognised when it first takes wing, as that of 'Bird' did. Watch 'Bird', Clint Eastwood's magnificent film about this monumental master of musical innovation.
Sorry about the title of this...'Flying High'. The great tragedy of Charlie Parker was that he fell victim to the disease of drug addiction. Being always 'high' brought him to an early death...at the age of 34. The doctor who wrote the death certificate observed that he was a man in his sixties! Oh, hell! It makes you want to weep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In A Soulful Mood
In A Soulful Mood by Charlie Parker (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews