Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Gotta love and respect the killer in this one
For this horror fan's money, Rest Stop is a gritty, gory thrill ride well worth watching. Yes, the story has some problems, but I really don't understand all the vitriol directed toward this juicy little film. You have to respect a killer who has honed his craft to such an exquisite degree as the Rest Stop killer; this guy has psychological and physical torture down to...
Published on 23 Mar 2010 by Daniel Jolley

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Give it a rest
Undoubtedly one of the worst films I have ever seen. There's no way the lead female has 'actor' as a profession in her passport never mind the rest of the cardboard cut-outs masquerading as the cast.
An insipidly dull woman ends up at a public convienience in the wilderness. Boyfriend disappears and the rest of the film revolves around her remaining in and around the...
Published on 13 July 2010 by All of them Witches


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Give it a rest, 13 July 2010
By 
All of them Witches (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rest Stop [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Undoubtedly one of the worst films I have ever seen. There's no way the lead female has 'actor' as a profession in her passport never mind the rest of the cardboard cut-outs masquerading as the cast.
An insipidly dull woman ends up at a public convienience in the wilderness. Boyfriend disappears and the rest of the film revolves around her remaining in and around the toilet occasionally locking herself in to avoid the clutches of the baddie truck driver who appears for a while then drives off for a bit before coming back and then leaving for a bit again.
Throw in a strange religious Southern family in a camper van with the obligatory deformed offspring lurking in the back which contribute nothing to the story and are the poorest example of this particular cliche I've seen to date and get 100 monkeys on 100 typewriters to randomly press keys, formulate said work into a script, intersperse with torture scenes and release straight to dvd whilst claiming that it was too shocking for theatrical release.
You can tell by the raft of alternative endings on the dvd that the director/writer was clueless as to what he wanted to achieve with this. Utter tosh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Senseless plot and body doubles!, 28 Nov 2010
By 
P. WILLIAMS "huggy bear" (spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rest Stop [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I WAS looking forward to watching this DVD having read the cover, although that VERY OFTEN is fatal I have to admit as in this case.The film starts with Nicole and Jess, who stop to consummate their running-away - why the heck were body-doubles used for Jaimie Alexander, she's no 'A' STAR actress who can make demands yet surely? The next is she needs a pee and has to use a proper toilet, not a bush and fortunately in the middle of nowhere is the "Rest-Stop". May Contain Spoilers: She uses the loo leaving Jess in their car o/s with SEVERAL other cars there also but when she exits the building there is NO-ONE or NO vehicle there except an old RV? She walks to the road thinking Jess is playing a trick and suddenly an old yellow truck is driven at her. The same one that had earlier forced their car off the road near a bend and driven off. She ran to use a 'phone at the stop only to find it damaged. There she saw numerous "Missing Persons" posters.

She sees the yellow truck approach again and decides to hide in the toilet block, a bad decision for her and the viewer because from hereon in the film centres on that building, the Park Wardens Office and nowhere else.

If as is possible this film contains an element of the "Ghost Story" which would explain certain aspects and incidents in it that occur then I would give it a couple of more stars but as that isn't clear I can't understand WHY she remains where she does instead of walking away from the location? Why doesn't the dumb cop explain immediately about his gun instead of telling her his life story? IMPLAUSIBLE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars maybe watch it once!, 2 Jun 2011
This review is from: Rest Stop [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
i first bought this film when i was out a few months ago topping up the dvd shelf. it looked and sounded quite good and was quite cheap so thought why not. but now i think why bother! i watched it several times to see if it will grow but shame to say it hasnt and maybe i shoulda watched it just the once! it just did not make sense to me! why was she seeing those ghosts! why did the killer not blow up when she perol bombed his car! you could see him clearly driving it at the time it caught fire but when she opened the door he was nowhere! then suddenly behind her! not even a burn on him!. i watched the alternative endings on the bonus feautures and dont know why they did not chose one of them as the ending as it woulda been (not much) a better ending. just did not make sense to me and think the person who made it just lost interest and could'nt be bothered in how it turned out! worth a watch but prepare to be a bit dissapointd. like i was!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gotta love and respect the killer in this one, 23 Mar 2010
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rest Stop [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
For this horror fan's money, Rest Stop is a gritty, gory thrill ride well worth watching. Yes, the story has some problems, but I really don't understand all the vitriol directed toward this juicy little film. You have to respect a killer who has honed his craft to such an exquisite degree as the Rest Stop killer; this guy has psychological and physical torture down to a freaking science, savoring every minute of the heroine's extended ordeal. He repeatedly leaves the scene entirely, confident that his prey remains under his complete control in each of his absences. Admittedly, the fact that our poor dumb heroine isn't exactly the sharpest knife in the drawer helps, but I still have to give major kudos to our bad guy. I don't think I've ever characterized a killer as having panache, but this guy has it in spades. I don't care how unoriginal and sometimes clichéd the movie was, I quite enjoyed it. Still, the critics have some valid points. The addition of a certain family into the story was an embarrassingly bad decision that comes across as shameless pandering, while certain potentially confusing elements in the plot will be decried as serious plot holes by some - although I think their inclusion and lack of a definitive explanation actually add an effective depth to the story. Those who expect their horror movies to wrap everything up with a Scooby Doo ending won't like it, but I see no reason why a horror film can't leave you pondering over a few unanswered questions.

The basic storyline is pretty simple. Young Nicole Carrow (Jaimie Alexander) runs off to California with her boyfriend Jess (Joey Mendicino) - but they never make it. At some point along the way, Nicole's need to relieve herself lands them both at the world's nastiest and most remote rest stop. Showing great fortitude, Nicole actually manages to do her business inside, but there is no Jess and no car waiting for her when she comes back out. As the hours and minutes pass, her wonder and bafflement at Jess turn into deep concern, and then her worst fears seem to be confirmed by the menacing presence of a mysterious man in an old yellow truck - the same man and truck referenced on a number of ominous graffiti posts (going back a number of years) on the bathroom stalls. Nicole's night takes on a number of macabre, borderline insane twists and turns, but the one overwhelming constant is the killer's murderously calculated intent to torment this poor girl.

At one point, Nicole does interact with the world's weirdest family inside an RV, and the movie suffers greatly for the inclusion of this scene. It's patently ridiculous and really disrupts the tension and suspense the movie has the built up until that point. It's most unfortunate because Nicole's interaction with a couple of other characters during her ordeal plays so well. I have to take a moment here and praise Joey Lawrence for his performance; I never knew he could act, but I thought he was great in this movie. It also behooves me to say a few words about the DVD extras. In general, it is never a good thing for a movie to come with alternate endings, let alone three of them, because their presence on the DVD necessarily conveys the impression that the director was never quite sure how to end the movie. We can at least take comfort in the fact that he chose the best of the available endings for the film itself, as none of the three alternate endings works well at all, in my opinion. Personally, I would not have included them on the DVD. Other extras include a slideshow of "crime scene" shots as well as a home movie made by a member of the RV family. Apparently, this little film may have a bearing on some of the film's open questions, but it's really more stupid than anything else.

In the end, we do have a flawed, unoriginal, clichéd movie - yet I think it works surprisingly well despite these handicaps. Obviously, a significant number of viewers disagree with me on this. I would just ask you not to dismiss this film out of hand because of all the negative reviews. While you've no doubt seen this type of storyline play out before in other horror movies, Rest Stop does succeed in invoking an atmosphere all its own. It's not scary, but I certainly had a good time watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Stuck, 14 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rest Stop [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
The Ladies boyfriend gets kidnapped and killed and shes left at a rest stop with a girl coughing up blood and both girls are hounded by this man in a pick up truck
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars its good, 12 Mar 2012
This review is from: Rest Stop [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
good horror film. from start to finish. i like it. forget other previews its good film. cheap as well. enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Man, this movie was horrible!,, 16 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: Rest Stop [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
How could you fill 90 minutes of video about a rest stop? Well they have. The acting in this movie is almost as bad as the acting in Blood Rayne (2005); I still can't believe how bad the acting was/is/always will be. Jaimie Alexander (Nicole) must have paid someone off to land her role in this film as her acting talent is terrible, at least in this movie. I can see that Jaimie tried her hardest in the film as she and her boyfriend decide to run away to the bright lights and the big city. As you can imagine they stop on the way only to be confronted by a guy in a yellow truck who proceeds do all sorts of nastiness to them. Rolling along to the "Rest Stop" let see what does it offer?

Serial killer, who doesn't show much and doesn't say a word, Wow, irrational evil always gives me additional creeps. - Yes, I'm buying it. Playing cat and mouse games with victims giving them false hopes? Sounds well, if it's a serial killer of such type he should like the process rather than the result. Oh, yes, put this in my basket too. Atmosphere of inevitability? Yes, fine. Where the hell is cashier...?

What didn't work? Idea with ghosts in fact was nice, puzzling, but generally pointless. Fun with a family in the van was also nice, but misplaced as well, although it didn't spoil anything. Camera - very decent, soundtrack - fine. Gore? It's not gore-centric. Acting again questionable, but quite enough to run the movie. The only thing I can't forgive is that pathetic scene with family photo - too long, too fake.

To sum up - not top-rank solid thriller definitely worth it's run time, and delivering right to it's promise. The DVD special features is sort of a treat. Deserving extra marks for the sense of proportion and some good ideas inside. Also, check out the alternative endings. I thought the original ending was horrible. The other endings were only hilarious. A deformed midget with a camcorder takes up about 10 minutes of special feature time and that's about it. If you like movies that are so bad to the point of being funny then save your money and just rent this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Texas Chainsaw Massacre Meets Wolf Creek, 8 Jun 2007
By 
Jodi Dougan "Jodi" (Ballygowan) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Rest Stop [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
A young couple decides to runaway to sunny California. They never reach their destination as they decide to pull over at the Rest Stop.

After a fight with her boyfriend, Nicole Carrow insists on pulling in to a rest stop. When she is ready to leave, she exits the bathroom to find her boyfriend has disappeared with their car, leaving her trapped on the back roads of Texas with only an abandoned camper van to keep her company.

Rest Stop is one of those cheap and tacky horror movies that could become a cult classic. Will Rest Stop become a cult classic you may ask? Well the three elements that you need to become a cult classic are gore, sex and artistic merit. Rest stop has bucket loads of gore, and while I do not want to give too much away, it contains oodles of blood-soaked nastiness. This movie has everything from the bad guy running over a cop's legs with his car several times to him making use of a pneumatic drill on a girl's leg. At times, it can be about as bloody as a film can get. It also has a gratuitous and yet somehow quite intimate love scene in the opening minutes of the film. Therefore, the sex is covered. Now the hard one - does it have any artistic merit?

You never get to see the bad guy's face - you see glimpses, profiles, shadowy silhouettes. He is a faceless, relentless, monster, which alone scores highly on the artistic merit scale. The movie has very few characters in it apart from the main protagonist - Nicole Carrow (Jaimie Alexander). Since she spends a large part of the film on her own, she cannot reveal her thoughts in the course of a conversation, but must speak them aloud so that we, the audience, know what she is thinking. At times, this can be slightly irritating; however, it is a brave step by the writer (John Shiban) and it does work for the majority of the film. As an audience knows, being completely alone and isolated from civilization is frightening enough even when you are not being chased by psychotic killers.

So, will Rest Stop become a cult classic? It probably will because along the gore, sex and arguable artistic merit, it also has plenty of chills, an interesting and inventive plot and gives rise to a lot of shouting at the screen as the main character does plenty of things you should definitely not do when running from a psychotic killer. (What fun are horror movies if you cannot complain about the stupidity of the victims?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rename this movie 'Crap Stop'!, 7 Jun 2007
By 
Fordy Finn "Agent Finn" (Sheffield, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rest Stop [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This movie had more holes than swiss cheese. It says 'A movie too shocking for theatres'. Why? I'll tell you why! The acting, the story line, the atmosphere & music are all SHOCKING-LY AWFUL! Do these so-called horror movie writers/directors etc actually know anything about what un-nerves people these days or shocks them? I think not judging by this piece of poo!

I haven't seen such drivel since, From Hell with Johnny Depp!

The lead character is a loud mouth cretin, whom you have no empathy for whatsoever to add to this a body double is used at the beginning of the movie (see for yourselves a gratuitous waste of 1 minute of film). She `F's' her way through most of the movie (it just didn't sound right coming from her) and at one point I wondered if she was Gordon Ramsey's daughter!

I'm a horror fanatic & have been since the early 80's but this just doesn't deserve to be in same category as the newer horror movies like House of 1000 Corpses, The Hills Have Eyes (remake), Wrong Turn (which it seemed to be striving to be) etc.

I think they were going to attempt the gore shocks of Hostel (another piece of toilet roll!) and then decided against it as there are about 5 mins of gore in total, so if that's what you're into, don't waste your time with this!

Buy a Rob Zombie movie instead that guy knows what good horror movies are all about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It - Proper Horror Title!, 9 May 2007
This review is from: Rest Stop [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
My mate sent me his copy from the states and it's wicked. A couple on a road trip that come across a slasher killer, this is better than Hostel and i've seen on sites in the US that there might be a sequel.

It's like it's a home movie which is cool. I'm a massive horror fan and this even got me freaking out a couple of times!

If you like horror then definitely check this out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rest Stop [DVD] [2006]
Rest Stop [DVD] [2006] by Jaimie Alexander (DVD - 2013)
£9.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews