Customer Reviews


413 Reviews
5 star:
 (248)
4 star:
 (81)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely superb
I was not expecting much for the money, but this little alarm clock, is superb. Build quality is top notch and the two alarm settings are easy to use and simply do the job. Down here in Spain, we are prone to the odd power cut, but the display is not affected by it. The back up battery kicks in and keeps the time set permanently.
Another great little function is that...
Published 22 months ago by Mr. B. Foote

versus
130 of 141 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good basic alarm radio but NOT radio controlled so time and date issues occur
With the logo and general description most people will assume that this is a radio controlled clock but it is not.

I bought this alarm radio because I assumed that it was radio controlled. My experience of this unit is the clock runs slow by 2-3 minutes after a month or two, recently I noticed that the date was wrong, corrected it and all was fine until this...
Published on 12 July 2010 by N. Stewart


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely superb, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts CR9971 Chronologic Vi Dual Alarm Clock Radio with Instant Time Set (Electronics)
I was not expecting much for the money, but this little alarm clock, is superb. Build quality is top notch and the two alarm settings are easy to use and simply do the job. Down here in Spain, we are prone to the odd power cut, but the display is not affected by it. The back up battery kicks in and keeps the time set permanently.
Another great little function is that the display light dims when you turn the lights out to a level which is perfect for seeing during the night without being too bright.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best radio alarm ever, 10 Jun 2009
This review is from: Roberts CR9971 Chronologic Vi Dual Alarm Clock Radio with Instant Time Set (Electronics)
My husband and I are able to have our own alarm times on one clock. Its very neat and modern to look at. Easy to read, corrects the time automatically, Summer, winter and power cuts. An absolute bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


157 of 165 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job - almost, 25 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Roberts CR9971 Chronologic Vi Dual Alarm Clock Radio with Instant Time Set (Electronics)
The old alarm clock woke me for the last time before refusing to co-operate any further, so had to get a new one. Dual alarm was top priority as her indoors gets up later than me, had to have a radio and decent display. Saw the Roberts CR9971, that will do.
Only niggly problem is to do with the buttons along the top - alarm off is 3rd button from the right - try finding that first thing in morning. Also the speaker sounds tinny - but plus sides heavily outway these minor niggles. Time is factory pre-set and not radio signals but is accurate enough, the alarm clock has a back up battery incase of electric failure during night, the display varies accordingly to conditions, and there are many alarm options - for example it can be set for a different time at weekends. For the price, cant be beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


108 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 18 Feb 2009
This review is from: Roberts CR9971 Chronologic Vi Dual Alarm Clock Radio with Instant Time Set (Electronics)
This is a basic clock radio that offers excellent value. Its well built, comes with a 2 year guarantee and has a range of useful features (two alarms, auto time setting and power failure protection and an excellent automatic dimmer). The reception and sound quality are perfectly adequate for anyone who doesn't intend on listening to the radio for long periods of time. I'd be surprised is there a better option for £20!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


130 of 141 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good basic alarm radio but NOT radio controlled so time and date issues occur, 12 July 2010
By 
N. Stewart (Rochester, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roberts CR9971 Chronologic Vi Dual Alarm Clock Radio with Instant Time Set (Electronics)
With the logo and general description most people will assume that this is a radio controlled clock but it is not.

I bought this alarm radio because I assumed that it was radio controlled. My experience of this unit is the clock runs slow by 2-3 minutes after a month or two, recently I noticed that the date was wrong, corrected it and all was fine until this morning, weekend alarms were fine but Monday came round and once again it's a day behind - this caused me problems today as I was late for work because the alarm didn't go off! I've had the unit for about two years, it's been a poor time keeper from the off, you can reset date, time, year and timezone but you cannot reset seconds, so your clock may be up to 59 seconds out already.

I just spoke to Roberts customer service who confirmed that the unit is NOT radio controlled at all. The gentleman I spoke to was very honest and explained the unit is preloaded with time and a calendar at the factory in the far east, the time and date was derived from a GPS satellite (hence the dish logo on the front) this data is preserved by the backup battery and checked by a an internal crystal control in the unit. In time the crystal degrades and time keeping will become less good, it's nowhere near as good a timekeeper as a quartz watch for example.

In my case with the date problem he said that I might consider returning it for attention in the future.

An unpredictable alarm clock is isn't a good thing to have in the house! I'll check my receipt for a guarantee (2 years) but I'm disappointed that a decent brand like Roberts have somehow compromised what is otherwise a decent compact device.

Otherwise the device is good - Sound is quite good for a small box, some buttons such as alarm off and the volume control could be better placed but for £20 it's OK, I just wish it was better at timekeeping and it was reliable in use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Value for money, 12 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. A. P. Harrison (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roberts CR9971 Chronologic Vi Dual Alarm Clock Radio with Instant Time Set (Electronics)
The main reason we bought this was because of the battery back-up feature - our old Sony one was fine in every other respect but was a devil to reset after every power blip. It was also important that it had a dual alarm facility. All is fine except that the volume control is tucked away behind the tuning dial (it does not have digital tuning) and it is all too easy to move off station as one adjusts the volume. As we always wake up to Radio 4 the remedy was a strip of gaffer tape over the tuning dial. Now very happy with it. It looks good, has a nice tone for its size and the display brightness dims appropriately as ambient light level falls so it does not blaze away in the dark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does not automatically get the time correct, 4 Jan 2014
By 
Nigel Ackroyd (Derby, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roberts CR9971 Chronologic Vi Dual Alarm Clock Radio with Instant Time Set (Electronics)
What it does:-
1 - Dims very well in the dark.
2 - Has two separate alarms.
3 - Has a radio.
4 - Keep the time using an internal CR2032 battery during a power cut.
5 - Show the time after a power cut without being manually reset.

What it does not do:-
1 - Correct itself if the time is wrong.
2 - Set itself using the NPL (National Physical Laboratory) radio signal broadcast from the Anthorn Radio Station near Anthorn, Cumbria.

When I emailed Roberts to ask why two CR9971 units kept different time (which I admit is a stupid question once you realise that the clocks do not set themselves from the NPL signal), part of their reply included:-
"Please make sure you have the clock plugged in and powered on the mains while you replace the battery otherwise it will lose all the pre-programmed calendar so will not set to the correct time and date automatically." So be warned when you change the battery!

I think that for Roberts to label it as "Auto Set" and have a picture of a satellite dish on the front is misleading because it does no more than keep the time using a battery power clock with the benefit of a bright LED display that would use too much power for the unit to be battery powered.

However, if you want a bright clock that does not forget the time during a power cut, then it does the job admirably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bargain simple to use, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts CR9971 Chronologic Vi Dual Alarm Clock Radio with Instant Time Set (Electronics)
having had more expensive brand name clock radios in past, this bargain priced product is easy to use has some good features and is not a dust collector. Non invasive when lights are out some other radios are like a beacon in the room when trying to sleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best bedroom clock radio, 29 May 2013
By 
Doug Mitchell (Stratford-upon-Avon, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts CR9971 Chronologic Vi Dual Alarm Clock Radio with Instant Time Set (Electronics)
We have a 12 bedroomed guest house and have purchased a variety of clock radio alarms over the years. This Roberts is simply the best of all - automatically sets correct time; excellent radio and very clear display (some Sony's you can hardly read). Just hope they keep producing this Roberts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars basic; good for the price, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts CR9971 Chronologic Vi Dual Alarm Clock Radio with Instant Time Set (Electronics)
This is a radio alarm clock;

Advantages; good price, good size, clear display, good sound, immediate time set-up,
stable shape less likely to be knocked over.

Disadvantages; the designers seem to have gone backwards, i had one 20 years ago basically the same but better to use, after all this is for use in the dark by people who are half asleep. If you are reading this, designers;..............

The on/off switch should be differentiated from the others by size or feel or by being the end switch
The sleep control should not need you to sit up and put the light on to select a time less than 90 minutes
Pre-set tuning buttons can't be that hard to provide.You can't just change channels in the dark by pressing a button. The tuning is manual and so is the volume so to adjust either you need to sit up, put the light on and use two hands. They are very sensitive so you could knock them when dusting. A bit of sticky tape (!!) would fix the spot.

Having bought one to use when I stay with my elderly mother I gave it to her and she kept it. She has got used to counting the 3rd button for on/off and keeps the tuning and volume the same.
I have now bought a second one for myself but it won't replace my home radio/ cassette/ alarm. There doesn't seem to be anything else that is better although i would be willing to pay more for it.
Thanks to the people who explained about the method for clock accuracy. It was misleading and i too wondered how it could pick up a 'signal'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews