Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Authentic 1920's music
This music was great at our 1920's party, really authentic and set the scene a treat.
Published on 22 Sep 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor imitations of a great period in music
For me, this double cd has turned out to be one of those too-good-to-be true purchases, and I knew it during the first track. These are not recordings or artists from the era in which "The Charleston" originated - the 1920's. I have many cds from companies such as Bygone Days, Not Now Music and Past Perfect that do what it says on the packaging and give original...
Published 2 days ago by Peter J. Chambers


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Authentic 1920's music, 22 Sep 2009
By 
Amazon Customer "Kay" (Arnold, Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Original Charleston: Rhythms of the roaring 20's (Audio CD)
This music was great at our 1920's party, really authentic and set the scene a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor imitations of a great period in music, 20 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charleston (Audio CD)
For me, this double cd has turned out to be one of those too-good-to-be true purchases, and I knew it during the first track. These are not recordings or artists from the era in which "The Charleston" originated - the 1920's. I have many cds from companies such as Bygone Days, Not Now Music and Past Perfect that do what it says on the packaging and give original recordings, but I will be not be buying from this one again. The music on these two discs remind me of comedies such as "The Plank... On The Buses" etc, though the production admittedly is superb. But compared to the aforementioned CDs that I already own, I could not enjoy this collection of poor imitations. I found it almost sacrilegious to have listened to this cheap and cheerful third rate music.

Needless to say that mine is going to a charity shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Even more, 27 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Original Charleston: Rhythms of the roaring 20's (Audio CD)
This album together with Cheek To Cheek and White Tie & Tails has now been issued as a Readers Digest box set in conjunction with The Gift Of Music
Can't go wrong here if you like the music of the 20s and 30s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars No Bad just OK, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Original Charleston: Rhythms of the roaring 20's (Audio CD)
Postage, packing etc was first class, the product itself wasn't as good as I thought it would be, music selection a bit poor compaired to 'Charleston! The Definitive Album'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Original Charleston: Rhythms of the roaring 20's (Audio CD)
Rarely heard recordings, but could have done with a little bit more remastering, but for the price, it's great, this is my favourite genre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars got them up we put a prize for best, 15 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Original Charleston: Rhythms of the roaring 20's (Audio CD)
daughter had a gangster wedding ,bridesmaid dressed as flapper so needed this music to get them up dancing,got them up we put a prize for best dancer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as rousing, 27 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Original Charleston: Rhythms of the roaring 20's (Audio CD)
Bought this for a themed 1920's party.The music was as specified but it was not as rousing as I had wanted-very authentic sounding if that is what you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Original Charleston: Rhythms of the roaring 20's
The Original Charleston: Rhythms of the roaring 20's by Va-World Of Charleston (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews