Customer Reviews


244 Reviews
5 star:
 (149)
4 star:
 (69)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


154 of 156 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PS3 Remote
The PS3 remote is a useful gadget for 2 good reasons: 1) it allows a non-gamer to navigate around the PS3 music, films. photos etc 2) it makes moview viewing a lot simpler. Buying this has allowed my wife to enjoy the console which makes it worth the money alone.

I've tried using the sixaxis game controller to watch DVDs and it can be a problem. Firstly the...
Published on 4 July 2007 by A. Rose

versus
26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stop-button distress
Works OK, but I'm hugely irritated by one thing: while the button which takes you to the game console menu politely asks you if you really want to stop playback, the Stop button (the one with a square on it) simply stops it, no going back.

If you press it, then you have to start the player up again, you have to sit through *all* the menus and disclaimers and...
Published on 13 Dec 2008 by Eolake


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

154 of 156 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PS3 Remote, 4 July 2007
By 
A. Rose (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony Blu-ray Disc Remote Control (PS3) (Accessory)
The PS3 remote is a useful gadget for 2 good reasons: 1) it allows a non-gamer to navigate around the PS3 music, films. photos etc 2) it makes moview viewing a lot simpler. Buying this has allowed my wife to enjoy the console which makes it worth the money alone.

I've tried using the sixaxis game controller to watch DVDs and it can be a problem. Firstly the left stick can be knocked pretty easily when you have it sat on your lap causing the playback speed to change. Secondly, it is all to easy to press the wrong (unlabeled) button when you need to pause or resume.

With the remote you have a well laid out, well labeled set of buttons that includes all of the options that would normally require on screen display (such as the audio and angle options) as well as an eject button and all of the game contoller buttons. You can even use it with the web browser if you don't mind the slightly slower screen navigation.

Note: it does have a fuly functional PS button on it so you can use it to turn the system on and off (to standbye) and, like the game controller, you can use it to have multiple functions running at the same time (such as the music player with the photo viewer)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


218 of 227 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A necessity if the PS3 is to take its place in the front room, 15 Sep 2007
By 
D. Martin "DpMDpMDpM" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony Blu-ray Disc Remote Control (PS3) (Accessory)
As my title says, if you want your PS3 to form a solid part (or even the foundation) of your home media experience, then you need this remote to bring it into the realm of normal users, i.e. girlfriends, uncles, mothers etc.. These are the kind of people who are just about comfortable with a DVD player and a remote control... the idea of using a games console and the SIXAXIS controller would scare them.

Nevertheless, for me too, this is a great inexpensive addition to the PS3 experience... an added bonus (which I hoped it would do) is that you can put the PS3 into standby and bring it out of standby with the remote, as well as being able to navigate the menus just as easily as you'd expect.

Using the SIXAXIS controller to watch DVDs is obviously not the best user experience and it smacks of the fact that we all know we are using our games console to watch the DVD... with the remote, that stigma then goes away.

Initial setup is a piece of cake - just as you would hope - you start up your PS3, navigate through the menus and tell it to search for a Bluetooth remote control - you then press two buttons on the remote and it recognises it. Simplicity itself - just as it should be.

The remote is solid and well-built - the buttons have good a tactile feeling and they are labelled very well and clear.

Oh, and - yes - it's Bluetooth remember. You don't need to point it at the PS3 to do things... although you can if it makes you feel better. I still find myself falling into that trap. The next generation of users probably won't understand the concept of infra-red and line-of-sight... they'll just shrug their shoulders... but here we go...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uses AA batteries, 3 April 2009
By 
P. Morrison - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Blu-ray Disc Remote Control (PS3) (Accessory)
The one piece of information I couldn't find about this controller, was whether it used batteries, or recharged (like the game controllers). Well I can reliably inform you (if you were wondering), that it uses 2 AA batteries (supplied). Other than that, it's a controller, it does exactly what I want it to, it's well made, and I had no trouble pairing it with the console.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


97 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No more pointing!, 10 Mar 2007
By 
E. King - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony Blu-ray Disc Remote Control (PS3) (Accessory)
This official Blu-ray Disc Remote uses Bluetooth instead of infra-red (IR) to transmit a signal to your PS3; so no matter which way you point it, you'll get a perfect response.

The buttons are rubberised - responsive and comfortable to press. They're also positioned and sized intuitively so after a few sessions using the remote, you can feel with your fingers and know what you'll be pressing.

The remote works in just the same way for DVD playback and all of the PS3's Xross Media Bar (XMB) interface can be navigated with it. In all a quality piece of kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it's meant to do!, 24 April 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony Blu-ray Disc Remote Control (PS3) (Accessory)
Great - and pretty much essential kit if you use your PS3 for watching lots of DVD/Blu-Ray discs.

I like the solid, tactile feel to it - matches the PS3's quality nicely.

OK, so it hasn't got a light, and it needs pairing with your PS3 - so what? It's less than 20 quid and does exactly what it's supposed to do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent addition to any PS3 if you play media on yours, 26 Jun 2009
By 
M. Lee (Plymouth, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony Blu-ray Disc Remote Control (PS3) (Accessory)
This controller is excellent for playing MP3, Divx, Blue-ray..Well any media on your PS3.
It has all the options on the buttons and is far more natural to use for playing media than the functional Six axis. As some of the options on the remote are not obvious on the six axis.
It will turn on your PS3 as it has the PS button and if you use your PS3 as purely the best blue-ray media player out there then this controller is all you need.
It will display the battery level on screen when ever you press the PS button.
The only downside is it uses AAA batteries, but they seem to last forever so far. I've had my remote for a year now and it hasn't run down yet.
It is bluetooth not Infra-red so it doesn't matter where you point it, you will need to sync' the controller to your PS3 first but this is far simpler than it sounds.

On your PS3 go to your System settings and select additional Bluetooth controllers and follow the steps it will ask you to turn on your controller the PS3 will look for it, find it and its done. Its fully explained in the instruction manual.

I use mine for playing my MP4 and Divx movies..
Just a foot note but when you put your USB stick in your PS3 to play the movies it will say there is no compatible media on this device.. Hit the triangle for options and select show all media and the movies appear and play just fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite usefull!, 2 April 2009
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony Blu-ray Disc Remote Control (PS3) (Accessory)
Good points: Definitely usefull if you have playTV or for Movies. It does what it says. You will save time and hassle using this remote control instead of the dualshock remote.
Bad points: The design of the remote is quite ugly and quite big... No direct switch off button.
Overall, I would say that it is still a good purchase for that price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ensures PS3 feels like the exceptional Blu-Ray player it is, 9 Jan 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony Blu-ray Disc Remote Control (PS3) (Accessory)
Bluetooth wireless communication to operate basic and advanced playback controls of Blu-Ray discs. (inc. slow motion, angle, subtitle, top menu, pop-up menu, step progression, eject, audio, display etc.). Also has a numeric keypad. All functions clearly marked on an intuitive interface.

As the control utilises Bluetooth, there is no need to even point the controller at the PS3!

Ideally, I wanted to use a 'one-for-all' type remote as I have several remotes in my front room (for TV and audio system), however, infra-red remotes are not suitable for use with PlayStation 3 (no infra-red receiver on the console). Glad I got this remote though as it is very high quality and is much easier to use than the PS3 game pad. My PS3 feels like the exceptional Blu-Ray player it is.

Excellent Sony build quality with tactile and accurate buttons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looks Great, Works Great, Great Price, 6 April 2007
By 
J. Palfrey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony Blu-ray Disc Remote Control (PS3) (Accessory)
This remote controller is a must if you use your PS3 for playing Media a lot. The buttons are easy to use and clearly labeled and the controller looks alot better in real life compared to the image on amazon. It has a shine on the front like the PS3 and is comfortable to hold. I got the controller because i was wasting my PS3 controller battery when just playing music and videos. Also its to easy to accidentally press one of the PS3 controllers and make it skip a track. Must buy for people who use their PS3 for Media a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 28 Dec 2007
By 
A. Langdon (Dartford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Blu-ray Disc Remote Control (PS3) (Accessory)
A remote is a remote and pretty much all the functions can be carried out with the sixaxis controller......this just makes it a little easier and user friendly.

When i use it i pretty much just make use of the 3 main buttons at the bottom (stop pause and play) so if i am honest there is a little too many buttons on this remote for my liking which seem to be put there solely to mimic all the remainder of the sixaxis controls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sony Blu-ray Disc Remote Control (PS3)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews