Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, a must-have wii game
This is the first time I've played a game of this type before (previous wii favourites being sports, play, and korarinpa). The controls are intuitive and easy to use, and the game itself, well, there's just so much to do! The main missions are story driven and give a real sense of flow and direction. As an aside there are additional tasks like contract hits, favours,...
Published on 23 April 2007 by Agatha Christie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Complicated controls
This game promises much and in some respects delivers. Problem is the controls which are not intuitive in the slightest. Rather than getting on with the game you spend quite a lot of time trying to make the right move or pressing the wrong button which during an altercation in a game of this type gets you killed. Great game but the controls are frustrating.
Published 16 months ago by GixxerMick


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, a must-have wii game, 23 April 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather: Blackhand Edition (Wii) (Video Game)
This is the first time I've played a game of this type before (previous wii favourites being sports, play, and korarinpa). The controls are intuitive and easy to use, and the game itself, well, there's just so much to do! The main missions are story driven and give a real sense of flow and direction. As an aside there are additional tasks like contract hits, favours, extorting business, uncovering rackets, taking over warehouses, hijacking supply trucks. You can drive any car (either steal it parked or hijack it). I'd recommend this to anyone, particularly someone trying to get an 'in' on RPG games (usually I get completely baffled and end up trawling the net for walkthroughs), but not so with this! Deserves the 18 rating though for violence, swearing and seedy undertones. Hey, its the Godfather afterall!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Laying down some beats, 1 April 2007
By 
D. Green "Danny G" (Rugby, Warwickshire. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather: Blackhand Edition (Wii) (Video Game)
This game makes great use of the Wii controls no more so than when throwing baddies against walls, throwing punches, reloading guns & general fighting. That said sometimes the actions are a bit unresponsive or on occassions don't happen at all.

Other than the graphics being far from perfect there is little to fault on this game. The Wii wasn't made for excellent graphics it was made for fun and this game has it by the bucketload. Taking over shops, finding rackets, bribing cops, causing mob warfare, driving like a loony around the city and just fighting and shooting make this a truly fun game.

The story is fluent, there is loads to do and overall this proves that the Wii controls can truly enhace a game and provide great gaming.

If you have had a bad day there is no better way than taking it out on a load of rival families, by whatever means.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great new Wii game, 27 Mar 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather: Blackhand Edition (Wii) (Video Game)
For anyone looking for a real run game for the Wii - here it is. Controls work very well, with the normal analogue control for running/driving, any fighting you litterally punch with the remotes. Can also headbutt, headslam, throw against walls/out windows etc with simple controls. Most fun on the Wii since playing Zelda. It does deserve its 18 rating but so far mainly through the cinematics in between gameplay - that may change later in the game. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest Wii titles so far, 1 April 2007
By 
T. Holmqvist (Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather: Blackhand Edition (Wii) (Video Game)
Well, I purchased this game about week ago, and can't say that I'm dissapointed. Graphically game isn't anything spectacular. It is obvious that EA used Xbox version as a base, and game doesn't in general differ much from it. Only exception to this rule are completely reworked explosion and fire-effects that look clearly next-gen, and couldn't be done on last gen's consoles. Even though game's graphics don't really impress, controls are where Godfather: Blackhand Edition truly shines. EA has been able to convert game that used all 16 buttons of PS2 pad perfectly to Wiimote / nunchuk combo, and actually make game far more satisfying / precise.

Basic idea behind the controls is that nunchuk controls your characters left hand, and wiimote controls your right hand. When you want to punch someone, you push nunchuk or wiimote forwards. Jabs, in the other hand, can be done by swinging either controller. Super-strong power attacks can be done by pressing d-pad down, and doing swing. You can also grab your target by pressing both Z and B at same time, and lifting both controllers up. When target is grabbed, you can strangle, bash target's head to wall / tables, and throw him thru windows / over the ledges. By pressing + you can go to free-aim mode, and use pointer to shoot with your weapon.

What makes controls so terrific is how precise they are. Game has over 20 different motions that are done using wiimote / nunchuk combo, and everything can be executed flawlessly. It is so fun to grab innocent civilian, then do strangle motion and shake rumbling wiimote until he is dead. Motion-wise, this is easily most precise Wii game I have so far played. Only real problem with controls that I have had is how I accidentally press C-button instead of Z-button, when I want to lock target (C-button pulls gun from your pocket).

In addition of sublime controls, Blackhand Edition adds 28 new missions, 20 new flooplans, new weapons, new favours, new cars and other stuff that make game less repetitive than original. Game is fairly lenghty, and should take about 40 hours to fully complete if you are casual type player. For more experienced players, experience lasts around 25-30 hours. Although new controls are truly excellent, and added content makes game more solid, I don't really believe that there is enough new content to justify purchase to someone who has bought and finished other version of the game. But for those who haven't played Godfather before, this is definite version of the game, and one of the first games to prove that more complex games can be done, and even improved on Wii.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best motion controls in a Wii game., 5 Feb 2008
By 
Thomas Davies "Mr McMacintosh" (Cannock UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather: Blackhand Edition (Wii) (Video Game)
Let's put it this way, this game is the most involving game I think I've ever played, the way you can smash people with bats, punch and headbutt them all feel realistic and violent. The controls definitely make full use of the Wii remote and nunchuck.
The main story takes about 15-20 hours to complete, which is very good for an action game. The missions aren't the most varied, usually protect someone/thing, kill someone, blow up/take over a building. It's not the hardest game in the world either, but when the enemies start flooding and you run out of ammo, you won't last long either.
I've put well over 60 hours into this game, which is more than any Wii game, including Zelda, Galaxy and RE4, which just goes to show that this game is one of Wii's truly underated games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love GTA you'll love this, 28 July 2009
By 
B. Fenning (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather: Blackhand Edition (Wii) (Video Game)
This game actually is worth 5 stars for fun. I pitty those who can't get over the idea of this being a two-bit GTA clone, the engine in fantastic. Let me give you 2 big reasons why this plays BETTER than the GTA games:

1) In mission checkpoint - means the days of driving minutes to a mission then screwing up either in the execution or on the return is over, the game saves after each important bit so progress is continuous

2) Instant travel using the driver system between safehouses - why drive for hours across huge maps ever again? This isn't allowed during missions so isn't too easy against the clock but the timer isn't as harsh as the GTA series and there are no annoying RC airplane or boat missions.

Other important points to include: *really workable controlls *decent voice acting and characters (really gets you into the story) *instant payday (don't go around collecting the money manually it just shows up every so often) *4-men hit-squads are great fun to use and don't get in your way *plenty of safehouses to buy and guns to spend your money on *easily 20+ (FUN!!!) hours to this game (it really will fly by not drag like some games) *nice graphics, explosions, loads of different character models and businesses don't make this feel like a cut and paste job *the map is big but not too big (i.e. San Andreas)

>As cracked up as I sound about this game it's quite simply the best bit of fun I've got from my wii since getting it and I can't recommend this enough. It really is as fun as people are saying and I really hope the second game comes to the wii also! I'd never go back to GTA after this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY GOOD INDEED!, 28 May 2007
By 
Mark (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather: Blackhand Edition (Wii) (Video Game)
This game I had gotten as a present for my birthday the other day, and I msut say it is very good! Graphics are very good and the gameplay is excellent! There is so much to do within the game, wether its on foot or by car, and I must say the controls for the car is great and easy to control! You can interact with practically anyone in the streets and you can go into any building as you wish! The wiimote for this is fantastic along with the nunchunck, it keeps you going I tell you after fighting with so many villans! I will recommend this game to anyone if they like shoot em ups and free roaming. My brother says it is better than the grand theft auto games, thats his opinion but least that will show you how good this game is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Join the family!, 2 April 2007
By 
D. Black "Danz" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather: Blackhand Edition (Wii) (Video Game)
After playing the Wii sport and Wii play game I decided to look for something more serious and I could get my teeth into.....I found it after much searching and looking at reviews I decide on the God farther. What a great choice.

The controls do take a while to get used to but with the training session at the beginning it won't take long before you blowing away some wise guy.

you can save when you want ..well you have to make a trip first but at least you can save when you like... you have a lot of control over the character and makes you feel part to the game...

From Punching some bloke in the moo and throwing him against wall the wii controls let you do it all.

Bad points really only a few...if you want to bypass any cut-scenes think again looks like you have to watch them...so when you first start save the game.

Next the camera can be quite annoying until you master using it.

Other than that top game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Godfather: Blackhand Edition, 16 Oct 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather: Blackhand Edition (Wii) (Video Game)
Some people have been dissapointed with the games that have come out on the Wii so far. However, there have been some great games and this is one of them. The storyline is good, and there are a lot of extras, such as hit contracts, doing favours for people etc. The game would have just been a sub-standard rehash of GTA if it wasn't for the controls. They make the game and although some people have critisised the use of the Wii controls in other games, in this one they are used brilliantly. You can execute a vareity of moves, either with your fists or using weapons such as lead pipes and baseball bats. When using guns you can use the lock on system or aim yourself. The main negative of the game is the graphics, which are not much better than what the GameCube could produce. However, good gameplay is more important so the graphics shouldn't be much of an issue for real gamers. Overall this is an excellent game which any Wii owner should add to their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection, 24 Jun 2007
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather: Blackhand Edition (Wii) (Video Game)
This game is really up there with the best including GTA. The graphics are simply magnificent, the story lines are great, the difficulty is just right. However, the best feature I find is the stuff going on in the background, like bank robberies taking place and the police shooting other criminals other than just you for a change, another example is buildings on fire. In a nutshell, this is a must!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Godfather: Blackhand Edition (Wii)
The Godfather: Blackhand Edition (Wii) by Electronic Arts (Nintendo Wii)
£36.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews