Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 26 Jun 2007
By 
Cambo (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Contact (Audio CD)
Thirteen Senses are relatively unheard-of - on the back of hearing 'Contact', this fact becomes a mystery.

Why can a band which produces material of higher personal esteem than Keane and Coldplay move about so quietly? An even greater shock will come when you realise that this is, in fact, Thirteen Senses' second album.

'Contact' is filled with gems, stretching from the attention-grasping 'Contact' to 'Ones and Zeroes', a song which must be the best album closer ever. 'Ones and Zeroes' is typical of the album - it starts off with heavy, melancholy guitars, then pauses, before erupting in a piano/voice section, which gathers more instruments towards the end - eminently surprising and entrancing.

These songs are truly beautiful, and while the sound may remind some of the aforementioned Brit bands, Thirteen Senses add their own personal spin on a well-trodden genre. As a consequence something exceptional and memorable is produced, in the shape of a well-rounded album with no weak lyrics or jarring melodies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the invitation set the standard...this blows it out of the water, 5 Jun 2007
This review is from: Contact (Audio CD)
I heard about the band through an indie radio show when their first album was out, but never heard them anywhere else really, thank god i did though. The Invitation is very much a piano driven record with some stunning songs on, however for the sophomore effort the band have widened their scope to deliver what is a masterpiece in British indie with strong piano and guitar driven melodies, which come together to produce a really big sound especially on tracks like 'Ones and Zeros'. They can be compared to the bands such as Coldplay, Embrace..etc however they have a very distinctive sound which remains present on this record. It is of such a higher standard than that set by the likes of embrace or keane, that, once you have heard them it is difficult to comprehend how it is they are so relatively unknown. Their songs are well written, catchy and you don't get tired of them, they deserve more attention from the music press. If they continue to make records of this calibre, it can't be long before they get noticed. Standout tracks Ones and Zeros, Under the Sun & Contact
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The wait was worth it!, 30 Jan 2007
This review is from: Contact (Audio CD)
I often wondered how the lads from Cornwall would follow up on their brilliant debut, 'The Invitation'. Well just in case any anybody is in doubt about whether they could or not, I can say they most certainly have and with some style. 'Contact' sees the band evolve, however still maintaining that unmistakable sound and vocals which is now their trademark. Every track is well written and executed and gets better with each listen. It is a great shame that this band have lived in the shadow of bands such as Coldplay and Keane. While they might share the same badge, they are quite unique in their approach and writing, worthy of much bigger things. A great second CD, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY IT NOW If you are......, 25 May 2007
This review is from: Contact (Audio CD)
BUY IT NOW. If you just heard about this band and you are a fan of Britpop such as Coldplay,Keane,Travis,Embrace or Snow Patrol. This is not just a band who follow the footstep of above list, they have very much of their own fanstastic talent (much more than some bands i've mentioned). After you've purchased and loved it then please go forward to their 1st album 'the invitation'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great, underrated band, 13 Aug 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contact (Audio CD)
I had been anticipating this album for so long and it didn't disappoint me, it's less mellow and less Coldplay-ish than their first one but rockier and exciting. The lyrics are better, Will's vocals are improving, everything's better! I'm sure this album sound awesome live and it's a pity they have never come to Italy. In my opinion this album should have turned Thirteen Senses in an established band like The Man Who did for Travis, unfortunately it didn't get much resonance... I just hope time will give it justice... but if you are looking for a great album, take my advice and buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent follow up, 15 Mar 2008
This review is from: Contact (Audio CD)
After listening to the first Thirteen Senses album i always wondered how their second would compare. Middle of the road as a lot are, fade into obscurity?...

The answer is no, the second album is every bit as good as, if not better than the first. Whether you are a fan of soft rock, melodic pop or simple chill out songs this album is for you. Each song is ripe with emotion and a dark, chilling soul waiting to be let out. Soft rock fans will enjoy the similarities to Coldplay though with a better vocal presence and all should enjoy the simple yet well-layered rhythms of the music as a whole.

How this band can have stayed under the radar for so long is a mystery as less talented bands have risen and fallen around them. Anyone thinking of buying this album should do so with no worries about any kind of let down at all. A 5-star album all around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There 1st effort was good, but "Contact" is a stunner!, 14 May 2007
By 
This review is from: Contact (Audio CD)
I was impressed by Thirteen Senses first album, but there follow up is superb! They have gone for a completely different sound with their new album. Some tracks to listen out for are All The Love In Your Hands, which is the most up beat song on the album, it's one of those songs you have to have loud to appreciate it to it's full extent. The drums are awsome. Opening track aswell, is so different to what you usually hear from the band. For me though the stand out track on the album is "Follow Me" an absoloute master peice, you have to listen to it!

Buy this album, it was truly worth the wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Awesome, 12 April 2007
This review is from: Contact (Audio CD)
I've been a fan of the band ever since I bought an early copy of 'The Invitation'. An outstanding album which was always going to be difficult to top. However, they have done it with the amazing 'Contact'. I heard a few of the new tracks at The Luminaire in London late last year and knew the album would be something special. More power, more passion but un-mistakably TS. This will hopefully give the band the recognition they deserve. I cannot pick-out an outstanding track because this album needs to be listened in its entirety. Every one a stand-out track. Completely awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOTALLY worth the wait, 15 April 2007
By 
Matt (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Contact (Audio CD)
Thirteen Senses who? is the standard reaction i get from people who simply can't understand why i was so excited to get this album. Its everything i had hoped it would be, sharp, emotionally charged, great lyrics and AMAZING sound. Simply amazing, the best band in the world GET IT NOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a fantastic 2nd album!, 27 April 2007
By 
S. Cherry (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Contact (Audio CD)
I loved their first album and saw them play a great live gig. This second album is everything I'd hoped it would be and they deserve to make a bigger and better impression in the charts with it this time around. I really do hope this album sells well and the guys in this band get the positive recognision they warrant. If you own their first album or if you don't I thoroughly recommend you buy this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Contact
Contact by Thirteen Senses (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews