Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's like Marmite
Loads of strong reviews here.
I guess you either love Ridge Racer or you hate it.
Basically, if you like really realistic racing games, then yes, you'll find this game un-manageable.
On the contrary if, like me, you like more arcade-ish type games like wipeout then you will love Ridge Racer.
The main issue in Ridge Racer are the drifts (or skids)...
Published on 4 Sep 2007 by Oribie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Fun
This game is a clone of RR6 for the XBOX 360. It has a couple of extra tracks and a livelier colour scheme and a redesigned single player.

The SP is actually quite tough but there are plenty of events and a range of free downloads to extend longevity.

This game is best on-line. I particularly like the chat function using predetermined phrases...
Published on 14 Sep 2008 by Duncan McDonald


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's like Marmite, 4 Sep 2007
By 
Oribie (Cambridge,UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ridge Racer 7 (PS3) (Video Game)
Loads of strong reviews here.
I guess you either love Ridge Racer or you hate it.
Basically, if you like really realistic racing games, then yes, you'll find this game un-manageable.
On the contrary if, like me, you like more arcade-ish type games like wipeout then you will love Ridge Racer.
The main issue in Ridge Racer are the drifts (or skids). They can put you off at first but when you understand how they work the game becomes incredibly fun.
That's why if you like Wipeout and are used to slide on corners then you'll be un expert at RR in no time.
Graphics are very good, cars are shiny and customisable to a high level of details. ( free downloadable add-ons available)
There is also loads to do: Arcade races, Championships, Manufacturers challenges, Missions and Online Racing! So you can show off to the rest of the globe.
So, Hate it or Love it, You decide!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant arcade racer., 11 May 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ridge Racer 7 (PS3) (Video Game)
I am a simulation race fan first and foremost. But i do also appreciate arcade racer games, as long as they are good. This is an excellent game.. and because its been out for a while... it's almost as cheap as chips.

Arcade racers like Grid and NFS: Shift need only to look at this game to know what the essentials are for a top arcade race game. For a top arcade race game, you need to have some boost.. of which Grid never bothered to put in. I will never understand how Grid got such high reviews, whilst this game has had a fairly average reception. RR7 requires you to be skilled in drifting and tactically using the nitron (boost). The game gets more difficult as you progress.. and its simply not a question of trying to get the biggest amount of drift (nitron is dependant on how much drift you get on most nitron modes). It's about slipstreaming... its about not allowing other cars to gain on your slipstreaming whilst advancing on their slipstreaming instead. On many occasions towards the most difficult levels its a good idea to try to use the nitron boost at the very last corner if your close enough... and that's a very big IF.

This game is very tactical. It's about knowing the circuit to know which car is best suited, which modifications you need to use on that car to beat your opponent.e.g. which nitron option to use, which plug-in to use (whether it be more downforce or the slipstreaming boost plug-in etc etc), whether you need more grip, less grip... lessen the drift or gain on more drift etc. A lot of things to consider.

This game has suprising amount of depth and is great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Speed..., 21 Feb 2007
By 
W. Vandyk "piginspace" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ridge Racer 7 (PS3) (Video Game)
For those not familiar with the Ridge Racer series, don't expect Gran Turismo. All of the cars in the RR are fictitious, as are the tracks - but this is no bad thing!

Ridge Racer is all about the racing and mastering the drift style necessary for this game can be a little frustrating to start but when it all comes together and you light the triple nitrous coming out of a hairpin, I dare you not to laugh out loud.

Ridge Racer is a traditional launch title for the PlayStation series and RR7 keeps up its standard by offering an effective demonstration of what PS3 can do over its predecessor.

The graphics (and make sure you have a 1080 screen for this) are just brilliant, from the fine details like the sunlight glinting on the car windows, water splashing when you race under a waterfall or leaves blowing up around you as you tear through a forest, to the background vistas of mountains, lakes, industrial cities.

You won't have time however to gawp. The first few races you'll do are simple "manufacturer" challenges which unlock access to the cars in questions for the racing series. Once you're in the series itself you have the choice of grand prix, with the familiar format of a number of races in a row and points awarded per race, or individual challenges, such as racing from the back of the pack to the front in 3 laps.

As you progress the competition get tougher and faster and of course your skill will improve, but spending your winnings (credit and reputation) on new parts is all important. Normal upgrades include engine boosts, faster nito systems and better handling but there are also special parts which allow you to come up with new racing methods - I won't spoil it here. Access to these parts though only comes by building up a relationship with the manufacturers, which means winning races with their cars or their parts.

And if you do beat the in-game challenges, unlock all the parts and build the ultimate ridge racer, you still have to face the on-line battles through the PS network and that's when you'll really discover if you're any good...

All of this you can get from the packaging, but you really don't appreciate just want a great indicator of PS3's ability this is, although this is just a start remember, until you try it.

Overall, Ridge Racer 7 is a great game, slightly let down by the limited number of tracks but those who want a "real" car simulator should wait for Gran Turismo as the RR7 style will frustrate rather than excite.

That said, definitely a recommended launch title (alongside Resistance, Fall of Man).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ridge racer 7, 23 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. S. Hudson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ridge Racer 7 (PS3) (Video Game)
this is a really good game just a tad too easy .The graphics are brilliant using 1080p and the gameplay is great and some of the music is good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drifting at its best, 2 April 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ridge Racer 7 (PS3) (Video Game)
Visually: This game looks fantastic, although this game was released with the PS3 (meaning its been around for a little while now) Deffinitly catches the eye and visually awesome.

Gameplay: The drifting in the game is hair raising and the online capabilities are also really good

Deffinitly worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars persevere, 21 Mar 2008
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ridge Racer 7 (PS3) (Video Game)
I bought Ridge Racere 7 for 20, being in love with the original arcade game, and having loved ridge racer revolution on psone, but sceptical at some of the videos i had seen of number 7, I thought for 20, compared to 40/50 for most games it was a risk worth taking, and i'm glad I did.
Some of the negative reviews are correct, it is very unrealistic, and some of the time when you drift it does seem like you arent 100% in control of your car, but you are NEVER not in some if not all control. I understand the whole unrealistic thing, but as someone else here as said, why has that become such a huge problem? How many computer games are realistic? If you really like gran turismo, sure, this might not be for you. But it's just different.
I agree with the reviews that are unsure at first playing the game, but to say youve played for an hour then given up I think is a mistake. I was feeling a little let down at first, but if you perservere, like most games, it gets better. You get the hang of timing corners better, the feel becomes more natural, the cars get faster. And as for lack of tracks, i'm slightly surprised. Most ridge racer games, as far as i'm aware, have never had this many tracks, and when you race them backwards and at different times of day, I was actually quite surprised how much I didnt find the tracks get samey. I have 3 games for my new ps3. Resistance, Uncharted, and this. And out of them I get the feeling that this is going to have the longest life. I have just completed resistance, and am not overly tempted to replay it, as much as i enjoyed it first time through, but the amount of grand prixs, time trials, single events, and manufacturers trials does make for a long career mode. Although it may only be minor things, you do keep constantly winning rewards from your efforts. The more I play it, the more im impressed and challenged.

Overall, i'd say if you an absolute turismo die hard, this will take a lot of getting used to.If you do get it, and at 20 most places I dont see why you shouldnt, give it time. It feels unfulfilling at first, but give it 3 or 4 hours and pick up the feel of it, and it becomes an excellent racer. Very high tempo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Drifting away, 21 Oct 2007
By 
Mr. M. G. Anderson (MIlton Keynes) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ridge Racer 7 (PS3) (Video Game)
Having just had a PS3 bought for me, thanks hun, I thought I would write a review of Ridge Racer 7 which I got with the console.

I would have to say on the whole that it is an excellent game. Yes it may not be realistic but come on is Burnout realistic, who would drive into oncoming traffic in real life unless you are some kind of nut!!!!

The graphics are great and even though I do not have an HD TV yet still pretty impressive. I found it quite easy to get a hang of the controls where the brake is non exsistent. Drive up to a corner take your finger off the gas and drift round the corner. Yes I would have to agree that some of the drifting is luck as some of the longer corners left me slipping and sliding about after the corners but I put that down to me!!!

The cars are not realistic but who cares. If you want that play Gran Turismo!! I agree with a previous reviewer that it is a nice change to play a game where you do not have to think so much of the physics of driving.

I haven;t played all of the tracks yet but have to say the ones I have played are good. Some of the cars you race against as usual try and run you out but hey thats what should happen.

Haven't played it fully through yet but what I have seen make me glad I got it.

Hoping for more of the same and better in the future. Don't be put off by some of the reviews it is personal preference, go on give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ridge Racer is for experienced gamers., 8 Nov 2007
By 
Colin Jones "greebo" (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ridge Racer 7 (PS3) (Video Game)
Ridge Racer is for experienced gamers...
And because of this, alot of people are whining over the point its too 'unrealistic'. That 'drifting' is completely out of control. That Cars seem to overtake them all the time.

To be honest, its just because they're terrible gamers and don't understand athe concept of a good arcade game when they play one.

There is almost nothing wrong with Ridge Racer 7. The graphics is something people keep mentioning as beautiful, and yes they are, but thats not the only good thing. The Grand Prix mode will take you through hours of easy to eventual difficult challenges as long as you can play aracde racing games.

The important introduction is the modifying. Maybe this is something people aren't using. But you can customise most the 'machines' to your liking, drift control and nitros boost essentially. This is what helps people get better. Using this will make it easier a game for those that struggle. I didnt have to mod any of my machines till about half way through the game to be honest.

I think that perhaps one of the reasons people dont like ridge racer is the unrealism. And thats what Ridge Racer is all about: Crazy speeds, Bouncing off walls when you crash, drifting backwards at 200mph. Afterall they're not cars. They're 'machines'.

Only experienced gamers will understand this game in all its glory.
And those that arent, the game is afterall made easier by the modifying option.

Definitely one of the best on the PS3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great arcade racer., 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ridge Racer 7 (PS3) (Video Game)
Awesome game. loved the arcade from back in the nineties. And had it on my PS1. Graphics are good and crisp. game play is simple floor it, and drift to get boost.

My only niggle is the game engine. when you hit a wall or other car you seem to stop dead. not like GT. you get an impact. and still can drive. But again its an arcade racer not a simulation like GT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Speed, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ridge Racer 7 (PS3) (Video Game)
Speed speed speed, only speed with this game with many cars and tracks and with many fantasies for new tracks in all world, pure arcade but very fan for many hours!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ridge Racer 7 (PS3)
Ridge Racer 7 (PS3) by Sony (PlayStation 3)
13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews