Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars17
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£13.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 August 2010
This is a well-acted and well-scripted spin-off that does real justice to its connection to possibly the best period drama to grace British television, Upstairs Downstairs. I found that, after intending to only watch one episode at a time, I was hooked and had to play the next one too.

It's a real shame that this wasn't recomissioned for a second run because, on the basis of every episode in this box-set, it certainly merited one.
11 comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2011
Like a Curate's egg I found this series good in parts but nowhere near as enjoyable as Upstairs/Downstairs, of which it was a "spin off" and thus natural to compare the two. Although the principal leads are two fine character actors (John Alderton/Pauline Collins) they alone are not enough to carry a poorly thought out idea for a series. In U/D Thomas Watkins was a man with a dream to run his own motor garage but in T/S he seems to have forgotten that; more likely the writers found that they could not make that alone work for a full series. Without giving away too much of the plot Watkins trys his hand at magic, a school teacher, a shopkeeper and much else. Sarah turns out to be far more foul mouthed in this series than ever she was in U/D and I found this aspect disappointing too.
Both sets come as four episodes to a dvd and with U/D I found I was watching all four in an evening but it was difficult to see even one episode of T/S all the way through in one sitting. It just didn't hold my interest in the same way.
To sum up I found it a good idea and great actors let down by a poorly thought out script.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2012
This is nothing like Upstairs Downstairs, so I think it's unfair to compare it to that show.

Having said that, the writers seem to have consciously decided to use adopt the "adventure of the week" format, resulting in a rather patchy and unfocussed show. I was never quite clear about the relationship between the two lead characters.

It's a shame the curcumstances of its production prevented a second series. It might have been interesting to see how it developed.

The only extras are two irrelevant daytime TV interviews with each of the Aldertons from the mid eighties that have nothing whatever to do with the show.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2009
A must for early period british drama's, A good spin off for John Alderton @ Pauline Collins as Thomas @ Sarah , seeing how they cope with life after 165 Eaton Place, in Upstairs Downstairs, which was great too, Shows all the up's and down's they go through, won't tell you , you're have to watch it' but they end up back in uniform.
A nice cosy trip back in time ' A WONDERFUL SERIES,
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2011
Lovely to see the follow up of Thomas and Sarah after Upstairs Downstairs. Enjoyed it, especially as the main stars are two of my favourites.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 June 2014
This is an old series of programs that i watched when i was younger,the series was set in period times just like up stairs down stairs etc,it was great to see this again,stars Pauline Collins and John Alderton who were man and wife in life.A great watch.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2010
Having seen fully the complete Upstairs, Downstairs Box Set it was a natural progression to want to see this. A little disappointing overall, however, good in the main with the wrong ending in my opinion!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
Is a very good spin off from Upstairs downstairs, both are excellent actors, was so well thought out \and totally enjoyable for its year of release
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
The complete series presented in full, with original ad bumpers and LWT opening and closing idents intact.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2015
This was a surprise gift for my wife which she is very happy with.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse