Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taggart when it was really Taggart
Mark McManus stars as the delightfully dour Glasgow detective in six memorable adventures.

The episodes in this collection are:

Cold Blood: A woman shoots her husband while he's sitting in his car, but it turns out he was already dead.

Dead Giveaway: Someone is killing people by poisoning food sold from a small corner shop...
Published on 11 Oct 2009 by L O'connor

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Taggart - Mark McManus
This package consists of four DVDs from the original definitive Taggart series: brilliantly, tightly written, with deep, complicated, fascinating plots, and with well constructed characters. The only drawback was that one of the DVDs was unplayable, so I have had to send the box back for a refund. Here's hoping that I receive it, so that I can buy a replacement.
Published on 14 Oct 2010 by Mr. Timothy P. Daniels


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taggart when it was really Taggart, 11 Oct 2009
By 
L O'connor (richmond, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taggart Vol.2 - Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Mark McManus stars as the delightfully dour Glasgow detective in six memorable adventures.

The episodes in this collection are:

Cold Blood: A woman shoots her husband while he's sitting in his car, but it turns out he was already dead.

Dead Giveaway: Someone is killing people by poisoning food sold from a small corner shop.

Root of Evil: During Glasgow's Garden Festival, someone starts bumping off the city's loan sharks.

Doube Jeopardy: A woman apparently committs suicide, but her sister is convinced it is murder.

Love Knot: A young woman's murder seems to be mixed up with a climbing club.

Hostile Witness: During a by-election, the candidate for the referendum for the Return of Capital Punishment is murdered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent TV drama, 26 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. A. J. Tennant "Metalhead" (Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taggart Vol.2 - Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Taggart is simply a classic TV drama. It has stood the test of time, and is still going strong today despite the main character no longer being in the show due to the death of its star Mark McManus back in 1994. This boxset, along with all the others, features a selection of great episodes. What surprises me here is that four of the six episodes featured in this boxset that were produced in 1987 and 1988 (Cold Blood, Dead Giveaway, Root of Evil and Double Jeopardy) did not feature the original Scottish thistle ident and endboard (first used in 1985) at the start and the end of those particular episodes, instead just the blue Scottish thistle endboard on the navy blue background (first used in 1989 when ITV went generic) was used at the end of those four episodes. The other two episodes in this boxset (Love Knot and Hostile Witness) were produced in either 1989 or 1990 (both of those episodes were first transmitted on ITV in 1990, I believe). Still great to watch though, very highly recommended to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great drama !, 17 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taggart Vol.2 - Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
This is Taggart at it's best with the late great Mark McManus as Taggart' it's self, the guy who started the drama off to the great show it still is today. He is a national institution who we're never forget, there are six great feature length editions here that keep you glued right till the end, A wonderful series to watch @ collect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top show, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taggart Vol.2 - Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
A great show, great cast, top British drama. Oh how I wish they would bring it back. body can replace Mark but Alex Norton did a splendid job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent Taggart DVD set., 29 Sep 2013
This review is from: Taggart Vol.2 - Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
excellent Taggart DVD set. excellent episodes that make excellent viewing. well worth the money and have no regrets buying. highly recommended purchase!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Taggart Vol 2, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taggart Vol.2 - Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for my brother who is in a nursing home and loves Taggart, we're actually up to vol 4 so don't know how I missed not doing the review 6 DVD's so good value for the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another good valued edition., 2 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taggart Vol.2 - Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
excellent entertainment throughout, great selection and not as dated as expected, Taggart at his best, will he ever be equalled?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Older Taggart, 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taggart Vol.2 - Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
We much prefer the older Taggart mainly to do with the manner of the later Burke. The series was brilliant at the time, but isnt outdated by the later one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Taggart - Mark McManus, 14 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. Timothy P. Daniels "Tim Daniels" (Westerham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Taggart Vol.2 - Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
This package consists of four DVDs from the original definitive Taggart series: brilliantly, tightly written, with deep, complicated, fascinating plots, and with well constructed characters. The only drawback was that one of the DVDs was unplayable, so I have had to send the box back for a refund. Here's hoping that I receive it, so that I can buy a replacement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Taggart Vol.2 - Special Edition [DVD]
Used & New from: 10.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews