Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Series 2 - What it contains., 7 May 2007
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus - The Complete Second Series [DVD] [1970] [2007] (DVD)
Episode 14 - The Ministry Of Silly Walks / New Cooker Sketch

Episode 15 - The Spanish Inquisition / Tax On Thingy

Episode 16 - The Hijack / Deja Vu / Complaints

Episode 17 - The Bishop / The Chemist Sketch / Architect Sketch

Episode 18 - Blackmail / Escape / The Man Who Is Alternatly Rude and Polite

Episode 19 - Dung / Registry Office / Election Night Special

Episode 20 - Attila The Hun / News For Parrots / Test Match

Episode 21 - Silly Vicar / Silly Doctor / The Thing / Judges

Episode 22 - How To Recognise Parts Of The Body / Europolice

Episode 23 - Scott Of The Antartic / Fish License

Episode 24 - Agatha Christie Sketch / MPFC Again In 30 Seconds

Episode 25 - Ypres 1914 / Gumby Flower Arranging

Episode 26 - The Man Who Speaks (various) / Undertaker's Sketch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Python at its purest, 23 Sep 2009
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus - The Complete Second Series [DVD] [1970] [2007] (DVD)
After the slight uncertainty of tone in the first series, series two is when the team really found their feet and delivered their most consistently entertaining episodes: series one may have given us the Parrot Sketch, but it's series two where you'll find the Ministry of Silly Walks and the Spanish Inquisition ("Nobody expects the Spanish Inquisition!"). Unfortunately, Sony's initial release doesn't give the show the respect it deserves - as with the earlier three series, the disc has no extras and, more irritatingly, no play all option - you have to go through the menu and the copyright warning on each episode. Seek out the 2008 special edition boxed set or the US version from A&E instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic DVD, 2 Aug 2011
By 
JRL Smith "Pops" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus - The Complete Second Series [DVD] [1970] [2007] (DVD)
I rented this title via Lovefilm. Having watched it I decided that I couldn't do without it. It takes me back 30 years to when Monty Python was King of Comedy. So I bought it. Now I can watch it when I want. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus - The Complete Second Series [DVD] [1970] [2007] (DVD)
great seller would highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Spam Spam Spam, 15 Feb 2014
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus - The Complete Second Series [DVD] [1970] [2007] (DVD)
The second series of Monty Python's Flying Circus is seen by some fans a a step down from the first series (John Cleese himself even felt they were starting to repeat themselves towards the end), however it is still very entertaining with some of the best sketches in the shows history including The Dirty Hungarian Phrasebook Sketch, The Ministry of Silly Walks, The Spanish Inquisition, The Undertaker Sketch and of course the famous Spam sketch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New blood discovering old gold, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus - The Complete Second Series [DVD] [1970] [2007] (DVD)
I have recently discovered Python, and I'm kicking myself for not paying any attention to it sooner. It's brilliant.
The second series is more polished than the first, but it doesn't lose any of that originality or edginess that you don't find in more recent comedy.
My only grumble with the DVD is that there is no play all function, so after each episode it goes back to the menu, and you have to select the next one. I find it slightly irritating that I have to keep the remote to hand the whole time in order to keep a steady flow.
However for the value for money, and the quality of viewing I can't complain too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 1 April 2013
By 
Maria Ines Faria (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus - The Complete Second Series [DVD] [1970] [2007] (DVD)
Of course you have to like this sort of non-sense brit humour and have a good sense of what sarcasm is, otherwise you just won't get Monty Python.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars monty python second series, 25 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus - The Complete Second Series [DVD] [1970] [2007] (DVD)
Brilliant! A long time ago when I first saw these sketches, but still very funny.
Way ahead of its time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More comic genius, wizardry and plain old silliness, 28 Mar 2012
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus - The Complete Second Series [DVD] [1970] [2007] (DVD)
The difficult second album (or series). It was not a curse that afflicted perhaps the greatest comic troupe that has ever lived. I am not going to tell you what's in each sketch like some other reviewer did in a Gradgrindian 'now what I want is facts' manner; I shall merely offer some reasons as to why this is worthy of your purchase.
Firstly, there is no let up from the second series. If you are after classic sketches, the second series will delight you with such offerings as 'The Spanish Inquisition'. What makes it better than just the original sketch by itself, is that you get to discover how the Pythons thematically structure the whole episode around these hapless inquisitors. It's a great example of their stream-of-consciousness approach. 'The Silly Walks' episode begins in a similar fashion. The manic and surprisingly spot-on 'Election Night Special' also features in this series. So the Pythons did not lose their ability to deliver sketches that would end up in a 'best-of' anthology. Far from it. This problem set in around the 3rd series.
I also think the consistency throughout episodes is another strong reason for looking at the second. The 'It's a Living' episode is a great example of this, delivering high quality sketches that range from the manic 'School Prize Giving' which delightfully segues into a parody of the movie 'If'. They also demonstrate in this episode their sheer range, from the wicked David Frost satire of 'Timmy Williams' to the surrealism of Mr. Throat-Warbler Mangrove (to give it its pronunciatory rendering). You are constantly wondering if each sketch is the high point of the episode, but of course, the best is saved until last with the 'Election Night Special'. I think in the first series, only the later episodes achieve this, but it is in the second where this is routinely the case.
In sum, a definite purchase for fans of the Pythons, and my recommendation out of all of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very funny, 11 Feb 2009
By 
N. Clarke "ensee" (n ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monty Python's Flying Circus - The Complete Second Series [DVD] [1970] [2007] (DVD)
as always the Monty Python team have me rolling round the floor,daft ,funny things .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews